We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, Location, Lisbon = Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade to your Saves list
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1269-038, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay longer & save 25%!
Ranked #23 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Luxury, Location, Lisbon = Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If one is looking for elegance and top amenities right at the best location of this fantastic city of Lisbon, Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade is by far the best bet. Lisbon is a pearl right at the edge of Western Europe. For many years it has been one of my favorite European capitals due to its lovely people, its 5* cousine and its sights offered by any of the hills that surround the city center. Right in the middle of all of these incredible sights you will find Sofitel. The hotel is a gem of luxury with a very warm familiar touch to it. forget about the impersonal 5* hotels with 300 plus rooms which come you your mind. Here you will find a smaller property with all the luxury you deserve but with the huge bonus of a staff that make you feel at home. Even on my first day, during check in, somehow the hospitality I found here made feel welcomed back and among friends, and this is something a value a lot. All my needs were taken cared of right from the start. It was a great surprise after a great surprise so I just couldn't not recommend this to future travelers. One last tip: the breakfast buffet is not to be missed. not only because it is offered with a view to the Liberdade avenue, the most prestigious real estate area in town, but also because it includes quite a few Portuguese delicatessen that I believe plays a great part on my yearly desire of returning to this wonderful city and country. One last thing: during my stay I was told one member of the Sofitel Liberdade team had just had twins! I want to congratulate him for this wonderful event and thank once more for showing me the real Portuguese hospitality!

Room Tip: Upgrading to a Avenida Liberdade view room is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Ernesto,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, it was a pleasure to read your comment. Thank you for your kind comments regarding to our location, our room facilities, our exquisite buffet breakfast, and of course the lovely comments regarding to the service provided by our Ambassadors throughout your stay. They do their best to provide each and every Guest a memorable experience and your satisfaction and comfort is our utmost reward. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you on your next trip to Lisbon!

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,446
    627
    143
    38
    25
See reviews for
327
1,198
178
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Sofitel's location is excellent as it is within walking distance to the centre of Lisbon. I also loved the breakfast, to say loved is a real triumph for the Sofitel as I am not a breakfast person, but here you have an excellent buffet and superb hot food which I loved. Though, I did find the staff very slow to notice I was waiting to order. Sorry Sofitel, but this is where I can't really find very much good to say. It was my first and last trip to Sofitel; the room furnishings were okay but I don't think it really was worth the price I paid. There was no hot water, so I had lukewarm showers. And again I really think that it is unacceptable when you have paid quite a lot of money for the room that wifi was an extra cost. A very expensive cost. Yes, it is free in the bar but I had work to do and I needed peace and quiet to do this and I think the hotel couId do so something. I was also surprised by the cost as the wifi price changed each time I purchased (though this was when I arrived home when I checked the bill) which was puzzling. The same happened in the bar-so watch the prices if you stay here. Overall, disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to review your stay.

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding to our location and our buffet breakfast, we are very pleased you enjoyed it. We have taken note of all your comments as we understand we have not met your overall expectations. Please accept our most sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused by the lack of hot water in your room and for the discrepancies in the Wi-Fi purchases. We recommend you to contact us through h1319-sm@sofitel.com in order to allow us to clarify these occurrences.

We look forward to your contact and to welcome you on your next trip to Lisbon to be given the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a lovely modern hotel, ideally located on one of Lisbon's grandest streets. As first-time tourists to this city, it served us perfectly. We stayed in a Superior room, which, whilst not particularly spacious, was extremely comfortable, well-designed, and tastefully-decorated. The king-size bed was a delight, and coupled with effective black-out curtains and decent sound-proofing, meant that we had three relaxing nights of good quality sleep. The room contained the usual easy chair, desk, suitcase stand, flat screen TV, safe etc. Other nice touches (which you often find but are not always guaranteed) were the complimentary mineral water, the (Baci) chocolates at turn-down, reliable (and complimentary) in-room wifi, the Bose speaker system for the iPod, and the vase containing a fresh carnation stem.

The bathroom was not the largest, but like the bedroom, was very well thought-out. There was a shower over the bath, a bidet, a toilet and a single basin. There was plenty of shelving to place your toilet bags, line up your own bottles etc. There was even a full-length mirror and stool. The products provided were of good quality as you would expect - Les Notes de Lanvin - although it would have been nice to have some conditioner to accompany the shower gel and shampoo.

We did not take breakfast in the hotel (There are plenty of pastry shops serving coffee, freshly-squeezed orange juice etc. very close by) nor dinner, so cannot comment on the restaurant. We did make use of the hotel bar a couple of times and it is a pleasant enough place to relax with a bottle of wine, beer or cocktail, but could certainly not be described as a destination in its own right. We did not use the gym facilities (and alas there is no pool!) so cannot comment on these. All the members of staff that we dealt with throughout the hotel were charming and helpful - just as you would expect in a 5* hotel.

This is a lovely hotel in a great spot - in the midst of designer shopping, close to theatres and cinemas, a 5 minute walk to Rossio station (from which trains depart every 15 mins to beautiful Sintra - the essential tourist day-trip, 40 minutes out of Lisbon) and near lots of great restaurants (Assinatura and Imperio Dos Santidos were a couple of our favourites, both about a 1km walk from the hotel). I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to write about your stay.

We are extremely glad that you had a very pleasant stay in our hotel and thank you for all your kind words regarding to our location, our room facilities, the comfort of our “MyBed” a concept which is exclusive to Sofitel, Wi-Fi connection, our Intramuros Bar and the service provided by our Ambassadors. Your satisfaction is our greatest reward as our ambassadors do their best to make each and every Guest’s experience memorable and unique. Thank you for your lovely comment and recommendation.

We look forward to welcome you on your next trip to Lisbon!

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It was a very nice hotel. We usually stay in B&B's so this seem luxurious to us. The bed was amazingly comfortable. There were free bottles of water in the lobby. The hotel is on a lovely tree lined street. The internet worked well. We didn't eat there we walked downtown and ate at an outdoor seating breakfast place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Robin,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words regarding to the comfort of our “MyBed”, our location and internet service. Thank you for your recommendation!
We look forward to welcome you on your next trip to Lisbon!

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for four nights. Perfect location; quaint bar/greeting area; good beds; excellent location. Would stay here again. The concierge staff is delightful and informative. Just remember, checking in or out ---- takes a lot of time. Also, bathrooms, only one person at a time and we had a room that was deluxe, right below a suite. I was informed that it did not matter if you had a suite or not, all bathrooms are the same size. Poorly designed --- when you take a shower, water all over the place. It cannot be helped. Great towels and robes. The best -- room service. Quick and delicious!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to review your stay.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your experience with us and that we have met your overall expectations regarding our location, the comfort of our "MyBed" and the service provided by our Room Service and Concierge Ambassadors. We have taken note of all your comments and thank you for all the feedback you have provided. This will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our services and products. Thank you for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a couple of nights here. I would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay. Rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable, it is also very quiet which is just wonderful giving you no idea the hotel has anyone else there. The bar is great with a fantastic choice of everything you want and have probably never considered drinking! Only negative comment would be the is that the restaurant is nice but a little pricey considering how amazing food availability is close by. Personally I did think the breakfast is very overpriced for a continental buffet, a hot option would be appreciated but everything is fresh and well presented and again if you are not interested there is options near and you expect the price given this is a 5 star. Special mention to the reception staff who are really amazing and very patient. All round a great place providing a great weekend break.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to review your experience with us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your weekend break in our hotel. Thank you for your comments regarding the room's cleanliness and comfort and the service provided by our Bar and Front Desk Ambassadors. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our Guests as it helps in in our ongoing efforts to improve our services and facilities. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you soon to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived on a Friday for a 4 night stay to celebrate my birthday. The hotel arranged a private pick up service from the ariport.
The hotel has a super location on Avenida da Liberdade. Stayed on the 9th floor and the rooms were large, modern, lovely and peaceful. Cosy beds. The bathroom was spotless. Wifi works great. In the room was a complimentary bottle of port and some sweets.

The front desk staff is wonderful, very helpful and eager to assist in any possible way. When recommending restaurants they fully understood what we were looking for and made reservations for us. They seem to be personal friends with many of the restaurant managers so we were warmly greeted when arriving at the venues.

A special credit to the guest relations manager Claudia. She is such a lovely, friendly happy and pretty girl.
On my birthday, when we got back to the hotel in the afternoon, she had arranged in our room for a bottle of champagne on ice, a small cake with candle, a stone plate decorated with ”Happy Birthday” handwritten in chocolate and a letter wishing me a pleasant birthday. A beautiful gesture I will always remember.

At the ground floor there is a very nice lobby bar called Intra-Muros - offering drinks and a small bar meny. Cozy and a relaxed atmosphere.

There is also the Ad Lib restaurant that highlight a mix of modern Portugese and French cuicine. We had dinner there one night and the food was excellent.
Go for the duck!
The waitress Aline provided us with a pleasant dinner experience.

Claudia, Bruno, Elisabeth, Nelson and the rest of the staff:
Thank you VERY much for making our stay such a pleasant experience. Appreciate what you all did for us to have an unforgettable weekend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family I will certainly stay there again.

Two thumbs up.

Muito obrigado!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Llisbon Liberdade for the celebration of your birthday and for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your special Birthday surprise, and would like to thank you for your lovely words regarding to our Guest Relations Ambassador Cláudia Gouveia and our Front Desk Ambassadors who do their best to make every Guest's experience special and unique. It was a pleasure to read your comment as we are so proud that our Ambassadors have made your birthday weekend truly special and unforgettable. Thank you for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcome you and your family in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1269-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Clé d’Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 250 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.