We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & Cozy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #6 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quaint & Cozy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a cozy quiet place with a very friendly staff. Our room wasn't huge...but the bathroom was very roomy. We had a small balcony that we really enjoyed. Our room faced the river, across the river is a huge statue of Jesus Christ, which was absolutely beautiful! A bottle of complimentary Port wine was in our room. We spent 5 days here. We never ate at the hotel...but breakfast was served each morning for a fee. The staff treated us very nice while we were there & we tipped them all well when we were checking out. The library was very nice & had a balcony that was nice also. Our only issue with the library was the smell. We never figured out what the nasty smell was. There is a small kitchen with the library where you can purchase coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc. Maybe the bad smell was coming from the kitchen. Not sure.
The problem that we had with this hotel was that my husband forgot his cell phone in our room. After we left he contacted the hotel about it to see if they found it. They checked & then emailed us to tell us they found it & would mail it to us. We never received the phone. We emailed them again asking for a tracking number or just any info about the phone. We were completely ignored. To this day they will not respond. We told them we would pay for the shipping & they agreed to mail it to us. We aren't sure why no one from the hotel will respond.
Having said that, we did enjoy our stay. But we were NOT pleased at all with being ignored after doing business here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words about our premises and our friendly staff.
We believe that the nasty smell in the library was coming from a repair work in our neighbors roof.

Concerning the cell phone, we are terribly sorry for the misunderstanding and for the delay on the dispatch.

On the day of your check out, March 13th, we emailed you informing that you left your cell phone in the room and asking your full address in order to send it to you.

We received your email with your address on March 17th saying that no hurry was required since you would not be home before March 28th so the mail should be at the most reasonable price.

We are very sorry for the delay of the delivery and not answering your most recent email that due to a misunderstanding it was not follow up as it should be. Please accept our sincere apologies.

We will contact you directly to inform you the tracking number.

Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    83
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
261
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful building, rooms, furnishings. Great service and staff that were helpful with restaurants, transportation, and tourist advice. Very nice breakfast. Immediate outdoor surrondings appeared downtrodden and with lots of graffiti. Rooms were hot and opening the windows brought a lot of street noise with it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have nothing but superlative things to say about this charming hotel. It gives you the experience of "gracious living", with its library where you can have coffee, tea, etc, anytime you want. The service is impeccable. Some people may not like the fact that it not right downtown, so if you like to be in the thick of it, day and night, it is not for you. But there is very good transportation, and it is not as noisy. To us, it was a plus. We would recommend it without the slightest hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our expectations were superseded. The service level in this hotel is extremely high.
There is only one negative aspect, which is the fact that the rooms are badly soundproofed. I guess this is something difficult to improve and related to the fact that the hotel was build in the 18th century (Maybe the hotel management could think of isolation on the doors). Much more important is that the employees make you feel very welcome and grant you every wish you might have. I can only confirm all positive ratings this hotel has received so far!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind words about us. We appreciate your suggestion of having a better isolation on the doors, which we will look in detail. Your feedback is a valuable source of information and help us monitor the service we provide.
Thank you once more for your time and support.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

we partly chose this hotel due it its trip advisor reviews and partly due to it special "grey" persons offer....ideal for a long weekend
It was an outstanding experience. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the service immediate. Of special mention must be the breakfast....a buffet open until 1200!....and constantly refreshed when running low....
Not usaully found in hotels, the open "honesty"bar and coffee and tea facility makes the stay very homly and relaxed...the library and terrace on the 3rd floor are a very pleasant facility...
Not in the most convenient location for the city centre, but easy to get to and from once you have cracked the public transport system...which is very reasonable...especially the 24hr card.

We would happily recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we asked for and got a room on the 3rd floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in As Janelas Verdes for six nights. We liked it so much for the first five we changed our reservation from a sister property, The Britania, when we returned to Lisboa. The receptionists are fabulous and friendly. Their recommendations for nearby restaurants were flawless and they made reservations for us. As others have said, the third-floor library is a great place for a drink and has a wonderful view of the river. Our room, #24, was large.

The hotel is in a quiet, residential neighborhood that is the diplomatic center of Lisboa. It is a very good place to be if you do not like central city noise and commotion. It is easy to get around from there, however.The bus stop is 20 yards from the hotel's front door. The tram to Belem is nearby. The art museum is a five-minute walk, and the hotel will give you a free pass to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the very beginning we found As Janelas Verdes very special place. With no doubt it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. Perfect location, off the city centre with nice walking distance to main turist atractions: Amalfa, Baixa was just 20-30 min walk. Bottle of porto to start was a nice surprise. We got a room overlooking the river - very spacious, huge bathroom was with plenty of day light. Breaksat was served until very late and the quality was top. I loved the seating room area and the library on the top floor - was great to seat there and enjoy the view of Lisbon. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Do not need to look for another place in Lisbon - As Janales Verdes will be definitely great place to come back. Looking forward to the next time to Lisbon. And As Janelas Verdes.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for room with the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Janelas Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.