We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Except for needing ear plugs....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade to your Saves list
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1269-038, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay longer & save 25%!
Ranked #23 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Except for needing ear plugs....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Service was terrific. The staff was well trained and friendly. Breakfast was great. Rooms were contemporary and attractive, though there was some sort of goo on a bedside lamp. Our room was very noisy due to activity behind or below one of the walls - we could never determine which direction except it did not come from outside. Slamming, doors squeeking, motors running, scraping, continued from 8 am until about 10 pm. Beds were comfortable so with ear plugs we were fine. It was too much trouble after a long day traveling to complain and move.The noise could be coming from a service closet next to one wall in room 420. If that is the case, just don't accept a room next to the service closet.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your staying with us at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

We understand we have not met your overall expectations and would like to express our sincerest apologies for all the troubles you experienced during your stay with us. We have shared your concerns with our Housekeeper in order to avoid future incidents like these.

Nevertheless, we would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding to our Ambassadors and the service they provide as well as the quality of the buffet breakfast and the room facilities.

Once again, we thank you very much for your comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,445
    627
    143
    38
    25
See reviews for
327
1,197
178
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for a quick break in Lisbon for three days from 25th October. The staff are really good and nothing is too much trouble. It was my birthday and on return from a day out there was a complimentary bottle of Cava on ice in the room. The rooms were well presented and very comfortable. We had taken advantage of the advance payment offer and in terms of value we thought nothing else came close. The hotel is well located to go anywhere in central Lisbon - we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, General Manager at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to evaluate your experience with us.

We are delighted to read that you were pleased with the level of service provided by our Ambassadors and the location of our hotel and of course the special surprise we prepared for your birthday.

Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you soon to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We just get back from an amazing 3 night break as a family of 6 including 2 children of 11 and 8.
The staff at the hotel are extremely accomodating and cannot do enough for you from recommending the super Sacramento restaurant we could never have found ourselves to serving hot chocolate for bedtime in the bar. The rooms are very comfortable with Loccitane toiletries and fluffy robes. We had room service one evening and this was fast and delicious.
The hotel is brilliantly situated with a hop on tour bus stop just opposite and an easy walk down town to all bars and restaurants.
The hotel does an amazing breakfast which you should not miss.
We went on some great trips in the city on both the tram and yellow bus do not miss the St George Castle with amazing vistas over city or a trip to Belem. We will be back as this is a great city for an autumn break and very good value for money compared with Italy and France.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, General Manager at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade for your stay in Lisbon and for taking the time to write about your stay.

We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your last minute break with us and would I like to thank you on behalf of our Ambassadors for your lovely words regarding to the service we provide along with the amenities and products in your room. Thank you for recommending our hotel!

We look forward to welcome you and your family to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your next autumn break.

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sofitel Lisbon for 2 nights in our visit to the city .Location in the main street is a must . The staff was very nice and helpful, our room (luxury) was good size, beautifully decorated, and the toilletries were L Occitane, which I found very good! The restaurant in the hotel is very good , and they have a 3 course fixed menu that is excellent . My only complain is about breakfast ! it is expensive and exagerated, I would have preferred something more normal and cheaper !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, General Manager at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to assess your stay with us.

It is with great pleasure that we read your comment regarding to the satisfaction you experienced during your stay. Thank you for your kind words in relation to our Ambassadors, the quality of the rooms and facilities we provide and the menu of our AdLib restaurant.
Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your husband on your next trip to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

On the first day of Sofitel they were already so encouraging.We got to our room and settled down. Each day when the cleaners cleaned our room and gave us some lovely chocolates! The view was good especially as we were overlooking a cherry blossom tree.We didn't ask but I am sure that if we did they would have given us some good advice.The staff were friendly to the children and spoke in English a language that we were all comfortable with.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, General Manager at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us.

We are happy to read that you had a joyful experience with us and that you enjoyed the view from your room in addition to the affability of our Ambassadors. It is our pleasure to make every Guest’s experience special and unforgettable and our greatest reward is the Guest’s satisfaction. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your family once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was the first time in Lisbon and chose the Sofitel because of the location and the good experiences I made with other Sofitels before! This one is kind of different from the others, because the rooms a smaller (I had a luxury room). But the rest is as good as in the other Sofitels, kind stuff, fast service, a nice breakfast und dinner restaurant. Bar is also really nice. The location is perfect, everything in Lisbon can be reached by food. I would come back! One point, I want to mention: Windows can be opened in all floors!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, General Manager at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your staying with us at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon.

We are very glad you had a pleasant experience with us as you have had with other Sofitel Luxury Hotels and that our location along with our magnifique delights have made your stay memorable.

Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you soon on you next trip to Lisbon!

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Arrived at the Sofitel around 10.00am from Australia and after a long flight my husband and I were very tired and hot. Checkin didnt go as smoothly as hoped but after an 1hr or so our reservation was sorted out and our room was ready early with special thanks to Josue. We could not have been more pleased with our choice of hotel in Lisbon. Breakfast has to be one of the best ever experienced anywhere we have travelled. Staff were also fantastic, warm and friendly and very professional. We had dinner at the hotel one night and again superb. Value for money also. The room we had was clean, comfortable and quiet. Sleeping was a breeze. Location was perfect for some of the sights. Shopping and good restaurants near by. Taxis are easy to catch and fairly inexpensive. If you choose the Sofitel Liberdade I promise you will not be disappointed. We stayed here prior to doing a cruise on Oceania Riviera - Lisbon to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the feedback about your stay.

We are pleased to read that the issue regarding to your reservation was sorted out and hope that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

Nevertheless, we are delighted that you were satisfied with your choice and that our Ambassadors have been of assistance during your stay. Thank you very much for your generous compliments regarding to our services and products and for your kind recommendation!

We look forward to welcoming you soon to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

Yours sincerely,
António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1269-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Clé d’Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 250 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.