We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Save Saved
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #6 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A few hotels make a visit to a new city really worthwhile : AS Janelas Verdes is one such. We had an unusually welcome time here - the location is ideal, on a quiet part of the Janelas Verdes road, just 10 minutes by taxi and 20 minutes on foot from the Chiado area. The service is excellent, with efficient reception, room and kitchen staff always there when you want them - many boutique hotels scrounge on the number and quality of staff, this place has such great people that it is a unique part of living here. The room was an absolute pleasure - we were in the second floor Tejo room with a lovely view of the Tagus river, and the gurgling sound of the water body in the ground floor breakfast area rose up each morning when we opened the balcony window. The bathroom was huge, with large windows facing the river which make the morning so very relaxing. Breakfast was as good as it can be, though after 6 straight mornings the sameness gets to you. The waitresses got us extras with a smile - toasted bread, omelette. Instead of tea/coffee service within each room, the third floor common area sitting room has 24x7 drinks of all kinds and snacks - and comfortable, home like easy chairs and a relaxed atmosphere; and a balcony overlooking the river. I could go on, just everything worked right and the hotel seems to be a perfect place to be.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second or third floor, facing the river. We stayed in the Tejo room, it has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    69
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
206
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The As Janelas Verdes has an extremely well made website with stunning photographs and lots of information. Hence, we were expecting quite a bit of this accommodation.

When we arrived, the welcome left the first not so great impression. I would not say that the receptionist was unfriendly, but hectic, quite strange and not very professional. Her first day, maybe? I had a couple of questions, which she misunderstood. I wanted to rephrase what I said but she kept interrupting me again and again. Suddenly, I don’t know why, she started to jell a name. After her fourth try or so, a very petite girl showed up (I have seen glaciers move faster!) and the receptionist explained that this tiny person would help us with the luggage. I guess our both trolleys were heavier than this girl, so I told the girl that we help ourselves and carry the luggage upstairs on our own. She noticed what I said and disappeared without any reaction (thank you? smile? goodbye?) as “quick” as she appeared. A very strange first impression, ...

After getting our things into our room we found it quite hot and muggy. The air conditioning system was “on full speed” but clearly not strong enough the cool the room down to a reasonable temperature. After opening the windows (it is not blazingly hot in Lisboa in September anymore) the air got better. But: in summer when Lisboa is really hot this won’t help you anymore. So I guess it will be extremely hot in that room in summer. And you should know that there is a modestly busy, paved road used by busses, which makes some noise. So bring your earplugs.

We were a little disappointed of the room (Nr. 12, I guess) and found that it looks a little tired. Especially the thick, greenish carpet is not very nice. But I do not say it is dirty. It just does not look nice. The rest of the room was quite dark as well, lots of cushions, curtains, stuff, … I have to admit that I actually like these old, “noble” and “plushy” rooms. But not this one, as it was too small and too crammed with stuff and therefore crushing. The bathroom is quite big, light, but looks a little bit tired as well. The joints between the tiles are not always intact and look a little shabby. Except that the bathroom was clean.

A small discovery tour through the hotel showed the sweet spots we already knew from the photographs from the website and, yes, they are also in reality pretty neat. There are lots of living rooms you can use, a garden (where they serve breakfast) and a roof garden, … All looks pretty nice, spacious and is clean...

After having dinner nearby we returned to our room. Somebody must have been in there in the meantime, as the bedcovers were removed. This was a kind of an unexpected service, which we didn’t like at all, as we put lots of things on the beds (a MacBook, a digital camera, some lenses, stuff, cloths…) as the room lacks a table. So the chambermaid had to remove our stuff from the bed in order to fulfill her duty… Isn’t there a rule in all hotels that says “do not touch your customer’s things”…?

Next day: Breakfast in the garden. Good food, great variety, nice pasteis, fruit, … And oranges, which you can juice on your own using a lever operated orange press. Everybody who has operated one of these devices knows that this is a messy business and you get quite sticky fingers. The problem here is that you cannot wash them, as there is no running water around. But better sticky fingers during breakfast and real juice than the orange-colored substance, which they put on the buffet in jugs...

What else can I say? Except the receptionist from day one all other persons we met at the reception were very friendly and tried to help whenever possible. But maybe it would be a good idea if someone would find out which restaurant is closed at what day. Because, after asking for a restaurant recommendation we ended in front of a closed restaurant.

When booking here, keep in mind that this hotel is not in the very center of Lisboa. But there are bus stops nearby, which bring you to Belem and to the city center. To reach the airport (resp. to reach the hotel) take the tram E15 from Santos to Cais de Sodre and then hop into the metro. By the way: that would be a very useful piece of information for the website - at least more useful than the name of the brand that produces the soap used in the hotel’s bathrooms. Yes, they have this info on their website.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
At As Janelas Verdes we strive to provide each guest a comfortable and calm environment.
We are deeply sorry if we were not able to meet your expectations. We took good note of your comments and we will keep on working hard in order to provide all guests a fully satisfactory stay.
Hoping to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and Renata are inttending to come back to this hotel. The structure of services, the employees are magnificous and gentlely. Awesome!! The room and other deppendencies are awesome! In the building lived Eça de Queirós, a portuguese writer (o crime do Padre Amaro, Os Maias, Primo Basilio). The ambiance is very intersting and the hotel is very luxuous. We loved it!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport Uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this great hotel. The location for us was perfect, slightly out of the busier parts of Lisbon but a short inexpensive taxi ride to all the major tourist areas. The area in which the hotel is located is not at all threatening as described by a previous review. We stayed in room 35 which had a lovely little seating area (in which to enjoy our complimentary port!!) The staff were very helpful and breakfast was an extremely civilised affair, being served till noon and all the products were very fresh. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: room 35 didn't have a river view but was very quiet....if you want to take in the river view...e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was one of the highlights of our holiday. It's excellent if you want a quiet, stylish hotel with a bit of character. Breakfast in the garden was lovely with lots of oranges so you could make your own freshly squeezed juice and other treats. The staff are helpful, professional and friendly. We came here with our three children and had two rooms at the front, which were very well sound-proofed so there was no noise at all from the road. The hotel is very close to Santos, from where you can catch trams to anywhere in Lisbon or travel by train to Cascais. We also enjoyed the Museum of Ancient Art with its garden (next to the hotel). It's hard to put into words how much we liked this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent a week here in September 2013. Found the hotel staff so pleasant and helpful. I could not fault any aspect of this hotel. The room was great and had a very spacious bathroom. There are several zones for relaxing around the hotel - they're all lovely but we especially enjoyed the library with it's big wide sliding doors and magnificent views of the Tagus.

The location was great too - there's a wide range of places to eat with many small traditional Portuguese restaurants and some swankier establishments.

It's a short bus ride to other areas of interest such as baixa or bairro alto. We also took a trip to Cascais for the day and the train stop is only a few minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located next to the National Ancient Art Museum, this is a really beautiful hotel. The rooms were large, and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was huge. There was a bus stop just outside to take you to either the city centre or to Belem. The breakfasts were amazing. This is a unique hotel – there is no comparison with the chain hotels. There were so many personal touches and the staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Janelas Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.