We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be higher on the list than a surf school” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Igreja do Carmo

Igreja do Carmo
Largo do Carmo, 1200, Lisbon, Portugal (Baixa)
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 184 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
134 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“This should be higher on the list than a surf school”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This cathedral is spectacular. And what makes it so, is that it wasn't rebuilt after the 1755 earthquake. One of the rare buildings left as is, and its a refreshing change from the rest of Lisbon. There is history here and athough it is marked as an archaelogical museum, don't be fooled. I almost didn't go in because I thought it was just an archaelogical museum. While they have things on display from all over the world, the best part is just sitting on the main entrance steps and gawking at the buttresses that still stand overhead. The sky was such an amazing blue when we were there our pictures almost look fake.

This is definitely a must, and it's the first thing you come to when you get off the Santa Justa Elevator. Just go in! I have no idea how so many things in Lisbon top this on the sights list. It really should be top 5.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    154
    35
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The beautiful remains of this church evoke the image of the crowd gathered in there at the time of the great earthquake. A strange combination, too, with the sound of the street musicians playing on the square outside.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique Gothic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Partially destroyed by the 1755 earthquake, this monastery was built on Nuno Álvares Pereira, a very important military figure, expenses

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We have great pictures from there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

It is a must see. The church has no ceiling and the effect is surreal. It is a museum with great story and some interesting artifacts in the presbiterial chambers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Church which survived the 1755 earthquake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We went to this ruins as part of the Lisbon Walker tour. We did not know there was an admission charge because it was included in the tour along with the St Justa Elevator. It is a bit starling to see the interior open to the sky. When we were there an archeology fair was in full force. There were exhibits where kids could put on diving mask and "dive" for a treasure in a fish tank- or take a shovel and find treasure in a sand box. There was also an actor who was in period costume and carrying around a barrel.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja do Carmo also viewed

 

Been to Igreja do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Igreja do Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.