We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Save Saved
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #6 of 218 hotels in Lisbon
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exquisit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Best place to stay in Lisbon! The decoration is wonderful and you feel like an old lady in your mansion. The service is above four stars and near perfection. The breakfast is completed with the most fresh and crispy "pasteis de nata". The concierge desk helped us booking the good restaurants nearby. We will come back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    70
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
214
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at this lovely hotel. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and I had emailed asking for a nice room! When we checked in the very helpful receptionist knew it was our anniversary and couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. All the people on reception (we saw 3 over 3 days) spoke English and always had time to help.In fact all the staff were really friendly.
The location is slightly away from the centre, which we liked. We also loved the breakfast which was included. (Wonderful fresh fruit salad included.) Our room was great and we loved the library with the honesty bar.
All in all a real success and highly recommended if you want a family run hotel that doesn't feel like its part of a big chain.

Room Tip: Room 35 on 3rd floor more like a junior suite. Didnt see any other rooms so don't know how it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place. Comfortable - lovely lounge area nicely furnished, the library on the third floor with honesty bar and a small kitchen to make tea and coffee and an open terrace overlooking the river. Rooms are comfortable with bathrooms having Molton Brown toiletries, cotton robes and slippers and fresh towels everyday. There is also a complimentary carafe of port
The breakfasts are delicious - fresh fruit salad, cheese,meat bread and pastries and freshly squeezed orange juice. Also cooked items if you want them
You can eat in the dining area or go out into the sunny courtyard
One of the nicest places I have ever stayed !
As a matter if interest - taxi from the airport 10 euro

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish in Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Building is beautiful with a wonderful staircase & old features which have been maintained e.g. large fireplaces. The courtyard was a lovely sunny breakfast spot, while the breakfast itself was very good with excellent Pasteis de Nata. The hotel's location is in a quiet street & it is a 15/20 minute walk to the Barrio Alto. Friendly, helpful staff. We enjoyed a complimentary glass of port from the carafe in our room each evening.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We took a room overlooking the Tejo for two nights. The bed is large with cotton sheets, small amount of noise from the road down by the river but the double glazing is excellent. We even had a small balcony. Bathroom is huge and clean. Wifi worked well everywhere. The 'library' on the roof is very pleasant - works on an honesty bar system. Breakfast was a reasonable 10E with good coffee - some hot food but mostly a good range of cold things.
All in all highly recommended - easy bus or tram or walk into town and a great Museum next door!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Do you intend to come and visit Lisbon? Yes? So you must stay in Janelas Verdes close to Tagus river and just next door to the Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga (Museum).
This is a family type of Hotel, extremely cosy. you barely see the employees.
Breakfast is served on the ground floor from 7:30 am to 12:00pm and it's great.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the Tagus river and other facing the street. Ask for the river facing with be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We travelled as a couple in April 2013. This hotel was not in the city centre but the bus connection was reasonably priced and there was never a long wait. The service was very good and the tiny details like a bottle of port wine in our room were nice surprises. There was a library on the top floor with a nice view off the balcony and a self-service bar with coffee, tea, drinks etc. The room was comfortable and the breakfast buffet very much to our liking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Janelas Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;