We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally found a great Thai Restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BanThai

BanThai
R. Fradesso da Silveira, 2 traseira | loja 9 do Edificio de escritorios do Empreendimento Alcantara, Lisbon 1300, Portugal
213 621 184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,105 of 2,625 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $21 - $28
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Banthai restaurant is managed by Thai cookers and Thai staffs,every dishes are cooked from our care and attention.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Finally found a great Thai Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Finally i found a great Thai Restaurant in Lisbon! i'm here for a while, eating lots of Portugues food and Shushi. After all i found Banthai Restaurant where is quite hard to find. But i really satisfy with the welcome service, warm atmosphere, the taste of well mixture of spicy, salty, sweet and sour, the aroma of dishes with aceptable price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good enough when you're far from the real thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I know how devilishly difficult it is to replicate the real, the authentic thing when you're far from the place, and this is especially true for asian food in europe so I bear this in mind when I comment about asian restaurants in any european city. Ban thai though tries hard, and I could see the effort. Went for the fried spring rolls, tom yam. For the main course, tried the highly regarded (at least in reviews I've seen elsewhere) crab in coconut milk, and found it good enough though it could be better. To start with, the crab was not the smaller, more tasty ones ones found in Asia, so the crab meat itself was not the best so it was naturally overpowered by the strong sauce. The spring rolls and tom yam were acceptable, nothing memorable about them. We had ice cream afterwards, which was just okay. As wine do not go well with strong Asian flavours (besides not being part of Asian tradition), the tea we ordered was welcome and appropriate. Food here is a bit more pricey than usual, but not unreasonably so considering that Thai food preparation is more complex than local typical food. The location is not too convenient for tourists or travelers as it's out of the usual tourist circuit -- it's actually halfway between Belem area and the historic downtown area, though there are buses and the tram which pass close by. Good place to go to if you're craving for Asian food that is not typical of those which passes for Chinese/Asian buffet one finds everywhere, just don't expect the food here to be exceptional.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Spicy is not enough”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We found the food without quality, too much spicy and pricy. never again. Thai food is flavour freshness, and balance. Here you don't find nothing of this

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Very good food and service.I love pad-thai and banthai ice cream very much.I will visit banthai again for sure.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Good restaurant but expensive.
The food its tasty but very spicy.
The restaurant is very cozy and beautiful

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BanThai also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to BanThai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BanThai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.