We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good situation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade to your Saves list
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1269-038, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Very good situation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My second stay in this hotel in 7 months and always a good choice despite works in progress in front of the main entrance....
Not very pleasant when we came but no other choice.
Within a short walking distance from the center and bairo alto, this hotel offers all wjat you need for a short city trip except a swimming pool or a spa...
Very good breakfast and nice rooms fully equiped, definitely a good brand in Accor hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,580
    705
    155
    41
    27
See reviews for
375
1,321
187
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

What else is there to say except this is a great hotel, from the moment you walk into the lobby it's beautifully decorated, a selection of cold juices and waters freely available on a little table by the comfy chairs is a particularly nice touch.

The rooms themselves are fantastic as well - spacious, spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in by an absolute mile, the pillows in particular are so comfortable I was tempted to ask where they got them.

The bathroom was perfect as well, the absolutely superb rain-shower being a particular highlight.

I normally try not to gush when reviewing but in this case it's difficult not to, everything about the place is perfect from the location (walking distance to a veritable bounty of great bars, cafes and restaurants) to the decor to the lovely staff, just stay there already..

Room Tip: There's currently (early 2012) some work going on to the exterior of the hotel, our friends were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Very happy with accomodations and staff. Couldn't ask for more. If there were any questions, the staff answered them as politely as possilbe and were very friendly in their manner. They were very courteous in and out of their work situation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Spent six days in Lisbon to celebrate our wedding anniversary. First impression wasn't so bad: We were greeted with complementary chilled champagne and pastry desserts in the room!

Ordered room service breakfast nearly every morning and were treated to the most amazing complementary croissants that trumped even the ones I’ve had in France. Room service prices were reasonable (compared to “normal” inflated room service rates); a three-egg omelet or large bowl of fruit cost about €6 off the a la carte menu.

The hotel is very centrally located – a five-minute or so walk south on Avenida da Liberdade gets you to bustling Restauradores and Rossio squares, which has lots of dining options and is a great starting-off point to get to all the major neighborhoods (Baixa, Chiado and Bairro Alto, etc.). A 15-minute walk north, past all the posh shops, gets you to the big park with a wonderful view of Lisbon, the river and beyond. There’s a friendly self-service laundrymat just a few blocks behind the hotel, on Rua da Alegria, that’s a lot cheaper than the hotel’s services.

Get one of the rear rooms if you can. I did notice some construction noise during the day while walking down the hall, but our room, which faced the back street overlooking a park, was very quiet. The MyBed mattress topper and pillows are divine.

If we find ourselves in Lisbon a second time, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel for four nights. We found it to be an ideal location for our first trip to Lisbon. The hotel was undergoing some outside refurbishment but this did not effect us.The location is great within easy reach of all we needed to see. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The cost of breakfast is expensive as are drinks in the bar. We dined in the hotel's Ad Lib restaurant on one evening and found the food and service excellent if a little more expensive than downtown Lisbon. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, I am a very particular person and like things to be immaculate. I have to say this hotel was really lovely. The rooms are a great size and clean with such a touch of class, elegance and very modern. The bed was huge and so comfortable. The bathroom was stunning too. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with suggesting restaurants and general information. The location of the hotel was excellent and parking on the street directly outside was always easy! I truly recommend this hotel. The price for parking in the garage however was a little steep at 25 euros a day! Putting that aside....all was fantastic... BOOK THIS HOTEL. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Great location. Excellent buffet breakfast. Nice cosy rooms. Very nice beds. Spacious toilets. Staff are very helpful. Rooms at rear of hotel are nice and quiet. Renovations still in progress. Rooms are very dimly lit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1269-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.