We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and even better location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade to your Saves list
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1269-038, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service and even better location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel in June. It was very easy to get to from the airport. We took the subway from the airport ( which took about 20 minutes). There is a subway stop steps from the hotel entrance. The hotel is what you expect from Sofitel- luxury and attention to detail. The rooms were well-equipped with amazing bedding. The hotel is located in a busy part of town, with lots of shops and restaurants ( and there is a Starbucks within a 3 minute walk).

Check many of the on-line booking sites, we found an amazing deal ( more than half off rack rate).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ms. Donna,

Thank you for your comment and preference for Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us. Thank you for your positive comment in regards to our location, service provided by our Ambassadors and our room facilities with the comfort of our “MyBed”. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,578
    703
    155
    41
    27
See reviews for
375
1,318
187
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to most attractions and great restaurants. Karim, Claudia and Ricardo at the front desk helped make our trip excellent. From recommending restaurants and setting up private tours for us. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the avenue are noisier but I enjoyed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Nick,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding to the service provided by our Ambassadors Karim, Claudia and Ricardo who made your experience truly memorable. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you on your next trip to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I will start by the hotel staff: super friendly and professional. From the bell boy to the concierge all were very attentive and always willing to help. The location is also great, in Lisbon city center. One can reach a lot of interesting places just walking. A lot of restaurants around too. The room had all the comfort of a 5 star hotel (the mattress was just superb) although it was more European size style...not small but also couldn't say it was a big room. Overall, I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't worry if your room is facing the main street. Rooms are totally soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Jose Carlos,

Thank you for your preference in Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to comment about your experience.

It was a pleasure to read your comment and to know that you truly appreciated our service, our location, room facilities and the comfort of our “MyBed”. Your review will be shared amongst our Ambassadors as your satisfaction and comfort is our utmost motivation and reward. Thank you for your recommendation!

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our European vacation. Outstanding hotel. The location can't be beat- literally steps from historic Lisbon. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the bedroom and bathroom were nice size for Europe.

Only negative for the trip was the concierge sent us to a lousy restaurant on our last night- but you can't win them all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Michael W.,

Thank you for your staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to write about your experience.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our Ambassadors and the facilities our location provides. Nevertheless, we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your meal in a restaurant recommended by our Concierge. If possible, please contact us to further discuss this issue through h1319-sm@sofitel.com.

We look forward to your contact and to welcome you to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next trip to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a fantastic experience at this Sofitel. We took the metro from the airport and, as promised,the hotel is right there. From the first moment, the staff was amazing. They took our bags, got us our room right away (even though we were there in the early morning), took our bags to our room, got us a map and directions to where we wanted to go. The room was small, of course, but perfect. The bed was, seriously, the most comfortable bed I have ever been in. There is a reason they provide a brochure offering to sell you your own Sofitel bed. I slept like a baby. Every single person on staff was attentive, friendly, helpful. We got wonderful tips about where to eat after spending a long time talking with one of the bell boys. The bartender was very nice, too, and wrote us a nice list of places he recommended. Everyone spoke wonderful English, but were also thoroughly kind when we practiced our terrible Portugese. Every afternoon they put out fruit-infused waters and nice pastries.

So, to the details that matter. The bathroom was small, but extremely clean, with no mold or dirt of any kind anywhere. This is huge to me, since I have a terrible mold allergy. Perfect. Now the bathroom, seriously, was very small. And the shower, though lovely, really was extraordinarily complicated. I think I figured it out by the time we left. :) But that is a reallky minor thing. Now, the glass shower door only went down halfway and opened inward, so it was a little difficult to get in the shower. Not a problem for me, but if you have trouble climbing or have a disability of some sort, that might be hard for you.

Housekeeping came every afternoon to turn back the bed, set out nice chocolates, and put a little coverlet on the floor.

The room had about three sets of curtains and room darkening shades, which accidentally enabled our jet-lagged selves to sleep til noon one day, with no idea we had done so. :)

We never hear one peep from anyone on either side of us. It was like we were completely alone.

The Sofitel is in a nice location on the Avenida de Liberdade. Every morning we walked down the block for the requisite coffee and pastry from the corner pasteleria, where they were so nice to us, again with our terrible Portugese. We were able to easily get everywhere we wanted to go by walking or taking the metro.

When we had to leave, I was so incredibly sad to have to vacate the Sofitel. I wish I could live there. It was wonderful. Not saying it was inexpensive, because it wasn't, but since we are planning a trip to Paris in the spring we have noticed that this Sofitel is A LOT less expensive than other Sofitels. Just like everything else in Portugal: wonderful, and less expensive.

Final answer: loved the Sofitel. Highly recommend. Wish I were there right now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Ms. Elizabeth W.,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your trip to Lisbon.

We are extremely pleased to know that you have truly enjoyed the time you spent in our hotel. We thank you for your very positive review, for the lovely comments, mainly regarding to the service provided by our Ambassadors, the comfort of our “MyBed” and the cleanliness of the room and bathroom facilities. We do our best to provide every Guest a memorable experience and we are proud of the kind words you have expressed about our hotel. Thank you very much for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcome you and your spouse on your next holiday.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1269-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.