We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Museum
Ranked #6 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a wonderful time we had in Lisbon, staying at the As Janelas Verdes. Nothing was too much trouble for the very helpful staff. Our room was delightful - spacious with a lovely decor and splendid views. The library and its balcony were beautifully appointed and the complimentary tea/coffee and honesty bar much appreciated - especially for that early morning cuppa! The complementary port too was a lovely touch. Breakfasts were excellent, of really good quality - and plentiful. We asked for restaurant recommendations, and all three were superb - and we would never have found them on our own. We could not recommend a hotel more highly. This is one of the best in which we have ever stayed. Thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    89
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
285
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having travelled to many places in Europe staying in small rooms, my husband and I were excited when we arrived at the Janelas Verdes. Not only was our room spacious but it was beautiful as well. The attention to detail was amazing! Our room was on the third floor down the hall from the guest library and close to the kitchen which was provided for guests.
The staff was so friendly and ready to assist us with any request including the recommendation for a restuarant for us to celebrate our anniversary!
There was an honor bar in the small kitchen and another in the library as well as cookies and other snacks to munch on.
The library also had a nice terrace where you could sit or stand and take in the view over the river.
Although we had a car we parked it in the hotel garage and took the bus everywhere as the stop was conveniently right outside of the hotel and took us everywhere we needed to go.
Breakfast was wonderful and had a nice selection including our favourite Portugese custard tarts.
We could not have asked for anything more and this has become our favourite hotel!!!
Lorri and Harold

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and i have over the years stayed in other Lisbon hotels. As Janelas Verdes is by far the best. Small, welcoming and helpful staff, a comfortable bedroom, well appointed public rooms - the third floor library highlighted by other reviews has stunning views across the Tagus (despite docks in the right foreground) and is outstanding, with its good furniture and thoroughly comfortable chairs.. A high standard of buffet breakfast in the ground floor dining room.. There are good typical Portuguese restaurants within easy walking distance. Maybe it is away from the very centre of the city but Lisbon is relatively small and compact and everywhere can be reached in a short, inexpensive taxi ride, or better still in a characterful tram (watch out for pickpockets on the 28!) Two minimal shortcomings - the water was not always as hot as it could have been and the single lift is very slow.

Room Tip: As for a room with river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I work as a tour guide and this year alone must have stayed in near 100 hotels. Jalenas Verdes gets the nod as my favourite. The highlight is the 3rd floor library-balcony with its superb ambiance and honesty bar. It was a real highlight of the day coming back here for a nightcap and just relaxing utterly. The service is excellent - wonderful, attentive staff. The breakfasts great (though the room can get a little crowded) and the rooms big and comfortable. The hotel is part of a small chain in Lisbon, so next time I might look into one of their 'sister' hotels. But Jalenas Verdes - best hotel of 2013! Thank you

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Based on the reviews in TA I expected a nice hotel. It was that and more. We arrived mid morning and not only did they have a room ready for us they also invited us to take advantage of their fantastic breakfast in their beautiful back patio. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. This is a beautiful hotel and the library/patio on the third floor overlooking the river is the perfect place to wind down at the end of the day.
While mention was made of the out of the way location, it really was not so and convenient bus or taxi connections to both downtown Lisbon and Behlem. Interesting restaurants in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilboa, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great hotel with gracious amenities. Truly charming and helpful stall. Right next to the big national museum. One can imagine Lisbon at the time of Ricardo Reais, the character in the Saramago novel, who lives in such a hotel, views the harbor, broods about the meaning of life and literature, and falls in love.

Room Tip: Some rooms might overlook the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are looking for a slick and contemporary hotel, As Janelas Verdas is not your place. But it was definitely ours. We were lucky enough to get a room on the 3rd floor near the library. Everything about this boutique hotel oozed comfort and charm. Our room even had a sitting area where a crystal decanter of port was topped off every evening. The wood library, with its comfortable furniture, honor bar and balcony, with stunning views of the river and port, was totally inviting and only steps away. The secluded rear garden was ideal for lingering over a delicious buffet breakfast and the staff were all efficient; friendly and helpful and the local restaurants they recommended were terrific. It was the perfect Lisbon experience, being out of the tourist area yet only a stone's throw away from buses, trams and taxis. We loved the place!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 35
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Janelas Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.