We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 234 Hotels in Lisbon
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have nothing but superlative things to say about this charming hotel. It gives you the experience of "gracious living", with its library where you can have coffee, tea, etc, anytime you want. The service is impeccable. Some people may not like the fact that it not right downtown, so if you like to be in the thick of it, day and night, it is not for you. But there is very good transportation, and it is not as noisy. To us, it was a plus. We would recommend it without the slightest hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our expectations were superseded. The service level in this hotel is extremely high.
There is only one negative aspect, which is the fact that the rooms are badly soundproofed. I guess this is something difficult to improve and related to the fact that the hotel was build in the 18th century (Maybe the hotel management could think of isolation on the doors). Much more important is that the employees make you feel very welcome and grant you every wish you might have. I can only confirm all positive ratings this hotel has received so far!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joerg a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind words about us. We appreciate your suggestion of having a better isolation on the doors, which we will look in detail. Your feedback is a valuable source of information and help us monitor the service we provide.
Thank you once more for your time and support.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

we partly chose this hotel due it its trip advisor reviews and partly due to it special "grey" persons offer....ideal for a long weekend
It was an outstanding experience. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the service immediate. Of special mention must be the breakfast....a buffet open until 1200!....and constantly refreshed when running low....
Not usaully found in hotels, the open "honesty"bar and coffee and tea facility makes the stay very homly and relaxed...the library and terrace on the 3rd floor are a very pleasant facility...
Not in the most convenient location for the city centre, but easy to get to and from once you have cracked the public transport system...which is very reasonable...especially the 24hr card.

We would happily recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we asked for and got a room on the 3rd floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proflornavalbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in As Janelas Verdes for six nights. We liked it so much for the first five we changed our reservation from a sister property, The Britania, when we returned to Lisboa. The receptionists are fabulous and friendly. Their recommendations for nearby restaurants were flawless and they made reservations for us. As others have said, the third-floor library is a great place for a drink and has a wonderful view of the river. Our room, #24, was large.

The hotel is in a quiet, residential neighborhood that is the diplomatic center of Lisboa. It is a very good place to be if you do not like central city noise and commotion. It is easy to get around from there, however.The bus stop is 20 yards from the hotel's front door. The tram to Belem is nearby. The art museum is a five-minute walk, and the hotel will give you a free pass to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOC134H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the very beginning we found As Janelas Verdes very special place. With no doubt it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. Perfect location, off the city centre with nice walking distance to main turist atractions: Amalfa, Baixa was just 20-30 min walk. Bottle of porto to start was a nice surprise. We got a room overlooking the river - very spacious, huge bathroom was with plenty of day light. Breaksat was served until very late and the quality was top. I loved the seating room area and the library on the top floor - was great to seat there and enjoy the view of Lisbon. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Do not need to look for another place in Lisbon - As Janales Verdes will be definitely great place to come back. Looking forward to the next time to Lisbon. And As Janelas Verdes.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for room with the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgor_Dublin_Lublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and had a peaceful room with a fantastic view over the river. So many small details surprised us: the initials on the towels, the bottle of free Port wine, breakfast was available for hours. We only saw women working there and they were all helpful. The hotel is very charming and is in walking distance to downtown (maybe 20min). There is a lovely library where you can serve yourself a drink, read a book or get dinner served. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettinaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We loved this hotel... it isn't as central as some options, but we liked the area... We liked the atmosphere and character of the place... especially the library at the top of the hotel where you can have a drink from the honesty bar and take in the views... Staff were lovely and gave us lots of good recommendations... Lisbon itself was a great city break, very laid back, charming people and we have a lot of good memories from this trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 234 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 1,726 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 234 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#4 of 234 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,849 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#15 of 234 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing