We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you should have been here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of This is Lisbon Hostel

Save Saved
You added This is Lisbon Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
This is Lisbon Hostel
Rua da Costa do Castelo 63 | (entrance by Escadinhas Marques Ponte de Lima 1), Lisbon 1100-335, Portugal (Castelo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 198 Specialty lodging in Lisbon
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“you should have been here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in a private room. It was excellent. I'll tell you why. At first, all of the staff is really friendly and extremely helpfull. When we wanted to rent a car the receptionist called immediately some car-rental companies to inform. A little chat with them broadens your Lisbon experience because they can give you a lot of hints which can be really helpful. The staff makes you feel at home and they have respect for their guests.

Next to the perfect personal approach the hostel was really clean and the breakfast was great (it was a suprise for us that that was included). Just grab a cup of coffee and sit on the lovely roof terrace to enjoy a view over the city. (another good point: the location of the hostel).

To state briefly; if you're looking for a nice, calm, home-like, friendly hostel you should book this one definitely.

Enjoy Lisbon and the rest of the world ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
30
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Super! Really nice hostel!everything is super clean and the terrace!It is huge and beautifull and the view is unforgetable, u can look across whole lisboa! the stuff is super cool u can eat dinner great dinner together and afterwords a special artist will play some selfmade songs and you drink wine together !:D its really fun, its located in one of the coolest parts of lisboa and next to the beautifull castle, what can i say, its a perfect place to stay:)!OH! and bay the way! its true its on a hill but the trick: about 2min. from the hostel there is a ELEVATOR which brings u directly to the city :D its so practical:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here 4 nights, the staff is super nice, helped me with everything- a special thank to Miriam (Myriam?) and José for giving me some advice and eventually leading me to the address of my future flat in this city!!
Had a good time here for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here for three days during the Saint Anthony Ceremony. I had a really great time staying in the hostel. Breakfast was nice and hostel staff are friendly. The dorm room where I stayed have only four beds so I think it's relatively small size. The location of the hostel are very convenience. The closest stop is probably Martim Moniz metro station. I totally recommend this hostel for all backpackers :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at this place with my girlfriend for a seven days trip to Lisbon in June 2013.

The hostel is conveniently located in a quiet street of the old town, just around the corner of Castelo San Jorge. Pollards restrict the access to the street, so there is not much traffic. Alfama and Graca are close by and so are most attractions of Lisbon. The Rossi Square subway and train station are just a ten minutes walk, so it's also conveniently reachable from the airport by public transport. A free public elevator takes you up and down the hill so you don't have to carry your luggage up in the burning sun. Right next to the elevator, there is a super market where you can get groceries.

This is Lisbon hostel offers dorms of different sizes (2 to 8 people), a room with double bed and an "apartment" with private bathroom. Linen and duvets are free of charge. There is one shared bathroom for men and one for women, each very clean, reasonably spacious and equipped with three shower cabins and two washing stands.
There is a fully equipped kitchen that can be used by any guest free of charge (including the basic spices you would need for cooking). Coffee and tee is also free all day long. Next to the kitchen, there is a dining room where breakfast is served in the morning (you guessed it - for free). Also there is a collection of maps and info brochures available at no cost.
The gem of the hostel, however, is the almost obscenely spacious terrace that is accessible from the kitchen, the dining room and some guest rooms. It features sun all day long and a marvelous view across Lisbon that you would not expect at an affordable place like this. It is great for relaxing after a long walk through the city or a barbecue in the evening.

Even greater than the hostel itself is the staff. Really anybody went out of their way to make our stay as comfy and memorable as possible. Every day, somebody would put together a list of things to do on that particular day and post it on the white board. The staff organizes free city walking tours, trips to Sintra and other nearby places, Yoga classes, surf lessons and much more - just ask and you will be helped.
If you don't feel like eating out in the evening, you can join the daily hostel dinner offering freshly home-cooked international delicacies at very affordable prices.

The few thing I did not like too much and would like to mention for the sake of completeness even though I don't consider them relevant enough to rate down this excellent place:
- The water temperature in the shower is not adjustable. It is cold at first and gets warmer gradually. If you take more than three minutes to shower, it might be too hot for some people's taste. Also having to press the shower button ever 6-7 seconds to keep the water running is somewhat annoying.
- The sleep quality is not the best but as to be expected from a hostel

Some general tips:
- If you have a spacious backpack, it is to be preferred over a trolley as Lisbon and especially the old town has some of the worst cobblestone you've seen. Walking from Rossi to the hostel pulling a trolley is not fun
- For the same reason, it is recommended to bring proper shoes. Flip flops and sneakers with thin soles are not suitable for anything but a quick walk to the supermarket

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great hostel with a very nice staff. They even knew everyone's name, it is incredible, they really made me feel at home :) The location is great, it is in the heart of the old neighborhood. I miss the end of the the day drinking beer in the terrace with a nice view over Lisbon. I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have been there for 3 days, and it was perfect. The best hostel we ever had. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are quit well, also the bathrooms, we liked the simple, but good breakfast, and the great view from the terrace. They organized a very interesting city tour also. If we could give 6 points of rating, we would do this:-) Thank you very much!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to This is Lisbon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about This is Lisbon Hostel

Address: Rua da Costa do Castelo 63 | (entrance by Escadinhas Marques Ponte de Lima 1), Lisbon 1100-335, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon > Castelo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 198 Specialty lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your This is Lisbon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage This is Lisbon Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.