We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #6 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint and cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Lovely little hotel, something a bit different from all the big commercial 'same old same old'. Comfy room. Friendly and warm staff. Complimentary port, Nespresso coffee machine & tea... a great idea. Lovely to read in the library. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    83
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
261
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Very good situated location. A great starting point to discover Lissabon.
The hotel is very nice and the service very helpful.
Breakfast very complete and the room great to relax after a whole day walking trip, bath included.
The common bibliotheque is a must see during your stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel. We said to ourselves that if we are ever going to come back to Lisbon, we'll stay at As Janelas Verdes. We had a room with a balcony and a view out to the river (room #10). It was spacious with a really warm and cosy atmosphere. The people at the reception talked really good English and were extremely helpful and welcoming. We once took the bus downtown (it was packed with people), not a long ride, and walked another time (just missed the bus). The walk was nice but took longer than we thought (perhaps about ½ hour or so). The breakfast was really tasty and the breakfast room was like the dining room at your friends' house.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The As Janelas Verdes is a beautiful heritage hotel on the west side of downtown Lisbon. Close to the national museum and on the same road as buses to and from Belem. Plenty of eateries nearby. Rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious and clean and the many communal areas such as the 3rd floor library and the thoughtful honour bars throughout are a lovely touch.

Room Tip: A room on the 3rd floor puts you close to a lovely llibrary and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Old world charm and gracious hospitality made us fans. The hotel gave us an upgrade to a suite overlooking the river. The suite had a large, comfortable bedroom, a small room with tea service and storage, and a marble bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. The coffee and breakfast foods were copious and delicious. Note: This hotel is not close to most tourist attractions, but we got to sample local life by walking to really good restaurants, recommended by the hotel. The location works best for those with private transportation, though it is on a bus line. In advance of our stay, the hotel responded quickly to my request for recommendations for private tour services. We used two of the three and they were very good indeed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

we stayed here from Jan 2-4 at the end of a weeks break in Portugal. this is a gem of a small hotel with great ambiance and outstanding staff, from the reception team the cleaning team to the night porter who helped us as we left at silly o'clock on Saturday morning. loved the stay, easy to find and close to busses, trams and taxis

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muchen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The best staff I ever met in may traveler life. Discretly helpfull, kind and frendly! They make our stay perfect. They give us marvelous tips about what to visit, were to shop and, abouve all were to spend Saint Silvester eve- the best tradicional small restaurant near by in Madragoa barrio. We spent there the most special eve, with great food and return there three times! Thank you all in Janelas Verdes. We recomend you to our friends and be back very soon!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Splendia, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Janelas Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.