We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Britania Hotel to your Saves list
Britania Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Aerobus Transfer
Ranked #1 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A magnificently restored art deco building, the Britania would be a winner just for its courteous, friendly, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable staff. One block from the Metro and from the elegant Avenida Liberdada, close to the Rossio train station (to Sintra) and to squares with buses everywhere, the location is centrally located and within easy reach of all the major neighborhoods.

Wonderful breakfast!

Room Tip: Spring for the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    185
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
110
859
58
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clontarf, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were very impressed from the moment we walked up to the front desk. Friendly staff who welcomed us, and made sure everything was just right. The room was just beautiful, clean, and large. Marble decor made it stunning to look at. We were away a month in Western Europe, and this was undoubtedly one of the best places we had stayed. It's close to the primary avenue, Avenida da Liberdade (Liberty Avenue) an important avenue in central Lisbon leading to restaurants, bars, attractions, and the river. The metro is less than 5mins walk away, and the overground train 10mins walk. Easy access to sightseeing bus tours. The staff will go out of their way to assist to make your stay in Lisbon a memorable one. It's one street back from Avenida da Liberdade, and as such very quiet. Great breakfast catering for all tastes is available on premises as well. Good WiFi reception and at no charge. Very well priced, and all up, a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was so impressed with every component of this hotel. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious, and well appointed. I loved the cork floor! The bathrooms are clean and "period", so not sleek and snazzy. The breakfast buffet was generous, and they offered tea in the afternoon. The staff was AMAZING! From the minute we checked in to the minute we left, they treated us like we were their most valued customers. The only thing lacking was outdoor space......a roof top lounge would have put this hotel over-the-top! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Well, Bedale, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been to Lisbon countless times in the past but this was the first time I had stayed here, picking the hotel from Tripadvisor reviews. Our experience supported what we had read. The standard of service was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble and everything was done in such a manner that you felt really comfortable. The rooms were a good size, superbly air-conditioned, good range of TV channels and. FREE wifi in the rooms. There was a free afternoon tea, excellent after walking around Lisbon heat. Now the Breakfast, it's served until noon! The fruit etc is continually topped up so there is no fear that if you come down for a later relaxing breakfast there will be shortages.
All the staff were excellent, extremely well trained, helpful and friendly.
Overall an excellent experience and we hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swords, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Is this the best hotel in Lisbon? Probably. I was amazed by the place - the welcome when we arrived, the stunning, art-deco room, the cleanliness, the location, the peace and quiet! And did I mention the price? The lazy breakfast times the high quality, free wifi, the brilliant doorman looking after our car? Britania easily lives up to its reviews and deserves them all!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Like all the other reviews have pointed out the Britania is a gem. With only thirty rooms it is very cosy, the staff attentive, and are happy to help all the time without being obsequious or intrusive; Marco being the stand out. The keep a quite note of what you have whether it be a drink or a sandwich without the intrusive signing of vouchers etc. We were there for eight days and in a hotel like this, it removes the stress of the accommodation part of holiday. The value for money is very good (5 nights at E111 and three more at E140) and the attention to detail quite something. While we did not avail ourselves of a glass or two from the two carafes of port they have (on the house) there for the guest to sample at their leisure; it was nevertheless an example of the nice touches the Britania provides. The location jus behind the upmarket shopping area with Lois Vouton literally around the corner, is perfect; and buses and metro very near.

Very few nit picks except for a 4am call to my home in Australia to confirm my booking, but proufound apologies for not checking the time zone. Maybe an email confirmation would safe them phone call costs and time zone embarrassments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Britania Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words which we were all very satisfied to read.
It is our main concern that our guests feel welcome and also have all the assistance they require.
Once again please accept our apologies for the night call which was a mistake from our part.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Britania.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent the first four nights of our Honeymoon in the Britania and could not have asked for more. Our room was very spacious, with a balcony and a large terrace with lounge chairs. We spent the end of every night in Lisbon relaxing on the terrace drinking wine or champagne. The common space in the hotel is beautiful, the staff is extremely helpful, without being overbearing, and there is a very nice afternoon tea every day. We found the location ideal to explore many different neighborhoods in Lisbon and had a number of great restaurants nearby, Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.