We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprisingly good, quirky and modern hotel in Lisbon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel da Estrela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel da Estrela to your Saves list
Hotel da Estrela
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Rua Saraiva de Carvalho, 35, Lisbon 1250-242, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good, quirky and modern hotel in Lisbon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Hotel Da Estrela is located in the quieter Lisbon suburb of Santa Isabel next to the Lisbon School of Hotels and Tourism. A former school itself, it uses a classroom theme throughout the hotel with information chalked on slate boards and a reception area that feels very much like the Headmaster’s study. The rooms are furnished in a modern and somewhat minimalistic style but I soon warmed to the quirkiness of it all. It is clear that students from the nearby School of Tourism are being used to supplement hotel staff but that in no way detracts from the overall quality of service. The hotel restaurant has an excellent breakfast and the evening meals were very reasonable, with chefs “marked” on their work by allowing guests to pay for dishes with an amount of their choice between upper and lower limits. The hotel is a little away from the centre and appears a little eccentric at first but after 5 days there I was thoroughly enjoying myself. I would strongly recommend the hotel for those who need a change from the usual corporate hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
8
49
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casscais
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Hotel was a former school, which was converted into a small modern Design hotel. The design you may not always find functional, but you feel all was done by heart. It´s loctaed in a quiet residential area, a little away from the center. ,To reach the center you either can catch the foumous tram 28 line or the tube a few 100m away. With walking you will need 20-25min. to reach the major sights. The place does to have a small resaturant, which is managed by the hotel school nearby. You rate the the food and pay accordingly. There are too other traditional reaturants nearby. All in all it is more a very charming than a luxury hotel. Therefore it´s a place, which will grow and live with it´s guests and staff taking care of them.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed here for three nights whilst doing a whistle stop tour of Lisbon and it couldn't have been better. Funky rooms, helpful staff, nice food. Liked being able to judge the food we ate there and pay accordingly...felt a bit like being a judge on masterchef. I think we paid full price for everything because it was all excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Arrived quite late, taxi driver had never heard of the hotel.

A really nice concept hotel in a renovated old school. The school theme is displayed throughout the hotel with info on blackboards and old educational posters in the rooms. The rooms are tasteful and spacious and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

We had a massive suite. However the TV was so positioned that you could not view it from the bed.

I really do not feel that this hotel can meet the standards of The Small Luxury Hotels club.

Breakfast was good, service was sporadic. Did not eat dinner, so can't comment on the food.

The hotel is situated near the beautiful Jardim Guerra Junqueiro and the imposing Basilica da Estrela. conntection to downtown Lisbon works fine with the nr 28 tram.

It's probably good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I find it hard to understand how this hotel can be a member of the Small Luxury Hotels Of The World. I thought the location was terrible. It is located on a small unattractive street a considerable distance from downtown. You must take a cab or trolley to get anywhere. The trolley leaves you off ten minutes from the hotel. The tolley is extremely crowded and only comes every 20 minutes. It t may be fun taking the trolley once but not more then once. Two of our cab drivers had a lot of difficulty even finding the hotel. There are very few good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel itself was very disappointing for many reasons. The reception area and sitting area are very stark. When you enter the hotel there are two school desks with a receptionist that doubles as a concierge and a student from the tourist school that is located next to the hotel. We were only given one key to our room and when I asked for a second key I was told there was only one key available for each room. Normally that would not be a problem but in this hotel you have to lock your door when you enter the room with a key. After insisting on a second key I finally got one the next day. We only had a tub with a hand shower. The tub had no curtain or enclosure so that when you took a shower the floor got soaked. We had to us our towels to wipe up the floor. I called the front desk and asked for more towels because of the water on the floor. They eventually brought more towels but left the soaked towels on the floor.. There was no tissue in the tissue box. Housekeeping gave us one tiny bar of soap for both the shower and the sink. The sliding door that separated the toilet area from the bathroom was off the track. I can say a lot more but I think I made my point.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid, spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was the second time I have stayed here, both for work trips with colleagues. The hotel still has charm, a peaceful location and the restaurant offers good food and atmosphere.....but this time I noticed more little niggles with the room. I was upgraded to a suite, which was ENORMOUS, but not comfortable at all. There was no TV in the bedroom, the sofa was very uncomfortable....there was no shower! just a bath (not even full size) and a handheld shower attachment. The normal rooms are nicer, but even then there are minor problems, as mentioned by previous reviewers (water doesn´t drain properly, TV can´t be watched comfortably from the bed....).
I would still recommend, but come prepared for these minor issues and don`t book a suite.

Room Tip: don´t choose a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We liked hotel pretty much. It has really nice concept. Staff was very helpfull and always smilling.
Also hotel's restaurant "cantina da estrela" was very very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel da Estrela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Estrela

Address: Rua Saraiva de Carvalho, 35, Lisbon 1250-242, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Estrela 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel da Estrela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel da Estrela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.