We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Lisboa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Lisboa to your Saves list
Novotel Lisboa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Jose Malhoa 1-1A, Lisbon 1099-051, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Breaks up to -40%
Ranked #72 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I stayed here in July with two friends when we attended Optimus Alive music festival. Lovely hotel with great helpful staff. The rooms were spacious for three of us, beds were very comfortable and clean. The restaurant was fine, nothing too fancy and only whats on the menu is available, as in no alterations with sandwiches etc. I asked for onions and got olives. But other than that it was fine. The pool area was lovely but you do need to be down first thing to get a lounger. Enjoyed my stay here, we got taxis to where we wanted to go each day as it was very hot for walking to buses etc. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    912
    189
    27
    9
See reviews for
845
383
82
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable. It is located about 15 minute taxi ride from the airport and a 5 minute taxi ride to the centre. Staff are very friendly and knowledgable, if you are looking for restauarant recommendations the reception staff will give you a map of the city and give you directions. Taxis are very good value for moving around town. Breakfast was excellent and if you don't go for the B+B rate costs approx 11€. If you park your vehicle next to the hotel be warned! We saw vehicles clamped across the road because drivers didn't read pay and display notices and do not park zones, use hotel parking if space is available.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floors and close to the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We wanted to stay at a nice hotel and not worry about car parking fees. We enjoyed the pool the most as well as the excellent hotel restaurant breakfasts. Very reasonable price and we will still there again. It is not downtown but we did have a car and the drive was short and scenic

Lastly the rooms were comfortable and a good size for North American family travellers as that is the worry always in Europe

Thank you

Room Tip: Have breakfast at the hotel and you will enjoy great food and be able to skip lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosnowiec, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

staff at breakfast was lazy - tables and chairs were dirty. Food and room were on Novotel level, nothing good, nothing wrong. Fitness room is so small that it could accommodate maximum 10 people. On picture it looks much bigger thanks to big mirror that spans one wall. Pool is a bit bigger. Hotel is located around 10 minutes from metro station, it has very good connection with both airport and Oriente train station.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My recommendation is to stay away from this one. It's a budget hotel that is bare bones service. The lifts are few and slow. The a/c is ineffective. Don't even think about parking your car in the garage. So tight we almost scraped our car and no elevators to exit the underground garage. You have to walk up and press a button to open the garage door. The housekeeping was so bad they forgot to provision bath towels when cleaning the room. And the towels that were delivered had large pieces of lint on them. On the plus side the area is good with nice broad avenue and not near the congested part of the city. We had better luck though with other hotels in the city.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Everything you'd expect from a Novotel at quite a reasonable price. Good WiFi, Gym did the job (treadmill, rower, cross trainer + free weights) and two computer terminals in the foyer, with printers allowed us to print tickets and book in our future travels. The pool was a hit for the families there too.

The hotel is located near the airport, snug between two metro stations, approx 10min walk away. We used the São Sebastião metro located in the El Corte Ingles shopping mall (+supermarket) across the overbridge a couple blocks away.

Catching the metro into Lisbon was no hassle, and easy enough to transfer to overground services for a cheap day trip to Sintra (well worth visiting the Moorish castle + Palaces there).

In summary, great facilities for a reasonable price, rather than overpaying for less in downtown Lisbon. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel for travel with children. The pool, game room and free nightly activities in August (face painting, balloon art, etc) made our weeklong stay a breeze to keep the kids happy and entertained.

It is on the outskirts of Lisbon but a short walk to the bus stop in one direction and a well stocked grocery store, mall and cheap eating options in the other direction.

My only complaints was how chaotic the breakfast buffet was and the parking situation. If you are going to eat breakfast, earlier is better unless you want to battle for a table and food.

Parking was a bit more difficult than we expected. The garage was almost always full and was so difficult to maneuver with our vehicle that we gave up trying to park there after the first day. There is street parking right in front of the hotel but you need to be careful about keeping up with the meters (which are relatively inexpensive and free from 1900-0900 and all day on Sunday) We also witnessed the cab drivers outside urinating on one of the vehicles because they couldn't get a spot. GROSS...but fortunately our vehicle was spared (as far as we know)

All in all, it was a great value for the price and our kids had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lisboa

Address: Av Jose Malhoa 1-1A, Lisbon 1099-051, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#59 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#68 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lisboa is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Lisbon, next to Praca de Espanha and the Gulbenkian Foundation and just 2 km from Marques de Pombal Square. Perfect for your next business trip or for a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 249airconditioned rooms, including 150 non smoking rooms and 1 suite, seven meeting rooms for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking and a swimming pool. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Novotel Hotel Lisbon
Novotel Hotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisbon
Lisbon Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Lisboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.