We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Save Saved
You added As Janelas Verdes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #6 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Windlesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at As Janeles Verdes recently for a 4 night winter break and loved it. First impressions are little bit old fashioned but after a change of room to one on the third floor with lovely views over the river and a lighter feel, we really settled in.
The breakfasts are really good especially the Pasteles de Belem!!!!
The staff were so helpful especially Elsa, who magaged to get a replacement Tour ticket to replace the one my husband lost at no charge and met us in the centre of Lisbon to hand over.

Some nice restaurants nearby, with one directly across from the hotel and we loved walking around the neighbourhood, getting on trams and buses was really easy.

Had a really nice time and did so much in four days as the excellent transport system is wonderful.
Will go back for sure.
s and g mac

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better and the Third floor overlooking the river is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    69
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
206
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent atmosphere, friendly, rooms allright if a bit old style with all amenities and a complementary bottle of porto. The library and honesty bar are excellent ideas (especially since my room on 3rd floor allowed me to step out in my pijamas to the honesty bar to grab a coffee and free cookies in a generous assortment). Receptionists were very kind in providing good recommendations for tours and restaurants off the beaten track (I visited Madragoa Cafe close by and was very happy). I liked the location but it should be noted it is not exactly in the heart of the action, but there are direct buses to both the Praca do Comercio and Belem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsted, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Lovely hotel in old traditional Portuguese style.
Good service and staff were very helpful.
We had a room next to the alley with some noise. Next time we will choose one with view of the Tagus and hope there will be less noise.
The room was fine with a carafe of port wine as daily refilled - great.
And they serve a nice breakfast.
The location is a little outside the center, but the area is perfect with Museu de Arte Antigua as a neighbor and with several good restaurants in the neighborhood - ask at the reception and they will guide you. And you can easily reach the city center by bus, taxi or even walk
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I found this hotel by a fluke, and went there for a week at Christmas. It is the most pleasant, relaxing hotel I have every stayed in the whole world. The breakfast room is so comforting, with goldfish in the pool, breakfast beautifully presented and no rush, think they have breakfast until 12 if not later. Rooms looking out to beautiful river, and the crown of the jewel a beautiful room, the library to relax look out at the view, also balcony to sit out on, and if that wasn't enough a lovely room beside to make your own coffee and teas which is such a bonus, as this isn't usual in european hotels.

Room Tip: I just had a lovely ' room with a view' but think most of them have?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your invaluable feedback following your stay with us.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we feel very flattered by your words.
Not all the rooms have river view but if you want to guarantee this view we advise you to book a “Tejo” room or a “Eça” room, the latter facing south.
Of course all our guests can enjoy the view from our library on the top floor, which is exclusive or our guests.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again to As Janelas Verdes.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Tastefully furnished, had a room facing the river. Extremely friendly receptionists, who can understand and speak good English. Very easy to get to the centre of lisbon – the bus stop is right across the road. Lovely breakfast spread too. We had requested for a change of room and it was done without the slightest fuss. A free jug of dessert wine in the room. The bathrooms are spacious as well, with good quality cosmetics. The choice of teas in the breakfast spread deserves a special mention.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the ones facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved this hotel. Friendly staff, very confortable room, with a fantastic view of the Tagus. The library room on the third floor was a perfect place to unwind after a day of sightseeing. The staff gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants, both in the neighborhood and in the center of town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My travel agent recommended this hotel based on an internet search. It was excellent and well located for leaving the city in our rental car. The staff was caring and spoke good English; they called and helped me arrange delivery and pick-up of my rental car from the hotel, and allowed it to stay parked in their garage a day after we left so the rental company could pick it up on Monday morning. Breakfast was wonderful and the complimentary port in the rooms was a very nice touch. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Our room was on the street and noisy (we liked to have the window open); request an interior or more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Janelas Verdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.