We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be recommanded” 5 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 228 Hotels in Lisbon
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“To be recommanded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very pleasant hotel where you can feel at home. Great quality of food, breakfast of course but also room service (simple and at a reasonnable price). For breakfast there is a great choice of breads, cakes (even pasteis), juices, eggs, fresh fruit salad...and it is available up to 12.00. Place is quiet, staff efficient and not too present. The terrasse offers a wonderful view up to the Tage. Tea or coffee is available the whole day, compliments of the hotel. Bus connections are good and direct for most places ( Gulbenkian, Oceanorium, Belem, City center): You can find some spots to have a meal not too far away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the river and precise you want it quiet (not facing street) I would sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    97
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
323
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at this small Hotel at the end of October, and it really deserves to be awarded.
As requested. we were given a double room, but as it faced the road, I asked for another room and we were given a twin, with a view of the river. It was on the second floor, had a big window and although a Standard , it was a very good size.I t had a little hallway as you walked in.
The Hotel is beautifully decorated, like an English Country House, with comfy sofas and flowers, and there are newspapers you can sit and read. The Library on the 3rd floor is lovely, and welcoming with Nespresso coffee and biscuits and cakes on offer most of the day.We would go there and relax in between sightseeing. Because the Hotel is small and cozy, you could actually chat to other guests up there.Yes it is not in the centre of Lisbon. But it is next door to a must see Museum, and there are 2 buses which stop outside to take you to Belem, where most of the other Museums are.I would definitely stay there again, and will recommend it to friends. The Breakfast was the best we had in Lisbon, because we have stayed in 2 other Hotels there. It is well worth getting a room with a River view.

Room Tip: A view of the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at As Janelas Verdes for 2 nights on our honeymoon and it was one of the nicest hotels I have been to. We arrived very early having caught the sleeper train from Madrid and expected to have to wait for our room but it was all ready with a complimentary upgrade to a stunning spacious room with lovely views. Everywhere was very clean, comfortable and the staff lovely, nothing was too much trouble as all they want is for you to enjoy your stay. The terraced balcony, was comfortable and a real sun trap! I had never seen honesty bars before in a hotel and thought it was a great idea and there are complimentary nibbles and homemade biscuits to go with your drink. Breakfast was served in the garden and there was plenty of choice and of good quality. The hotel is in a convenient location to either walk into Lisbon centre or hop on a trolley bus. We thought Lisbon was wonderful and when we go back we will stay again at As Janelas Verdes as we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our second time in As Janelas Verdes and once again it was brilliant. The staff, the room, the port, the honesty bar,the breakfast... excellent.The atmosphere in the hotel is so relaxed, by far the best hotel i've ever stayed in. Will be back !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was recommended by our travel agent. It was a great value with beautiful historically furnished rooms, plentiful tasty breakfasts, and wonderful harbor views. Away from main tourist centers but easy walk or public transportation to city center. A wonderful surprise.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Ct
Level Contributor
127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

After staying so many times in York House we decided to try the Janella Verde, located just across the street. The place has all the charm of a small hotel with luxurious rooms, friendly staff, personal service and no traffic of multiple guests in and out. The view from the upper floor balcony is spectacular, a carafe of porto-wine in the room delicious, bathroom elegant and very practical. The disappointment was with terms of reservation. We were asked if we had wished to have breakfast, allegedly included in the rate. We confirmed breakfast at reservation. At the checkout an attempt was made to charge a hefty price for breakfast ( over 20% of the room rate). After I adamantly objected the charge was never made but unpleasant feelings remained. The hotel has several pricing options and, unless you copy an advance booking you may be left in limbo and face a surprise at the bottom line.

Room Tip: "Classic room" with queen bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy that you liked our staff and our property. Concerning our rates, we try to have everything very clear (what is included and not in each rate) and if there is any mistake, we try to immediately rectify the situation. We try very hard to avoid any mistake but unfortunately they can occur and we look for the better solution to solve it as quick as possible. We apologize if this was the case and we look forward to welcoming you again and offer you a totally satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a wonderful time we had in Lisbon, staying at the As Janelas Verdes. Nothing was too much trouble for the very helpful staff. Our room was delightful - spacious with a lovely decor and splendid views. The library and its balcony were beautifully appointed and the complimentary tea/coffee and honesty bar much appreciated - especially for that early morning cuppa! The complementary port too was a lovely touch. Breakfasts were excellent, of really good quality - and plentiful. We asked for restaurant recommendations, and all three were superb - and we would never have found them on our own. We could not recommend a hotel more highly. This is one of the best in which we have ever stayed. Thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.4 mi away
Britania Hotel
Britania Hotel
#2 of 228 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
1.2 mi away
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#3 of 228 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#8 of 228 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valverde Hotel
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 228 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Janelas Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.