We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading Glory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of York House

Save Saved
You added York House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
York House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Janelas Verdes 32, Lisbon 1200-691, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fading Glory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had heard great things about this hotel so we booked it for three nights in October 2012. We booked the best room which is a 2 storey suite with a private terrace looking out to the river. This suite is beautiful but has problems. We thought the smell of mould would dissipate after a day with windows open. It did not. There were water blisters in the wall from a leak somewhere. We saw piles of sawdust along the baseboards. Termites! Thankfully they stayed within the walls. This room has no wifi service whereas others do have it. After 2 nights we requested to change rooms to a less expensive room. This was in the main building and it was perfect. Clean, spacious, a better bathroom and shower and wifi. It appears that the hotel is slipping in its level of care and maintenance. The management thought nothing of our concerns about the first suite. This was disappointing. On a positive note the dining room is still excellent though pricey. The courtyard and entry stair is beautiful. The staff were helpful with bags. Location is slightly far from the centre but we enjoyed the 45 minute walks into the core.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    58
    30
    17
    4
See reviews for
11
76
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Charming photos and it is lovely, but some of the rooms are dingy and the service is variable. One front desk person was bored and inconvenienced by having to give us directions. Many items in the rooms and bathrooms (lights, towel bar, electric outlets) were not functioning. They also padded the bill so watch carefully. Also, they called a taxi at our departure, although we had declined, and the taxi driver charged us 10 euros for waiting time. The breakfast setting is lovely but the food quality is less than expected for a hotel that purports to be luxurious (the only fresh fruit, in a land of fresh fruit everywhere, were less than fresh apples). Overpriced for the actual quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Insist on the modern rooms, the "classic" ones are dark and a bit dingy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Paris
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

the pros- this is an olde worlde hotel with a magnificent courtyard with a very comfortable sofa (I had my siesta there whilst waiting in the afternoon before leaving), the location is good you can find something open to eat not far from the hotel in the small hours of the night and almost next door is a wonderful brazilian restaurant (a little pricey by lisbon standards but wonderful food and good service), the staff in the hotel were correct and i heard them being very helpful to clients. They also helped us to surprise our friends who were getting married by letting us into their rooms to decorate it.

the rooms are all very different, my room had space but wasnt well used space, the twin beds were almost a double bed and the room could have been better distributed

the cons - considering the price of the hotel i found the room service and mini bar slighty exaggerated for lisbon prices, there was also mould around the window frames in the room andbatgroom which gave a dirty /dated look to the room
the stairs are a lot to get access but a porter carries your baggage up and down and they are not partcularly steep, just a lot.

I had a room on the entrance floor but others also had problems with inside stairs as they could be a bit slippery. the 2 roomed suite with its own terrasse had an amazing view and I would recommend this is you have no problem with stairs. The air conditioning was not very efficient so be wary of this if you stay in the very hot summer months, especially as it could be a little noisy with the window open.

Next door to the hotel is a really interesting 2nd hand and handmade craft shop worth looking in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is set up in a great location. The historic building and the beautiful courtyard are really fabulous. Unfortunately, however, the service is poor and the staff is often grumpy or outright unfriendly. An exception seems to be housekeeping: the rooms were always impeccable in terms of cleanliness. Given the prices the service quality (if services are available at all) are clearly below standards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel was alright. Friendly staff at reception, comfortable bed and a very pretty outdoor seating area, where breakfast is served each morning.
It is conveniently located between the city centre and the south western area of Belem, where there is a delightful array of museums, art galleries (not to mention the world famous custard tart bakeries). However, it would have been easier to be nearer to more cafes and bars (absolutely everything we wanted to do was a bus ride away). The breakfast was also over priced for what it was. On one day, there were ants crawling around the cheese.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in this old style monastery, the top benefit was after climbing the steps you quickly escape the city centre noise and could be out in the country. The style is nice and rooms in pretty good shape for an old place, I would go back. Definitely a place to go to relax and escape the centre!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Nice place to be when you are spending time in lisbon. Old buildind like a secret place in the center of lisbon. Ask a room far from the entrance to avoid constent noise made by people with their keys. Some of the room have been reniewed, ask for it. Enjoy your breakfeast in the center of the hotel. Be carefull, lot of stairs not made for people having difficulties to walk or use stairs

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 32, Lisbon 1200-691, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 17th century Convent converted to a homey Pension encompassing a patio & gardens overlooking river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York House Hotel Lisbon
York Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.