We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Save Saved
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #6 of 219 Hotels in Lisbon
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our expectations were superseded. The service level in this hotel is extremely high.
There is only one negative aspect, which is the fact that the rooms are badly soundproofed. I guess this is something difficult to improve and related to the fact that the hotel was build in the 18th century (Maybe the hotel management could think of isolation on the doors). Much more important is that the employees make you feel very welcome and grant you every wish you might have. I can only confirm all positive ratings this hotel has received so far!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind words about us. We appreciate your suggestion of having a better isolation on the doors, which we will look in detail. Your feedback is a valuable source of information and help us monitor the service we provide.
Thank you once more for your time and support.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    72
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
227
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

we partly chose this hotel due it its trip advisor reviews and partly due to it special "grey" persons offer....ideal for a long weekend
It was an outstanding experience. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the service immediate. Of special mention must be the breakfast....a buffet open until 1200!....and constantly refreshed when running low....
Not usaully found in hotels, the open "honesty"bar and coffee and tea facility makes the stay very homly and relaxed...the library and terrace on the 3rd floor are a very pleasant facility...
Not in the most convenient location for the city centre, but easy to get to and from once you have cracked the public transport system...which is very reasonable...especially the 24hr card.

We would happily recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we asked for and got a room on the 3rd floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in As Janelas Verdes for six nights. We liked it so much for the first five we changed our reservation from a sister property, The Britania, when we returned to Lisboa. The receptionists are fabulous and friendly. Their recommendations for nearby restaurants were flawless and they made reservations for us. As others have said, the third-floor library is a great place for a drink and has a wonderful view of the river. Our room, #24, was large.

The hotel is in a quiet, residential neighborhood that is the diplomatic center of Lisboa. It is a very good place to be if you do not like central city noise and commotion. It is easy to get around from there, however.The bus stop is 20 yards from the hotel's front door. The tram to Belem is nearby. The art museum is a five-minute walk, and the hotel will give you a free pass to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the very beginning we found As Janelas Verdes very special place. With no doubt it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. Perfect location, off the city centre with nice walking distance to main turist atractions: Amalfa, Baixa was just 20-30 min walk. Bottle of porto to start was a nice surprise. We got a room overlooking the river - very spacious, huge bathroom was with plenty of day light. Breaksat was served until very late and the quality was top. I loved the seating room area and the library on the top floor - was great to seat there and enjoy the view of Lisbon. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Do not need to look for another place in Lisbon - As Janales Verdes will be definitely great place to come back. Looking forward to the next time to Lisbon. And As Janelas Verdes.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for room with the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and had a peaceful room with a fantastic view over the river. So many small details surprised us: the initials on the towels, the bottle of free Port wine, breakfast was available for hours. We only saw women working there and they were all helpful. The hotel is very charming and is in walking distance to downtown (maybe 20min). There is a lovely library where you can serve yourself a drink, read a book or get dinner served. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We loved this hotel... it isn't as central as some options, but we liked the area... We liked the atmosphere and character of the place... especially the library at the top of the hotel where you can have a drink from the honesty bar and take in the views... Staff were lovely and gave us lots of good recommendations... Lisbon itself was a great city break, very laid back, charming people and we have a lot of good memories from this trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We loved our stay at Janelas Verdes and felt very privileged to be in such a beautiful historic house (said to be where the author of Os Maios lived) - like staying in the private house of rich friends. Everything was perfect: enchanting terrace overlooking the Tagus river; comfortable bedrooms, beautifully furnished public rooms (downstairs sitting rooms, top floor library and its honesty bar), attentive and efficient service, friendly staff, free tea and coffee in the library, decanter of port in the bedroom.
Breakfast was a delight with freshly squeezed oranges and some of the best Portuguese tarts and breads. This was served in the garden when the weather was warm and was one of the most enjoyable experiences.
Slightly away from downtown Lisbon the hotel is in a quiet area but is well served with buses and tramway lines meaning you can reach most areas very easily for sightseeing. There are lots of good, small typically Portuguese restaurants nearby.
All in all this was the most perfect place to stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Janelas Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.