We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good start for a wonderful vacation in Portugal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Principe Lisboa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Principe Lisboa to your Saves list
Hotel Principe Lisboa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Duque de Avila 201 | (City Center), Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good start for a wonderful vacation in Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 10 days at Hotel Principe and was surprised with the quality of the services in a three star hotel in Europe. Wonderful rooms, although not very big, everything new (very rare in european hotels...). Excellent location, in front of the metro station, near Corte Ingles and Fundação Gulbenkian.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    341
    53
    9
    4
See reviews for
146
259
42
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Shore, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have stayed here several times and have never had a complaint. The price is reasonable, you are close to several metro lines and the neighborhood is fairly quiet. For a european hotel, the rooms were fairly spacious. The breakfast is pretty good with a nice assortment of choices. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights at the hotel. Our room was big and was very clean. The room was cleaned every day. The breakfast was very nice, continental buffet and plenty choice. Don't see why there would be any complaints about the hotel as the price is great and the hotel and staff were too. The staff were very helpful. There are nice restraunts in the area. De Castro was really nice and the hotel booked us a table and showed us the way to get there. Beautiful food and the restraunt was very nice. Had a beautiful main course for 2 and 2 drinks each for 45€ so reasonable price. We also went to Casa Nepalesa which we would really recommend. Great service, great price and they give you free starters and dips. It was €39 for 2 course meal for two, 2 naan breads, rice and 4 drinks.
Getting to the hotel from the airport is simple. The metro runs right to the hotel and the metro stop is Sao Sebstian. When leaving the metro station to get to the hotel you need to go to the red line exits and you come right out at the hotel not the blue line exits as then you need to walk and try find the hotel. Our whole stay in Lisbon we used the metro it's really quick and cheap.
Attractions we would recommend are the Oceanario, this was amazing and cost €16 each but was really worth it. If going on the metro it's the stop Oriente which is direct line from outside hotel.
The galbunkian museum which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. This is worth a look. Lots of things to see and was only €4.
Also S Jorges castle and the area is a nice day trip. Can get the metro to Restarondes or Biaxo Chiado and your in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was traveling with my wife and my 8-month old baby and we spent 3 nights at the Hotel Principe Lisboa. It was a very pleasant experience and I would stay in this hotel again with no doubt.

LOCATION
The hotel is placed 2 blocks away from El Corte Ingles, a shopping center / department store, where you can find pretty much anything you need. The park Eduardo VII is situated near to the hotel as well. Walking in the neighborhood in the evening was nice and safe, no problems here.
Getting to the hotel from the airport is as simple as it can be. We thought about getting a cab to the hotel, but then we saw that the subway line that starts at the airport takes us directly to the Sao Sebastiao Station, which is just in front of the hotel, so really easy.

ROOM
The room was not that big, but it was clean and well furnished. The bathroom was very good. The only thing I missed in the room was a safe with a lock. There was a safe in our room, but its door wouldn't close. The bed was very comfortable, as well as the sheets and pillows.

STAFF
We asked the staff some extra things before our check-in at the hotel, mainly for our baby. The communication per E-Mail was very easy and the response was very quick. Everything we asked was arranged, for example, a baby bed. They gave us also plenty of information and tips about where to go and what to visit in Lisbon, especially with a baby. To sum up, they were very helpful and proactive.

BREAKFAST
Large room with many options. Everything was fine. On the last day we had to leave really soon and asked the day before if we could have breakfast at 6:30 am (their breakfast time is from 07:30 am to 11:00 am). Here again, no problem, the staff was very helpful and arranged everything for us just fine.

INTERNET
ok, it's wasn't free, but we bought a 2-hour option for EUR 3,00. This 2 hours didn't have to be spent all at once, instead we could logout and use some time later. This way these 2 hours lasted almost 1 day.

Conclusion: in those 3 days we had absolutely no complains about the hotel and were positively surprised about the service. I reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location of the hotel is very convinient. The district is new but not far from the center of the city, there are plenty of restaurants, the metro station is just opposte the entrance. If you like museums the wonderful Gulbenkian foundation is only 5 minutes walk.
The room is clean and nice (though it would be small for two persons), the view from the window is pleasant. I agree that the breakfast is decent but it is not so important for me.
The stuff at the reception is marvellous, very friendly and always ready to give an advice.
I booked my room through the hotel's site and it was the best value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A few steps away from Sao Sebastiao Station, this hotel is located in a quiet but convenient spot in Lisbon. The staff at the reception are friendly and speak fluent English so asking for directions is not difficult. They also allow bag storage after check out so you won't have to worry about carrying your stuff while having those last minute site-seeing tours/shopping.

The room is quite small but workable, modern and clean. Breakfast is modest but still okay to jumpstart your day. Wifi is not free though. I hope they make it complimentary for guests. Maps and tour options and also, free candies are available at the lobby for your enjoyment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is in the business district of Lisboa. It is clean, staff were helpful when approached. The hotel was undergoing renovations so there was a lot of noise. Unfortunately, I had the room by the elevator which was extremely noisy. The room itself was adequate clean beds and bathroom. Continental breakfast was good, the dining room is located on the first floor and is very cold so take a sweater along with you.

It is located directly across from the metro which is convenient if you get out of the metro in the correct direction as there are potentially 3 separate exits. If you get out at the main exit be prepared to lug your suitcases on stone sidewalks about 5-10min depending on how heavy your suitcases are.

Also be aware there is a strip club directly beside the hotel...which I was totally unaware of during my booking.

Would I stay here again, well, only if I couldn't find a better deal elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay as far as possible away from the elevators and double check the safe, mine was broken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Principe Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Lisboa

Address: Av. Duque de Avila 201 | (City Center), Lisbon 1050-082, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#46 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Principe Lisboa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Principe Lisboa provides contemporary accommodation at convenient rates with a friendly and multilingual staff. Situated right in front of Sao Sebastiao metro station that is just a few stops from the centre of town, it gives instant access to all corners of the city. The elegant and modern guestrooms of the hotel have been refurbished in 2009 and feature flat screen TVs with Satellite reception and air-conditioning. The private bathrooms come with complimentary bathroom amenities and a hairdryer. Wi-Fi is available at a cost. Set in an area with many cafes and restaurants in close proximity, Hotel Principe Lisboa is situated 15 minutes by metro from the city centre. Guest can also walk to the centre through adjacent Park Edward VII with its views over Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Principe Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Lisboa Hotel
Principe Lisboa Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Principe Lisboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.