We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #5 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place. Comfortable - lovely lounge area nicely furnished, the library on the third floor with honesty bar and a small kitchen to make tea and coffee and an open terrace overlooking the river. Rooms are comfortable with bathrooms having Molton Brown toiletries, cotton robes and slippers and fresh towels everyday. There is also a complimentary carafe of port
The breakfasts are delicious - fresh fruit salad, cheese,meat bread and pastries and freshly squeezed orange juice. Also cooked items if you want them
You can eat in the dining area or go out into the sunny courtyard
One of the nicest places I have ever stayed !
As a matter if interest - taxi from the airport 10 euro

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    83
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
265
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irish in Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Building is beautiful with a wonderful staircase & old features which have been maintained e.g. large fireplaces. The courtyard was a lovely sunny breakfast spot, while the breakfast itself was very good with excellent Pasteis de Nata. The hotel's location is in a quiet street & it is a 15/20 minute walk to the Barrio Alto. Friendly, helpful staff. We enjoyed a complimentary glass of port from the carafe in our room each evening.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We took a room overlooking the Tejo for two nights. The bed is large with cotton sheets, small amount of noise from the road down by the river but the double glazing is excellent. We even had a small balcony. Bathroom is huge and clean. Wifi worked well everywhere. The 'library' on the roof is very pleasant - works on an honesty bar system. Breakfast was a reasonable 10E with good coffee - some hot food but mostly a good range of cold things.
All in all highly recommended - easy bus or tram or walk into town and a great Museum next door!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Do you intend to come and visit Lisbon? Yes? So you must stay in Janelas Verdes close to Tagus river and just next door to the Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga (Museum).
This is a family type of Hotel, extremely cosy. you barely see the employees.
Breakfast is served on the ground floor from 7:30 am to 12:00pm and it's great.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the Tagus river and other facing the street. Ask for the river facing with be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We travelled as a couple in April 2013. This hotel was not in the city centre but the bus connection was reasonably priced and there was never a long wait. The service was very good and the tiny details like a bottle of port wine in our room were nice surprises. There was a library on the top floor with a nice view off the balcony and a self-service bar with coffee, tea, drinks etc. The room was comfortable and the breakfast buffet very much to our liking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We absolutely loved the hotel because of its comfortable rooms and lovely library with coffee, tea and goodies on tap. We used it as our sitting room. Wifi worked well so we could stay in touch with family and work. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only downside is the neighborhood which has seen better days.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor and the library is next door whIch is just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind words about our staff and our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As Janelas Verdes is located in a residential area in a triangle formed by the aristocratic Lapa district, the popular Bairro da Madragoa (adjacent to Bairro Alto) and Santos-o-Velho. They are very old and characteristic quarters near the river Tagus and many of the houses and buildings are now being restored.
Thank you once more and we look forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at As Janelas Verdes for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Lisbon. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The hotel itself was a short tram ride into the centre, but the area it was located in had some great local restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Janelas Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.