We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Save Saved
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #6 of 218 hotels in Lisbon
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at this small Hotel at the end of October, and it really deserves to be awarded.
As requested. we were given a double room, but as it faced the road, I asked for another room and we were given a twin, with a view of the river. It was on the second floor, had a big window and although a Standard , it was a very good size.I t had a little hallway as you walked in.
The Hotel is beautifully decorated, like an English Country House, with comfy sofas and flowers, and there are newspapers you can sit and read. The Library on the 3rd floor is lovely, and welcoming with Nespresso coffee and biscuits and cakes on offer most of the day.We would go there and relax in between sightseeing. Because the Hotel is small and cozy, you could actually chat to other guests up there.Yes it is not in the centre of Lisbon. But it is next door to a must see Museum, and there are 2 buses which stop outside to take you to Belem, where most of the other Museums are.I would definitely stay there again, and will recommend it to friends. The Breakfast was the best we had in Lisbon, because we have stayed in 2 other Hotels there. It is well worth getting a room with a River view.

Room Tip: A view of the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    70
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
214
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at As Janelas Verdes for 2 nights on our honeymoon and it was one of the nicest hotels I have been to. We arrived very early having caught the sleeper train from Madrid and expected to have to wait for our room but it was all ready with a complimentary upgrade to a stunning spacious room with lovely views. Everywhere was very clean, comfortable and the staff lovely, nothing was too much trouble as all they want is for you to enjoy your stay. The terraced balcony, was comfortable and a real sun trap! I had never seen honesty bars before in a hotel and thought it was a great idea and there are complimentary nibbles and homemade biscuits to go with your drink. Breakfast was served in the garden and there was plenty of choice and of good quality. The hotel is in a convenient location to either walk into Lisbon centre or hop on a trolley bus. We thought Lisbon was wonderful and when we go back we will stay again at As Janelas Verdes as we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our second time in As Janelas Verdes and once again it was brilliant. The staff, the room, the port, the honesty bar,the breakfast... excellent.The atmosphere in the hotel is so relaxed, by far the best hotel i've ever stayed in. Will be back !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was recommended by our travel agent. It was a great value with beautiful historically furnished rooms, plentiful tasty breakfasts, and wonderful harbor views. Away from main tourist centers but easy walk or public transportation to city center. A wonderful surprise.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Ct
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

After staying so many times in York House we decided to try the Janella Verde, located just across the street. The place has all the charm of a small hotel with luxurious rooms, friendly staff, personal service and no traffic of multiple guests in and out. The view from the upper floor balcony is spectacular, a carafe of porto-wine in the room delicious, bathroom elegant and very practical. The disappointment was with terms of reservation. We were asked if we had wished to have breakfast, allegedly included in the rate. We confirmed breakfast at reservation. At the checkout an attempt was made to charge a hefty price for breakfast ( over 20% of the room rate). After I adamantly objected the charge was never made but unpleasant feelings remained. The hotel has several pricing options and, unless you copy an advance booking you may be left in limbo and face a surprise at the bottom line.

Room Tip: "Classic room" with queen bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy that you liked our staff and our property. Concerning our rates, we try to have everything very clear (what is included and not in each rate) and if there is any mistake, we try to immediately rectify the situation. We try very hard to avoid any mistake but unfortunately they can occur and we look for the better solution to solve it as quick as possible. We apologize if this was the case and we look forward to welcoming you again and offer you a totally satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a wonderful time we had in Lisbon, staying at the As Janelas Verdes. Nothing was too much trouble for the very helpful staff. Our room was delightful - spacious with a lovely decor and splendid views. The library and its balcony were beautifully appointed and the complimentary tea/coffee and honesty bar much appreciated - especially for that early morning cuppa! The complementary port too was a lovely touch. Breakfasts were excellent, of really good quality - and plentiful. We asked for restaurant recommendations, and all three were superb - and we would never have found them on our own. We could not recommend a hotel more highly. This is one of the best in which we have ever stayed. Thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having travelled to many places in Europe staying in small rooms, my husband and I were excited when we arrived at the Janelas Verdes. Not only was our room spacious but it was beautiful as well. The attention to detail was amazing! Our room was on the third floor down the hall from the guest library and close to the kitchen which was provided for guests.
The staff was so friendly and ready to assist us with any request including the recommendation for a restuarant for us to celebrate our anniversary!
There was an honor bar in the small kitchen and another in the library as well as cookies and other snacks to munch on.
The library also had a nice terrace where you could sit or stand and take in the view over the river.
Although we had a car we parked it in the hotel garage and took the bus everywhere as the stop was conveniently right outside of the hotel and took us everywhere we needed to go.
Breakfast was wonderful and had a nice selection including our favourite Portugese custard tarts.
We could not have asked for anything more and this has become our favourite hotel!!!
Lorri and Harold

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Janelas Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.