We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful site, worth visiting if you are interested in historic stonecarving or archaeology” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Igreja do Carmo

Igreja do Carmo
Largo do Carmo, 1200, Lisbon, Portugal (Baixa)
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 184 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful site, worth visiting if you are interested in historic stonecarving or archaeology”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As others have said, do take time to look in the small indoor museum part, which, when we visited, was overlooking an archaeological dig (we saw them extracting an array of bones). Well displayed and preserved stonecarvings, which my expert friend told me had been incredibly well conserved. The whole site felt so peaceful - sobering to think that people had perished there during the 1755 earthquake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    154
    35
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
275 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“A Unique Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Don't just look outside go inside and look around as well. This is a very interesting site.
Tips: For all attractions check opening & closing times to avoid disappointment. The Lisbon Card is very useful especially if you are in Lisbon for a few days. We purchased the 72 hour card and is was so convenient for all forms of transports as well as providing free or discounted entry into attractions. It paid for itself and we ended up marking significant savings overall.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Visit during the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We hade the luck to visit it during the evening when a concert was held. It was a magical place. The church was lit up beautiful and the sound was amazing. If possible visit in the evening. There's a nice square just outside the church where you can eat or take something to drink.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“First open top church I have been too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This site is pretty stunning and unique in the sense that there is virtually no roof on the place, and yet most of the pillars still stand offering a unique experience with an open sky.

No great if its pouring down but we had a lovely sunny day hence it was worth the visit.

There is a small museum as well to walk around, I would recommend visiting if you are near by, but do not travel 200 miles for this.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“ruins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The church is in ruins since the big earthquake but it has a little museum, like a private one, with a rather creepy two infants skeletons!
If you have the time, visit, but if it`s a short visit don`t bother

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja do Carmo also viewed

 

Been to Igreja do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Igreja do Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.