We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Britania Hotel to your Saves list
Britania Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Aerobus Transfer
Ranked #1 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
nuneaton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 day break at the hotel and I really can not fault it in any way. The hotel is beautiful with lots of character, it feels like you are in an episode of Poirot especially when enjoying the complimentary port in the drawing room!
We stayed in a superior room which was stunning and huge! The air conditioning was fantastic after returning from a hot day of sight seeing (and very quiet at night!). We never heard any noise from any other rooms whilst staying in fact it is one of the quietest hotels at night time that I've stayed in.
There was a large range of delicious food provided for breakfast including meat, cheese, cereal, fruit, pastries, yoghurts and full English. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful any request we had was dealt with in a prompt and friendly manner.
The location of the hotel is great it's far enough away from the lively centre to be peaceful but only a 5-10min stroll to get to the main hub of restaurants etc. There are several bistros and restaurants closer but I can't comment on quality as we never visited them. Can highly recommend the banana bar kiosks for quick drinks on the way home at night though as they often have cheaper drinks and different djs playing nightly. I highly recommend this delightful hotel if you are looking for a fantastic and luxurious break!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    185
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
110
859
58
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A small hotel with helpful staff, in a great location. The centre of Lisbon is within 10 minutes walking distance but the metro stop is two minutes away. The room was large considering the location and the bathroom was clean and well stocked. There is a lounge downstairs where they serve port in the afternoons. Great value hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed at the Britania for four nights with my partner last week.
I agree with all that everyone else has written, the hotel is lovely, quiet, rooms are spacious, (although the view from our room was onto an office block), bathroom was large and shampoos, soaps etc were replenished regularly.Tea and coffee making facilities available, which is quite difficult to find in European hotels. Beds very comfortable/ air conditioning surprisingly quiet and room was spotlessly clean.
What sets the hotel apart from others are the staff who are truly wonderful. Marcus was always smiling and willing to help us with queries we had. Receptionists were informative and polite. Sandros was extremely helpful and we enjoyed his little chats with us in the evenings when we were sipping our ports. Breakfasts were ample and catered for all tastes and there was a very nice lady who served us with a smile each day.
We loved the ambience that the hotel manages to create. Free port and pastries was greatly appreciated after sightseeing. The location was fine for us as we walked to the metro which is very close and taxis are very cheap. Well done Britania Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spent only one night at this lovely hotel (and two nights a week later at its sister hotel, Heritage Avenida Liberdade) and were sorry we couldn't have stayed longer. From the charming and helpful front desk staff to the period decor, the whole experience was restful, pleasant, and luxurious. The sheets were so comfy, and the curtains made the room really dark at night. Of the three hotels we stayed in while in Portugal, this one had the best breakfast (the croissants were especially good), but I'm not sure that breakfast is the country's most interesting meal. There was certainly plenty to choose from: breads, cheeses, eggs, cereals, fruit, and so forth. The location, while not on a scenic street, is only a block from Avenida Liberdade and very central to the historic parts of Lisbon -- an easy if hilly walk to the main squares and to the Bairro Alto, Alfama, and Chiado districts. We would definitely stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was my fourth trip to Lisbon and the Britania is, by far, the best hotel that I've stayed in in that city. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and very comfortable with some of the trimmings, dressing gowns and slippers, of a five star hotel. I read someone's comments that the walls are thin and the air conditioning noisy which is the complete opposite of my experience. I suffered very little internal or external noise during my stay (and I sleep with the windows open) and the air conditioning was the quietest and most effective that I've come across in over 1200 room nights!
I received complimentary breakfasts as part of my room rate and, while not exceptional, there was a good selection and the very pleasant dining room staff were always prepared to make me fresh eggs. Incredibly, they'll happily serve breakfast up until midday! Speaking of the staff, what a nice group of people; from the front desk to the room cleaners I was always made to feel welcome and special. I do have to single out Marco, one of the concierges, who was helpfulness personified.
Rua Rodrigues Sampaio is not the nicest looking street in the city but it's generally quiet and only about 50 metres from Avenida Liberdade and the metro station there and, from my perspective, that makes it just about ideally situated.
I'm not a huge fan of the art deco style, it's simply not to my taste, but the only reason that I won't be staying at this wonderful boutique hotel the next time that I'm in Lisbon is because there are four other hotels in the Heritage group in the city and I'd love to try them all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel.has it all.Position,service,decor,good breakfast and spotless rooms.The art deco styled hotel has been tastefully decorated in keeping with the building it's great.If one of you is over 55 you can get the golden oldies deal which includes free breakfast.We found the location central to all transport and restaurants and shops.The price makes it excellant value and it's no surprise that it rates so highlyon trip advisor.
Greg Cronan.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for the first night of our holiday and then a couple of nights later as part of a week spent in Portugal combining city and beach.
The hotel is quirky and there are lots of period details, very Poirot-esq feel to it. Rooms and bathrooms were very generous size and it did feel like a luxury hotel (which you would expect for the stars and price!). However, the walls are thin and you could hear normal conversations from the rooms above - woke me at 5.30am one day, so not appreciated! Air-con in the room made a noise but didn't seem to cool very well.
Reception staff were just average - I certainly didn't see this amazingly friendly service which others have mentioned.
Also, when we came back after a day sight seeing at 3.30pm our room had not yet been cleaned. When I phoned reception to tell them they said it was because they were fully booked and that sometimes rooms didn't get done until 4.30pm. Not good enough in my opinion for a hotel of this quality.
Breakfast was excellent, very high quality products and good choice.
Overall, I would stay that it didn't live up to the rave reviews here and if I were to visit Lisbon again I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.