We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun at night, next to Barrio Alto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiado

Chiado
Lisbon, Portugal (Baixa)
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #6 of 217 attractions in Lisbon
Type: Neighborhoods
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This is the fashionable shopping district in Lisbon.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Fun at night, next to Barrio Alto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Big open Squares with outdoor cafes, people watching and street performers. Have a drink here after dinner in the Barrio Alto.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    569
    76
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“lively”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It`s a very lively area, with things always happening. you have the Elevator near and a shopping centre as well. Loads of restaurants to choose.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very nice area to wander through in the evening watching the street entertainers. Lots of nice restaurants.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Place / Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The place for fun! In front of A Brasiliera bar, just across from Baixa-Chiado metro station every evening there is a freelance band entertaining tourists. People mingle and dance on the street creating a great feeling of freedom and joy. There lots of artist offering beatiful and good priced souvenirs.

"A Brasileira" has been a "posh" destination for going out for almost a century and offers probably the cheapest coffee or beer in town - 0.7 euro, namely 1.8 euro for beers. Be carefull though, these are the prices at the counter, there is a different price for ordering @ the tables inside & another for the "esplanada" (street bar).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This area was just up the street from our hotel and we walked around at night and during the day with no problems. There are a lot of restaurants and bars around and we stopped off our first night in a bar close by that had live entertainment. We had a blast!! I hope one day we can revisit Lisbon as I find its such a beautiful interesting place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiado also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chiado to your Saves list