We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room! Excellent Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britania Hotel

Save Saved
You added Britania Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britania Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Aerobus Transfer
Ranked #1 of 218 hotels in Lisbon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Big room! Excellent Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We are staying here for 4 days and we are coming back for our last day in Portugal!

The hotel has a Good location, breakfast is good, they even have a nespresso machine!

Staff is very friendly and they always seems surprised we speak Portuguese (it seems not a lot of Brazilians stay here)!

Would stay here again for sure. In fact, we are coming back for the last day of our trip and for this I'm glad!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,035
    170
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
101
792
55
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The staff here are what makes it so special..the ladies at reception are extremely knowledgable and helpful. The rooms are small, but modern and clean..ours had a really nice balcony. The lift works (lucky as it was on the 6th floor). Breakfast is lovely, everything you could need. Great location, one street back from the main avenue...wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We had a 6th floor room with a great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Tucked away in a street behind the luxury fashion houses, this classy yet understated boutique hotel was perfect for our 3 night stay in Lisbon. Staff were helpful and welcoming, the public areas tastefully decorated with a library of books. Our superior room was spacious and comfortable with excellent amenities. Breakfast fantastic and lovely service from the staff. The 10minute walk to the old town is a pleasant walk along a wide tree lined boulevarde. Metro and open top tourist bus stop a short distance from hotel. Loved being close to the action but in a quiet location.

Room Tip: Superior room is worth the money. Plenty of room, complimentary bathrobes and slippers. Showerhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Really great staff here, you could not find any more cheerful and friendly, as well as helpful staff. Nothing was any trouble for any of them,
The Hotel is central, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We were very happy with our choice and our stay.

We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed three nights at the britannia on our first visit to Lisbon and it was an ideal choice.

It is on a quiet nondescript road just off the main avenue in Lisbon, and is not a lot to look at from outside

Inside it is a different story - lovely Art Deco feel, lots of nice touches however all in great condition

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a twin when we arrived however they sorted us out a double in no time.

Breakfasts were fabulous and plentiful, the afternoon tea was very pleasant and the port provided always welcome after dinner.

Overall a great stay - definitely recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Convenient hotel, 10 minutes walking distance from the center of the city. Beautifully decorated room, large comfortable bathroom, all the necessary amenities, extremely quiet and peaceful. The staff was courteous, helpful and accommodating. Did not use the dining facilities, so cannot comment on that. Otherwise, greatly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel could not come more highly recommended. All being well-traveled individuals, my grandfather, mother and I just recently returned from our stay in Lisbon and all agree that we could not have stayed at a more accomodating, helpful and friendly hotel. We stayed for 6 nights and had a perfect experience. Enough could not be said about the absolutely outstanding service we recieved from the concierge men and women, especially Raquel and Ana. Not only were they extremely helpful in planning a well-rounded trip in and around Lisbon, they made sure that we felt as if we were at home. I felt that we were constantly returning eager to share our eventful trips and experiences with the hotel staff who felt like family. We were sad to leave them come the end of our trip. This aspect alone would make this hotel worth-while, however, this is not the only thing the hotel has to offer. The hotel itself could not be more clean. All of us were extremely impressed at the prompt, quick and thorough cleaning of our BEAUTIFUL rooms. We were all surprised when even our shoes had been perfectly aligned upon returning from a day trip. The hotel is also in an excellent location just off the beautiful Avenida Liberdade and a short walk to the excitement. Needless to say, if we were to return to Lisbon, this would certainly be the place we'd stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.