We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My thoughts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade to your Saves list
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1269-038, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay longer & save 25%!
Ranked #24 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    603
    136
    37
    25
See reviews for
307
1,142
173
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had an excellent room with a view to the Liberdade street and the park in front. The bed was very comfortable but the comforter type cover was too warm for me, fortunately the air-conditioning worked very well. The bathroom and shower well very well appointed although a bit cramped for 2 people. My stay would have been great except for a bout of food poisoning from an Italian style restaurant at the lower end of Liberdade where the square begins.
I would recommend this hotel as good value for the price we paid which was discounted where we booked.

Room Tip: Ask for street view on the 4th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

To begin with, we hope you are feeling better from the unfortunate situation of food poisoning you experienced whilst you were in Lisbon. Nevertheless, we are happy to know that you enjoyed a pleasant experience in our hotel and that you truly appreciated the comfort of our “MyBed”. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your friends on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Where do I start, I simply cannot praise the staff at this hotel enough. I have been fortunate to stay in some fantastic hotels across Europe etc and have found this to be one of the best. While the hotel is not the size of some in Lisbon it boasts the very best staff, they are helpful, courteous and do everything possible to ensure you have a great stay. I was greeted on my first day by all front desk staff, they checked me in and provided me with details of all facilities within the hotel, they then provided me with a map and assistance on where to go and various transport, one of the desk staff even took me to the tour bus stop. The rooms were luxurious and exceptionally clean with all modern ameneties, the bedding superior quality to most top hotels. I would like to say a special thank you to the barman who went to the effort of bringing fresh fruits in to make special mojitos, these were amazing :) The hotel design is stylish and contemporary, the staff exceptional, I would highly recommend to everyone.

Thank you everyone at Sofitel Libernade for a great stay, I will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Ms. Gavin,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for taking the time to comment on both Tripadvisor and Facebook.

We were extremely delighted to read your comment and to know that we have met your expectations overall. Thank you for your kind words and compliments in regards to our rooms and the service provided by our Ambassadors. It is an honor to know that our Front desk and Bar Ambassadors provided you with a unique and memorable experience in our hotel. Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to your return!

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed a perfect 3 night stay in a luxury room at Sofitel Lisbon.

The hotel is beautifully located on Avenida Liberdade and a short walk from all of the min tourist areas. The aerobus stop and metro are outside the door and very easy therefore to get around.

Perfect location and a lovely hotel with faultless service.

Our room ( 201) was clean, well proportioned and overloooked the beautiful tree lined avenue.

The outdoor cafe was very fairly priced and a great spot to people watch.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

We are glad that you experienced a perfect stay with us and that you appreciated our location, service provided by our Ambassadors, cleanliness of our rooms and our new terrace bar. It is a pleasure for us to read that you were delighted with the time you spent in our hotel as it is a great reward for our Ambassadors. Thank you for your kind recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect (it's on a busy central street with easy access to everything...sights, water, shopping, restaurants/bars, trains, etc.). The staff was friendly and so helpful (gave great restaurant recommendations, guided us with the top things to do and see during our stay, and helped us secure a rental car to drive up to Porto)...and our room was clean and comfortable ~ couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with your experience with us. We would like to thank you for your kind comments in regards to our location, service provided by our Ambassadors and the comfort as well as the cleanliness of our rooms. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your family on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great attentive service, good location, easy walk to any attraction in the city of a cheap taxi ride (taxi was never above 5-6 euros to any attraction we went to). though room was small it is planned well and very comfy. divine beds and amazing breakfast. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for taking the time to tell us about your time with us.

We are happy to know that you have appreciated the service provided by our Ambassadors, our central location, room facilities, comfort of our “MyBeds” and our Buffet breakfast. Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This is actually the second time I have stayed at this hotel, and for price and location, will not consider any other hotels in central Lisbon. I have always found the staff here accommodating and friendly without being over bearing. The junior suite that I booked on my second stay is small but extremely comfortable. I particularly like the fact that it affords two full baths. My only negative is that the noise on Avenida de Liberadade can be a bit loud, especially on weekends. Other than that, I have found my hotel in Lisbon and highly recommend it for comfort and location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Edison,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to review you experience.

It was a pleasure to welcome you once again and it will be an honor to welcome you on all your trips to Lisbon. We are delighted to know that we are your favorite hotel in Lisbon and that you appreciate our location, comfort of our Junior Suite and service provided by our Ambassadors. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1269-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Clé d’Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 250 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.