We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco)

Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco)
Avenida Infante Dom Henrique, Lisbon 1100-053, Portugal (Baixa)
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 184 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the biggest squares in Europe, this stylish area in downtown Lisbon often displays beautiful works of art and sculpture, and is a great place for a leisurely stroll.
Santarem, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stunning!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Once in Lisbon you must visit this square, 'cause it's one of the most beautiful and emblematic places of the city. I advise you to leave the subway in "Restauradores" and walk from there to Terreiro do Paço, because the streets that you will see in the way have that atmosphere that you really don't wanna miss. Once you get to the river, sit for a little bit on the steps and enjoy the view of the bridge and (possibly) the sunset, while you feel the magic of a place that saw so many important people arrive and leave the city, over the centuries.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    425
    91
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pracio del Comercio was one of our stops we made while in Lisbon. We are so happy we made a stop here. The structures were simply amazing, beyond words. We don’t have anything like this in Toronto Canada. This is one of the reasons why I love travelling in Europe. I get to see things I don’t normally get to see back home. Pracio del Comercio also has an excellent view of the water. An amazing experience to say the least!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“900 square meters of light”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Inaugurated during the reign of King Joseph I of Portugal and under the government of the Marquis de Pombal, on 07/06/1775, this plaza called the trade, because it is the place where you would trasações the commercial, which besides being the place where the customs, joins tobacco and still others "ministerial offices" of that time, the center has ample space only statue to the monarch to whom they wanted laurear. an impressive statue more than 14 meters high. the true port of Lisbon who arrives in town by the river Tagus

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Near the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This square makes you feel like the ships will be coming soon. The ark on the entrance and the monument in the centre are very beautiful. Try sitting at the stone seats near the water for a while. Very pleasant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Helder, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Pracio del Comercio is the most beautiful square in Lisbon. An amazing view over the river and the architecture is beautiful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco) also viewed

 

Been to Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.