We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round atraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Tile Museum

National Tile Museum
Rua da Madre de Deus 4, Lisbon 1900-312, Portugal
(351) 21 810 0340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 184 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Art Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A must-see for people interested in the history and design of ceramic tiles, this specialty museum houses a splendid collection of decorative tiles dating from the 15th century to the present.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great all round atraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Situated in a splendid 16 th century convent the museum has a great collection of tiles (from old to 20 th century great portuguese artists). Moreover at the site (included in the price of the museum) you have by far one of the most beautiful churches in Lisbon.

Finally had a fab cappuccino with a really delicious up side pineapple cake. So don't forget to visit the cafeteria (also beautiful tiles there coming from two old palace kitchens in Lisbon)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    329
    70
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The tiles tell the history of the country and are nice in and of themselves. However, there's an amazing church right inside the museum, which could serve as a separate attraction. It's great!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tiles, wish there had been more information about tile history and creation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I went to the Tile Museum on a Sunday, when admission is free, and I'm so glad I did, because I went through the museum pretty quickly, even though I saw everything, some things twice. I thought the tiles were beautiful, and it was very interesting to learn about their context, but I had been hoping for a little more information about the history behind tiles in Lisbon, and how they're made, or some other interesting facts or knowledge of tiles. As it was, I left with some fantastic pictures, and with a glad feeling from having been able to see so many pretty tiles.

Overall, I'd say, go on a Sunday, because otherwise I'm not sure the entrance fee is worth what you get.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“So many tiles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We took the bus here, it lets you off about three blocks away, looks like kind of a run down area but there were four of us walking from the stop trying to find the museum and we were fine. We arrive in the morning and there were few other visitors which was nice. We enjoyed learning about the history of tiles and the development of the different styles and how other cultures influenced over time. Make sure you visit the top floor at the end to see the panoramic tile picture of Lisbon.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'm glad I went”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good collection of tiles, but some rooms currently closed. The 24m panorama of Lisbon pre-earthquake was worth the price of entry if one has an interest in historical towns. I found it fascinating and spent at least 30 minutes studying it. Lots of beautiful tiles, which I love. The building is a treat as well including the chapel. Well worth visiting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Tile Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Tile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Tile Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.