We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Save Saved
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #6 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Myself and a friend had to rush to Lisbon at the last minute, and found this hotel via TA with a great deal through hotels.com. Sometimes, when you're rushed, you make choices you later regret, but I can say without doubt that this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

Staff:
From the get-go, the staff were excellent. We didn't check in until 23.30, which wasn't a problem. We were given a lot of helpful advice about the local area and how to get about, plus a voucher for free entry to the nearby art museum.
A one-day assignment turned in to a week-long one, and we asked to extend at the last minute (the morning we were supposed to check out). The hotel couldn't match the online rate we had got, but still gave us a very hefty discount on the rest of our stay (well over 50%) and threw in breakfast. Nothing is too much for these lovely folks!

Hotel:
The hotel itself is impeccably kept. Neat, clean and very pretty with real character. The rooms are a very good size, with all modern conveniences including wi-fi, aircon and TV. The breakfast is very good and the "honour" bar in the library is exactly as interesting as it sounds, with an original brass telescope you can use to take advantage of the view over the bay. Just make a note of what you eat and drink and it's charged to your room.

Location:
If you want to be in the middle of town, this hotel is not for you. It's located in the Santos area, which in many ways is better - the area is quiet, but only 5 minutes on the bus from the centre. There are plenty of places to go out just a couple of minutes walk away. The quality of the bars and restaurants is higher here than in the centre because they aren't racing to the bottom to cater for tourists, and equally there is a sizeable student population so if you're looking for a bar-to-club night you can do that too. There's something for everyone

Nearby:
If you stay, I'd recommend the Green Bar at the Santos junction about 1 minutes walk away for a fun night. Lots of shots, a fun and friendly atmosphere and a different crowd every night. If you'd prefer something a little more refined I can recommend Matiz Pombalina which has a very cool vibe and a more restrained crowd.
To eat, I can recommend '31 Armada' which is a short walk out of town (on the same street) for really good value, genuine 'traditional portuguese' food. Many places offer this, but 31 Armada truly deliver (I had a risotto of chicken on the bone, cooked with its own blood - a local speciality). For a real treat, don't miss 'A Travessa'. It's a little expensive, but a really top-notch dining experience.
If you make it to the centre, I can recommend 'No Solo Italiano' in the Praca do Comercio, next to the Beer Museum(!). Unfussy Italian food, good prices considering where you are, and free wifi which is always useful.

Getting Around:
We used the '7 Colinas' card, which is a contactless smartcard which works on the trams, busses and tubes operated by 'Carris' group. Costs 50c for the card and then 6 Euro per day or you can pe-buy individual journeys to get them cheaper than buying on the bus/tram. Given the bus is about 1.80, it's easy to justify a 6 Euro ticket if you're doing any kind of touristy stuff. Public transport in the main is very good, and goes everywhere you would want to go. One caveat - occassionally buses simply didn't turn up, which is a little frustrating as some only run every 30 minutes. I believe there are night buses too but we didn't use them. Nor did we use taxis other than from the hotel to the airport which was pre-booked (and cost 20 Euros)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    69
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
210
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel was lovely. We had a nice room with a huge decorative bathroom. Again the complimentary Port was a nice touch.

Although the hotel isn't smack bang in the centre its not far out and the public transport is really good! We just took the 714 and 727 buses to the centre and Belem or the 25 tram into the centre. We are used to London as well so thought the local area had character rather than being down trodden!

The receptionists were all really helpful for recommendations and advice. We really enjoyed sitting on the roof terrace overlooking the river- the only thing I would say is randomly they took the cushions from the outside chairs away after our first night so it was quite uncomfy to sit outside which is a shame! The honesty bar was well stocked and the complimentary custard tarts were lovely.

I really loved eating breakfast outside in the garden. There was a food selection and having champagne with my fruit salad in the garden was a real treat. I think we must have timed breakfast wrong though as we kept missing the scrambled egg and sausage- serve us right for not getting up earlier!

Overall we loved staying here! Great service, lovely atmosphere- a real treat!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for your comments which helps to improve our service.

We were very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and specially our staff.

We are very sorry for the erratic cushions in the top floor Library Terrace. Concerning the breakfast, we serve our buffet until 12:00 and closer to that time and depending on the number of guests remaining, we serve cooked food at request to guarantee its quality. I’m very sorry if this was not dully informed.

Thank you once more and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We loved this charming little hotel. Although not located bang in the centre it isn't too far away, and its attractions more than make up for this particularly as a bus stops right outside the door. The staff are all friendly, polite and efficient. The buffet breakfast is served in a delightful room - everything is splendid with wonderful fresh fruit salad, deliciously naughty pastries, a good selection of bread, cheese and cold meats as well as cooked food. Nothing ever runs out as there is someone overseeing and refilling as required. Very good choice of fruit juices, teas, filter coffee and self-service Nespresso machine. All the public rooms are very pretty - furnished and decorated in style with lovely original fireplaces and much character. The library on the third floor is a haven of peace with a large sunny balcony and great view of the harbour. Just adjacent is a small kitchen where one can make oneself tea or coffee at any time - also a bar run on an honesty basis. The bedrooms are a good size and comfortable. At the back is a very pretty garden where one can have breakfast on warm days or just sit and have a coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend this charming and elegant hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor so had convenient access to the library - for a quiet night with windows op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It is true that the Hotel is not at the heart of downtown Lisbon, but it is definitely worth the trip. It rests in a quiet neighborhood and the place is quite charming. The breakfast is very good and the library is worth spending some time reading in it. We really liked it and we hope you enjoy it too. It may be a bit pricey but probably quite in line with other alternatives at the same level in Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a cozy quiet place with a very friendly staff. Our room wasn't huge...but the bathroom was very roomy. We had a small balcony that we really enjoyed. Our room faced the river, across the river is a huge statue of Jesus Christ, which was absolutely beautiful! A bottle of complimentary Port wine was in our room. We spent 5 days here. We never ate at the hotel...but breakfast was served each morning for a fee. The staff treated us very nice while we were there & we tipped them all well when we were checking out. The library was very nice & had a balcony that was nice also. Our only issue with the library was the smell. We never figured out what the nasty smell was. There is a small kitchen with the library where you can purchase coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc. Maybe the bad smell was coming from the kitchen. Not sure.
The problem that we had with this hotel was that my husband forgot his cell phone in our room. After we left he contacted the hotel about it to see if they found it. They checked & then emailed us to tell us they found it & would mail it to us. We never received the phone. We emailed them again asking for a tracking number or just any info about the phone. We were completely ignored. To this day they will not respond. We told them we would pay for the shipping & they agreed to mail it to us. We aren't sure why no one from the hotel will respond.
Having said that, we did enjoy our stay. But we were NOT pleased at all with being ignored after doing business here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words about our premises and our friendly staff.
We believe that the nasty smell in the library was coming from a repair work in our neighbors roof.

Concerning the cell phone, we are terribly sorry for the misunderstanding and for the delay on the dispatch.

On the day of your check out, March 13th, we emailed you informing that you left your cell phone in the room and asking your full address in order to send it to you.

We received your email with your address on March 17th saying that no hurry was required since you would not be home before March 28th so the mail should be at the most reasonable price.

We are very sorry for the delay of the delivery and not answering your most recent email that due to a misunderstanding it was not follow up as it should be. Please accept our sincere apologies.

We will contact you directly to inform you the tracking number.

Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful building, rooms, furnishings. Great service and staff that were helpful with restaurants, transportation, and tourist advice. Very nice breakfast. Immediate outdoor surrondings appeared downtrodden and with lots of graffiti. Rooms were hot and opening the windows brought a lot of street noise with it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have nothing but superlative things to say about this charming hotel. It gives you the experience of "gracious living", with its library where you can have coffee, tea, etc, anytime you want. The service is impeccable. Some people may not like the fact that it not right downtown, so if you like to be in the thick of it, day and night, it is not for you. But there is very good transportation, and it is not as noisy. To us, it was a plus. We would recommend it without the slightest hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Janelas Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.