We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Principe Lisboa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Principe Lisboa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Principe Lisboa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Duque de Avila 201 | (City Center), Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Brugge/Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We will come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My experience learned me to point a few items of importance when I book a hotel. So there's a comfortable bed, clean room/bathroom, breakfast and the price. Because I prefer to rent a car, even in cities as Lisboa, it also gives me the possibility to go for a hotel in the more quiet areas. More choice and less expensive.
When all of this AND the reviews look OK - like for Principe Lisboa- I make my booking!

The staff are nice and very helpful, the hotel is clean and one can have a private garage for only €11 a day.
Drinks and snacks are at very reasonable price.
My fifth hotel in this city and for sure, it will be my future choice!

Para o staff do Hotel :"Muito obrigado e até brêve!"

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    316
    56
    15
    4
See reviews for
116
216
34
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel, the crew is soooo kind. This is the first thing I look for when I go in a public structure like hotels. I need people to be accomodant. Everyone has been polite and ready to help. The hotel is perfect, rooms are big and well ventilated, clean, bathrooms are wide and immaculate and there is a double shower...!
But the best of all has been the breakfast. A very varied selection of food, fresh fruit and very good sweets!
I loved my stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to Lisbon for a citytrip with friends and i guess we couldn't get a better hotel for that.
The rooms were nice, the staff very kind, breakfast very good and plenty of choice, public transport in the way of Metro just on the other side of the street in front of the hotel with access to the 4 metro lines throughout the whole city of Lisbon.
Shortly said, we all had a pleasant journey, due to the perfect stay and service in the hotel.
Stefaan Pereira

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Staff kind and helpful, hotel nice and clean, modern-looking rooms, brand new bathrooms! They gave us more keys, printed our documents, called us a cab...
Breakfast was nice too, although they had same foods to offer each morning.
Location is great. Subway right in front, shopping center 2 minutes with all you need (huge market, cinema, ATMs, restaurants, food, souvenirs... ).
Park Eduardo II is near, also Sao Sebastiao area is nice, calm...
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I spent five days at the end of a trans-Atlantic crossing in Lisbon and the Hotel Principe was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms and the entire property is of a contemporary style and the rooms are simply furnished with a very comfortable bed and small frig. The wifi is quite adequate. The best part of staying here is the location. There is a Metro station literally 10 meters from the front door providing access to both the Red and Blue lines. These two lines give you easy access to the airport, the train stations and the most popular tourists sights in the city. There is a large shopping center that is only a ten minute walk away with many stores, including a super mercado and on the lowest level, -4, there is in the back corner a laundry that will do wash and fold.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place does exactly what it says on the tin.

I was originally a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel because of its ranking - there are many higher ranked places in Lisbon on TripAdvisor. However, my partner and I had a fantastic stay here.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - even telling us the legend of the Portuguese chicken (which my partner referred to as the Nando's chicken). They were great about recommending places to eat, and nothing was too much of a bother.

The hotel seems pretty new. It's located on a quieter street, and the rooms seem pretty soundproof anyway. The room was immaculate and the bed was really comfortable. While the rooms may be a bit on the small size by US standards, I would say that is not much of an issue because they're well laid out.

The location is also a plus. It's at the end of the red line which is convenient not only for accessing the city but also the airport. There is an entrance to the underground network right outside of the hotel - very handy.

There is a strip club next to the hotel - but besides a neon sign, nothing seedy emanated from it during our visit. I did not find this an issue as it isn't the hotel's fault nor is it intrusive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent a night here, and would have happily stayed longer if time had allowed. The outstanding feature of this hotel, for us, was the front desk staff, who were very thoughtful on several occasions--coming to see if I was able to get my boarding passes printed, recommending a terrific traditional restaurant, storing bags, asking questions. They were very welcoming and for that reason alone I would stay there again.
Our room was simple, updated, impeccably clean. Good breakfast included in costs. Also very helpful and kind staff in breakfast room.
We chose this hotel in part because of its proximity to the Gulbankien. Also a great advantage.
The "strip club" next door has no presence at all, except for a small sign.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Principe Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Lisboa

Address: Av. Duque de Avila 201 | (City Center), Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Principe Lisboa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Principe Lisboa provides contemporary accommodation at convenient rates with a friendly and multilingual staff. Situated right in front of Sao Sebastiao metro station that is just a few stops from the centre of town, it gives instant access to all corners of the city. The elegant and modern guestrooms of the hotel have been refurbished in 2009 and feature flat screen TVs with Satellite reception and air-conditioning. The private bathrooms come with complimentary bathroom amenities and a hairdryer. Wi-Fi is available at a cost. Set in an area with many cafes and restaurants in close proximity, Hotel Principe Lisboa is situated 15 minutes by metro from the city centre. Guest can also walk to the centre through adjacent Park Edward VII with its views over Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Principe Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Lisboa Hotel
Principe Lisboa Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Principe Lisboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.