We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home in Lisbon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keep

The Keep
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Keep to your Saves list
The Keep
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costa do Castelo 74, Lisbon 1100, Portugal (Formerly Pensão Residencial Ninho das Aguias) (Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 233 Hotels in Lisbon
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A home in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is like home, the owners are the nicest people and threat you like part of a family. Ninho das Aguias is a true family house. Besides that, the view is amazing and the rooms are simple but clean and honest. The location is perfect and there you can really have a feeling of the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Midwest
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We last visited Lisbon and the Pensao Ninho das Aguias ten years ago. It was a pleasure to find that the Eagles Nest still provides inexpensive accommodations with a 5 star view. Newer showers and bathrooms are so spotlessly maintained that we were tempted to eat off the floor. Breakfast is not served but tasty morning and lunch fare can be found on the street 50 paces from the from door. Yes, the staircase is a steep climb but that is how you get the fabulous view. Although the nearby Castelo is a major tourist attraction, the neighborhood adjacent to the pensao has a very local feeling. Don't get too attached to Pantufa the resident wiener dog. He likes the ladies. You cannot take him home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank HawkeyePilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

it was a great time here in your place at the castle, visible from all around. For me and for my wife, really impressed with the view, and such a great hospitality. I really recommend staying at this house (there's a turret at the top of the house so charming, you can even see the river from there...)
Also very good location, 5 min from downtown, Alfama and Bairro Alto...nice photos on facebook if interested..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Michielsgestel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Simple authentic pension in a fairy tail like constructed house near the castle at 5 minutes walk (if in good health, cobble stones climbing up the hill) from the city center. Nice terrace with a view over part of the city.
Friendly staff and atmosphere.
Very quiet area, which is "compensated" by noise inside the house if other guests arrive/leave.
The only room left was in the basement, which is probably nice and cool during a hot summer, but now was damp. Small room (but why spend time there) and bed, but slept ok.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DutchDesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

First things first - this pensao is hard to get to. It sits at the top of the hill, under the castle in the Alfana district. Getting up there doesn't take long but it's steep.

Upside: It's cheap (our twin room was 30 Euro), the view is amazing (literally) and it's perfectly comfortable.

Downside: It's basic and the location is on the other side of Lisbon from the bars and clubs of the Bairro-Alto.

If I were you I'd phone ahead and see if you can get a room with a good view...that's what makes the stay worthwhile (we had room 12). Having stayed there - you can tell some of the rooms won't have it. There's no breakfast either.

On the whole - clean, comfortable...but hard to get to (especially after a night out in Lisbon drinking white wine)

Room Tip: Ask for one with a good room - ones that are at the front of the hotel. We had room number 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Reservation by phone was very easy and friendly. It was quite challenging to get there by car, but that ist the case for all of Lisboa (getting into the city was harder to get up to the Castelo S. Jorge). It is possible to get a parking place around the castelo, but that may require a some patience and a few days checking. The Pensao is located amazingly quited (closed street, so almost no cars passing!) and got a terrasse with an overwhelming view upon Lisboa (Graca at right hand). There is a spiral starway from the street to reception level (38 steps); that may require some physical activity, but means safety at the same time. And - if you want such a view, a climb must be worth it. Some of the staff are a little excentric, but that rather made us laugh. We were there to visit Lisboa, not to test the city's accomodations. We first got a room at the left side which was very quiet (with bathroom) and then went to the basement, which was not as quiet, but still all right. There was no smell or whatsoever, rooms were nice and clean. The Dona Da Casa (boss) and her husband were very, very friendly and liked to talk - a familiar atmosphere we enjoyed very much. Ninho das Aguias is a perfect base to visit Lisboa. Every evening you return 'home' you'll be treated with the amazing view - and may be a chat and some Sagres (beer) with the staff.

Try it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AliceBerlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

what can i say? e just met this place from "let's go", saying there that it could be part of unique and fun cultural experience at bargain prices.

i've confirmed it. It is a very beautiful and friendly place with a fantastic view. i've stayed there 3 years ago and i went there again. Probably it won't be the last time.
Staff is also very nice, such a nice hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank franhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
#210 of 233 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Safira
#125 of 233 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#100 of 233 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#57 of 233 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Lisbon City Hotel
#108 of 233 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#140 of 233 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Address: Costa do Castelo 74, Lisbon 1100, Portugal (Formerly Pensão Residencial Ninho das Aguias)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 233 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keep 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep is a picturesque chalet located in Castelo, the neighborhood of the famous castle of S. Jorge. Staying at The Keep is like having your own private viewpoint - either from our tower, from our outdoor terrace or from our bedrooms, you can enjoy a wonderful panorama of Lisbon. Enjoy the 360º view of the city of Lisbon from our tower! The Keep also features a lounge area. Wi-Fi is freely available. The Keep is located in Costa do Castelo, a 5 minute walk from the Castle of S. Jorge. It is located in our most famous hill, from which you will be able to enjoy a full view of the city. We are just a few minutes within walking distance or by public transportation from the downtown area, as well as the historical neighborhoods of Castelo, Alfama and Graca. Some of Lisbon's most famous Fado houses are located in the surrounding area, as well as other touristic points of interest. The Keep has a 24-hour reception. Check-ins start at 2pm and check-outs are up to 11am. We have a 48-hour notice cancellation policy. Guests that cancel their reservations within 48h of their reservation date will be charged for the first night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Budget Places, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Keep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Ninho Das Aguias Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Ninho Das Aguias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing