We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Travessa de Sao Paulo nr 5, Lisbon 1200, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 150 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great stay at Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse for 3 nights and we had a great stay. First of all, the guesthouse is centrally located and very easy to reach by either metro, train, tram and bus. The welcome was very warm (with coffee and cake) and the friendly staff took a lot of time to tell us about the highlights of Lisbon, where to go, where to eat, how to get around. The top floor of the guesthouse has a living room kind of atmosphere with 24hr free coffee, cake and port (and a fridge with very affordable wine, beer and water). Rooms are spacious, with high ceilings and large windows with river view (at least our room on the 2nd floor). We were facing towards the market, but because of the isolated windows the rooms were very quiet. Breakfast was very good. lots of fresh fruit, bread, yoghurt, pancakes, etc. The guesthouse is located on walking distance from the Praça do Comércio and Bairro Alto (also close to ascensor da Bica if you don't want to walk up hill) and just opposite to the train station (to visit Cascais) and the metro station (airport). We definitely recommend this place to anyone with plans to visit Lisbon

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    102
    16
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
209
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

From the outside you can't tell what a hidden gem this is! We were greeted with homemade rabanadas and snacks (even though it was past breakfast), and our room was quite comfortable and spacious by European standards. The staff was just amazing--helping with dinner suggestions, directions, making phone calls, and even providing me with recipes to take home. The location was very convenient both for walking and public transport, and the fish market across the street also had a large amount of fruit for easy snacks. The breakfasts each morning were delicious and filling, with fresh-squeezed juice and many homemade pastries. Overall, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Brilliantly located near metro, trams and rail. Excellent staff who gave friendly and personal service. Had a room for four people overlooking street but as they have added double glazed windows we did not hear any noise at all! Room was spacious for all of us and very clean. Aircon worked well and was definitely needed with the Lisbon weather! Had incredible meal at their sister guesthouse Monte Belvedere, its definitely worth eating there! It was hard to find ribeira but once we found the cafe underneath we were kindly directed to the green door behind with the guesthouse name on the intercom. Lift to four floors. Excellent location to explore Lisbon. Would definitely return, and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Street noise not a problem with double glazed windows. There are a few rooms that overlook the insul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

There are no words to describe our recent visit and stay at Lisbon in Ribeira TEJO hotel. The team are so amazing, kind and caring. They helped us with our lost luggage for 3 days, kept calling the airline company making sure we get it on time. They explained us a lot about Lisbon and Portugal, showed us the MUST places to visit and helped us with anything we need. The rooms are clean, tidy and has a cool and unique design.
Btskfast contain anything u need and more than that.
We WILL come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

A very helpful and friendly staff is the most important feature. Rooms are rather small, but quiet and clean. The location is great, near the river and the Cais de Sodré staiton: trains, buses, metro, ferry, it's all within a couple of minutes walking. Ideal hotel for a short city trip.

Room Tip: the higher, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingelom, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Beautiful room, very good breakfast with nice portoguese specialties, super friendly and helpful staff, good area close to river, city centre and fancy Ribeira market with a special restaurant concept. Top!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We arrived after midnight but were welcomed with open arms (and cake). The hospitality is fantastic and the guys have plenty of tips.
Located my the market hall which is being refurbished there are quite a few bars nearby which was perfect for us. 10 minute walk up to Barrio Alto. The train station is close and we took a 30 minute train ride to the beach which was great.
Definitely returning to Lisbon and will stay at the Ribeira next time too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse

Address: Travessa de Sao Paulo nr 5, Lisbon 1200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse is in the heart of Lisbon, right between the commercial area of the Baixa neighbourhood and the restaurants and bars area of Bairro Alto neighbourhood. From the Ribeira-Tejo you can reach all beautiful things to worth seeing and visiting in Lisbon because the Cais do Sodre interface station (train, metro, tram and bus/airport shuttle) is only a 2 minute walk from the Guesthouse. Lisbon’s famous market, the Mercado Ribeira is just under your bedroom double-glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.