We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home in Lisbon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keep

The Keep
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Keep
Save
You added The Keep to your Saves list
Lisbon 1100, Portugal (Formerly Pensão Residencial Ninho das Aguias) (Castelo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 228 Hotels in Lisbon
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A home in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is like home, the owners are the nicest people and threat you like part of a family. Ninho das Aguias is a true family house. Besides that, the view is amazing and the rooms are simple but clean and honest. The location is perfect and there you can really have a feeling of the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We last visited Lisbon and the Pensao Ninho das Aguias ten years ago. It was a pleasure to find that the Eagles Nest still provides inexpensive accommodations with a 5 star view. Newer showers and bathrooms are so spotlessly maintained that we were tempted to eat off the floor. Breakfast is not served but tasty morning and lunch fare can be found on the street 50 paces from the from door. Yes, the staircase is a steep climb but that is how you get the fabulous view. Although the nearby Castelo is a major tourist attraction, the neighborhood adjacent to the pensao has a very local feeling. Don't get too attached to Pantufa the resident wiener dog. He likes the ladies. You cannot take him home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

it was a great time here in your place at the castle, visible from all around. For me and for my wife, really impressed with the view, and such a great hospitality. I really recommend staying at this house (there's a turret at the top of the house so charming, you can even see the river from there...)
Also very good location, 5 min from downtown, Alfama and Bairro Alto...nice photos on facebook if interested..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Michielsgestel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Simple authentic pension in a fairy tail like constructed house near the castle at 5 minutes walk (if in good health, cobble stones climbing up the hill) from the city center. Nice terrace with a view over part of the city.
Friendly staff and atmosphere.
Very quiet area, which is "compensated" by noise inside the house if other guests arrive/leave.
The only room left was in the basement, which is probably nice and cool during a hot summer, but now was damp. Small room (but why spend time there) and bed, but slept ok.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

First things first - this pensao is hard to get to. It sits at the top of the hill, under the castle in the Alfana district. Getting up there doesn't take long but it's steep.

Upside: It's cheap (our twin room was 30 Euro), the view is amazing (literally) and it's perfectly comfortable.

Downside: It's basic and the location is on the other side of Lisbon from the bars and clubs of the Bairro-Alto.

If I were you I'd phone ahead and see if you can get a room with a good view...that's what makes the stay worthwhile (we had room 12). Having stayed there - you can tell some of the rooms won't have it. There's no breakfast either.

On the whole - clean, comfortable...but hard to get to (especially after a night out in Lisbon drinking white wine)

Room Tip: Ask for one with a good room - ones that are at the front of the hotel. We had room number 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Reservation by phone was very easy and friendly. It was quite challenging to get there by car, but that ist the case for all of Lisboa (getting into the city was harder to get up to the Castelo S. Jorge). It is possible to get a parking place around the castelo, but that may require a some patience and a few days checking. The Pensao is located amazingly quited (closed street, so almost no cars passing!) and got a terrasse with an overwhelming view upon Lisboa (Graca at right hand). There is a spiral starway from the street to reception level (38 steps); that may require some physical activity, but means safety at the same time. And - if you want such a view, a climb must be worth it. Some of the staff are a little excentric, but that rather made us laugh. We were there to visit Lisboa, not to test the city's accomodations. We first got a room at the left side which was very quiet (with bathroom) and then went to the basement, which was not as quiet, but still all right. There was no smell or whatsoever, rooms were nice and clean. The Dona Da Casa (boss) and her husband were very, very friendly and liked to talk - a familiar atmosphere we enjoyed very much. Ninho das Aguias is a perfect base to visit Lisboa. Every evening you return 'home' you'll be treated with the amazing view - and may be a chat and some Sagres (beer) with the staff.

Try it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

what can i say? e just met this place from "let's go", saying there that it could be part of unique and fun cultural experience at bargain prices.

i've confirmed it. It is a very beautiful and friendly place with a fantastic view. i've stayed there 3 years ago and i went there again. Probably it won't be the last time.
Staff is also very nice, such a nice hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
#205 of 228 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Encarnação
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#84 of 228 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 228 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#11 of 228 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Graça
Albergaria Senhora Do Monte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Address: Lisbon 1100, Portugal (Formerly Pensão Residencial Ninho das Aguias)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 228 Hotels in Lisbon
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep is a picturesque chalet located in Castelo, the neighborhood of the famous castle of S. Jorge. Staying at The Keep is like having your own private viewpoint - either from our tower, from our outdoor terrace or from our bedrooms, you can enjoy a wonderful panorama of Lisbon. Enjoy the 360º view of the city of Lisbon from our tower! The Keep also features a lounge area. Wi-Fi is freely available. The Keep is located in Costa do Castelo, a 5 minute walk from the Castle of S. Jorge. It is located in our most famous hill, from which you will be able to enjoy a full view of the city. We are just a few minutes within walking distance or by public transportation from the downtown area, as well as the historical neighborhoods of Castelo, Alfama and Graca. Some of Lisbon's most famous Fado houses are located in the surrounding area, as well as other touristic points of interest. The Keep has a 24-hour reception. Check-ins start at 2pm and check-outs are up to 11am. We have a 48-hour notice cancellation policy. Guests that cancel their reservations within 48h of their reservation date will be charged for the first night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Ninho Das Aguias Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Ninho Das Aguias

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.