We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and interesting. Shouldn't be missed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Igreja do Carmo

Igreja do Carmo
Largo do Carmo, 1200, Lisbon, Portugal (Baixa)
Improve this listing
Visit Igreja do Carmo like an insider
Private Tour
$25*
and up
Private Tour: Lisbon Walking Tour
Ranked #41 of 424 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting. Shouldn't be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is one of my favourite places in Lisbon. The site itself, alone, is worth seeing for its beauty and poignancy: a large church nave open to the sky except for its skeletal Gothic arches. More than anywhere else, it is possible to imagine how terrible the 1755 earthquake must have been.

The church serves as a museum: the open nave is lined with various stone sculptures from monasteries and churches across Portugal, many of which are quite exquisite. The apse and chambers at the back contain various archaeological exhibits ranging from prehistoric artifacts to an outstanding royal medieval tomb and even some Peruvian mummies!

Unless you have less than two days in Lisbon and are spending one in Belém, you should definitely take the time to come here. It's right next to the Santa Justa elevator (from which there are also fantastic views over the city, opposite the Castelo São Jorge).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    182
    44
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful site, worth visiting if you are interested in historic stonecarving or archaeology”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As others have said, do take time to look in the small indoor museum part, which, when we visited, was overlooking an archaeological dig (we saw them extracting an array of bones). Well displayed and preserved stonecarvings, which my expert friend told me had been incredibly well conserved. The whole site felt so peaceful - sobering to think that people had perished there during the 1755 earthquake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
274 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“A Unique Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Don't just look outside go inside and look around as well. This is a very interesting site.
Tips: For all attractions check opening & closing times to avoid disappointment. The Lisbon Card is very useful especially if you are in Lisbon for a few days. We purchased the 72 hour card and is was so convenient for all forms of transports as well as providing free or discounted entry into attractions. It paid for itself and we ended up marking significant savings overall.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Visit during the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We hade the luck to visit it during the evening when a concert was held. It was a magical place. The church was lit up beautiful and the sound was amazing. If possible visit in the evening. There's a nice square just outside the church where you can eat or take something to drink.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
401 helpful votes 401 helpful votes
“First open top church I have been too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This site is pretty stunning and unique in the sense that there is virtually no roof on the place, and yet most of the pillars still stand offering a unique experience with an open sky.

No great if its pouring down but we had a lovely sunny day hence it was worth the visit.

There is a small museum as well to walk around, I would recommend visiting if you are near by, but do not travel 200 miles for this.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja do Carmo also viewed

 

Been to Igreja do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Igreja do Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.