We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VIP Inn Berna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added VIP Inn Berna Hotel to your Saves list
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Antonio de Serpa 13, Lisbon 1069-199, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
João Pessoa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

I spent 4 nights in this hotel recently during my vacations in Portugal.

Hotel is an old building, whose service, staff, breakfast and location were pretty nice (near metro and plenty of transportation nearby).

My nose strongly disagrees...

Couldn't sleep with nasal constipation, all due an old furnitured, bad air conditioning of its roons.

Would stay here again? Could, but would rather not.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    101
    112
    33
    15
See reviews for
40
109
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Reception staff were really friendly and extremely helpful. One of our party was unable to make the trip because of an accident and the staff did not charge for the room. In a good poistion for both the airport and the centre of Lisbon. The breakfast was first class. It felt as though were getting a five star service at much less than five star prices.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

This is quite a good hotel, good enough for a good sleep. I had a small room, there was minimal space beween bed and wall. Small TV with just a few channels, just English news channels, sport, RTL and Portuguese. Breakfast was 7 Euro ,not included and nothing special. I was the only one.
The hotel is OK if you need it just for sleeping and are away till late at night.
It is very near the metro Campo Pequena, just outside the bull fight stadium.
Nothing special to recommend it for but not bad either.
Only sounds I heard are airplanes as it is near the airport. Taxi price was 7 Euro on the meter.

  • Liked — Price, location near airport and metro
  • Disliked — Room rather small, breakfast nothing special
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham Dorset UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Stayed just one night (thank goodness) as we could not get in anywhere else in Lisbon .This hotel is dreadful the room we had was 1023 right in the top of the hotel it was very dated full of mosquitos brown bath water and filthy curtains.How it got 3 stars is a mystery please do not book this hotel I would not want anyone else to have to pay to sleep in such appalling conditions.
The next two night we stayed at the Miraparque which was the same rating and a fantastic hotel .You have been warned about the Hotel Berna .I did take some pictures but had my camera stolen in the Baxia the next day so cant show them to you.

  • Liked — the best thing was when it was time to check out
  • Disliked — Didnt like anything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

Stayed five nights. Very impressed for a three star hotel. The room (a twin) was spacious as was the bathroom. All was clean and in reasonable condition.

The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Housekeeping were the same. When we asked for an extra pillow, it arrived in minutes.

Only had breakfast inhouse once and it was more than adequate as well as being cheap.

Bus and metro were very close.

Would stay there again.

  • Liked — Good value for a 3* hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Without doubt the worst hotel experience we have ever had. If you are travelling with a baby then don't go near this hotel and, if you're not, I'd still recommend that you think twice if hygiene or customer service matter to you!
We were travelling with our 10 month old baby and had booked a room with cot for four nights. The room was on the top floor, two rooms plus a good-sized bathroom and a huge balcony overlooking the bullring (though the balcony surrounds were worn and didn't look particularly safe).
The cot, however, was beyond a joke: a dirty travel cot with holes in the mesh sides and packing tape holding it together at the top. When I complained to reception I was offered no apology and told that housekeeping would bring us another cot. 45 minutes and another trip to reception later - our baby crying and desperate for sleep (by this time it was after 9pm) - housekeeping arrived with a replacement: an old wooden cot. The housekeeper wasn't convinced it was particularly steady and suggested we place it against a wall! It, too, was filthy and the wood worn and splintered.
Again, we complained to reception and asked to speak to the manager. We were told that there was no manager available until Monday (this was Saturday). We were also told that this was only a three-star hotel - the implication being that if we wanted a safe, clean place for our baby to sleep a three star hotel could not provide this. (We had just spent a happy 3 nights in a two-star IBIS in Coimbra which provided us with everything we needed.) The housekeeper was sent back to our room to retrieve the cot - she was evidently angry and stormed in completely oblivious to our crying baby.
At this point, we decided to try elsewhere and found a (five star) hotel also in the VIP chain across the road. The receptionist there was extremely sympathetic and agreed to send a cot over to the Berna for us. To her evident embarrassment she had to call the Berna a number of times before anyone answered and then had to wait another 15 minutes before someone crossed the road to help us over with the cot.
The final straw was the next morning at breakfast. We asked for a highchair: the seat was covered in crumbs, the frame thick with dust and there was no safety harness.
If the staff are prepared to hand over equipment in such a disgusting state for a baby then I have absolutely no faith in their basic hygiene. We checked out that morning.
The hotel had been booked for us by the higher education institution we were visiting: when they contacted the hotel to complain on the Monday they were also told that the Manager was unavailable to speak with them.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natal, rn
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

good hotel. the staff was very helpful and patiente. rooms e bathrooms ok. silent hotel. good breakfast. near of the praça de toiros (square) with metro downstairs e a supermarket. good price. i recomend.

  • Liked — silence
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VIP Inn Berna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Inn Berna Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio de Serpa 13, Lisbon 1069-199, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Inn Berna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When convenience is of the utmost importance the VIP Inn Berna Hotel, with 240 rooms all equipped with the most modern facilities, is the ideal choice among hotels in Lisbon. The Hotel also features conference facilities for you to hold any event. Near the Bullfight Arena “Campo Pequeno”, only a few minutes from the Historical Center of Lisbon and the International Airport. Near the Hotel one may find access to public transportation such as bus, taxi, underground and train (less than 100 meters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your VIP Inn Berna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Berna
Berna Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIP Inn Berna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.