We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olissippo Lapa Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Olissippo Lapa Palace to your Saves list
Olissippo Lapa Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 218 Hotels in Lisbon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A real luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful stay. Spacious luxirius rooms with balcony overlooking abeautiful garden. Bathroom so nice and wide, lacking a handheldshower however, which is the only drawback. Service excellent, breakfast includes almost every thing with variety of fresh fruit. I will chose it again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    77
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
119
282
15
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were surprised when we received details of our pre-cruise (Azamara Cruises) stay in Lisbon, as this hotel had been booked by the company. Most cruise companies tend to book 3 or 4-star hotels, not 5-star.
The hotel itself is tucked away in a quiet area of the city and is well worthy of its rating. We were given a room on the 6th floor with its own little balcony overlooking the pool area and the distant city centre. The staff were incredibly courteous & professional and always had a big smile for you.
Bearing in mind that we had not paid their standard rate, for a room we would consider luxurious, we felt that we had been looked after in just the same manner. The room itself was excellent, with a massive comfy bed, couches, table & chairs, marble bathroom with twin sinks and a large seperate shower cubicle (glass door, not a curtain that loves you far too much), a bistro set on the balcony and finally, if you were bored, a TV that rose up out of a cabinet along with a DVD player.
Preferring to walk as much as possible, we walked downhill into town (45 mins.) took a free 2.5 hour guided walk (Pancho Tours) with Alessandro (hope that's right) and then eventually walked back uphill again. No-one looked even remotely concerned when two exhausted, by then also a bit scruffy, people walked into Reception asking for a key !! If you do not like walking that much, get a taxi. I understand it's only about 4 Euros to the centre at the moment....
We never got to eat dinner at the hotel, but breakfast was excellent.
The Olissippo Lapa Palace is now earmarked for a revisit when we spend more time in Lisbon sometime in the near future.
Our thanks to the Staff and Management.

Room Tip: The higher floors in the old building have commanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States - East Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Traveling with three teenagers, being a single mother, is probably not the most relaxing vacation. And yet, the staff at the Lapa Palace created an environment that left us all with incredible memories. We had much laughter on this trip. The moment of arrival is key. First impressions count. We arrived to the warm smile of the marvelous doorman. And, Rita and Hugo and Hugh at the front desk immediately drew us in. Portuguese history and charm enveloped us. We were shown to our beautiful accomodations. The view from the balcony took our breath away. I would describe the furnishings as very French with wonderful color schemes. The rooms are spacious and attention to every detail is taken. The pool is wonderful. I travel frequently and we are very fortunate to have stayed in many five star hotels throughout the world. The Lapa Palace is a gem. I almost do not want to say how much I adore this hotel because I would like to keep this secret. The warmth of the entire staff, the beauty of the hotel, the attention to detail while respecting history, the feeling of total security, the knowledgeable answers from staff consistently and the constant overall effort to please warmed all our hearts. I believe this was our most favorite family vacation ever. We will return over and over. PS Go to the bar at night and listen to the piano player = the music will transform you. And, if you love to sail, rent the Harfang. PT with Alex at the helm - a totally unique and wonderful way to see Lisbon and beyond with teens. I admit it - I'm a spoiled traveler. However, of all the hotels I've stayed in, the Lapa Palace is my favorite. Truly, everything was perfect. We were embraced by the heart and soul of Portugal here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an incredibly beautiful hotel. The lobby, pool area, spa, and rooms are all exquisite. I was very excited about staying here, and that is why I was surprised at some of the service issues we encountered.

As I was traveling with a friend, we requested a room with 2 beds, however, when we arrived at our room, it had only one bed. The front desk informed us they would send someone to separate the beds, but when we arrived back in our room around 11pm after a late dinner, the beds were still together. We called again and were informed by the front desk that the beds could not be separated and they didn't know why someone had told us this could happen. We explained that we had been promised 2 beds, and they said there was nothing that could be done. Therefore, we pushed the beds apart ourselves. Rather strange to have all of this arguing in a 5 star hotel.

Then the next morning when I went for breakfast, I was informed that it was not included in my room rate. When I said it was, they argued firmly no. Therefore, I had to pay 4.5 euros per cup of coffee (9 euros total!) plus 18 euros for a single cheese omelette. Quite expensive.

Nice place, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
testelt
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel was booked by our company for a conference with about participants. The hotel is just great, as well as the perfect service by all employees .
It is very quiet to sleep and the beds are really good; one of thebest I ever experienced . the breakfast and the lunches were absolutely great ! We have had one evening dinner in the hotel which was also outstanding.
It must be a quite expensive hotel also because it has a large and nice swimming pool which is not easy to find in Lisbon. The area were the hotel is located is residential , not too far from the city center but with steep and cobbly streets to walk. so for touristic purposes you have to take this into account.
The view from the hotel room is just great.
This hotel is to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana_Gerardo, Gerente de relações com clientes at Olissippo Lapa Palace, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mrs Christiane V.

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Lapa Palace on your recent visit to Lisbon. Your opinion is really important for us so its always a great pleasure to have such a positive comments from our guests. I truly hope to welcome you again at the lapa palace.

Warmest regards,

Susana Gerardo
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked a beautiful top floor room with terrace overlooking this hotel's swimming pool and beautiful garden and the city beyond. The room and bath were spacious and the furnishings were of high quality, the bed one of the most comfortable we've found in our travels. Sleeping here was bliss. Staff can't do enough to make you comfortable and welcome.

The only minor drawback is that it is located in a residential area [embassies, private villas] so there isn't much located nearby in terms of restaurants or shopping. The streets are steep and cobblestones so walking can be treacherous for the uninitiated. Unless you eat at the hotel, you would probably need to be driven or take a taxi to dinner, ditto for getting into Lisbon's tourist attractions. We walked to two different restaurants that were 4-5 blocks away and believe me, it was not easy and we are very fit and wore flat shoes...

That said, the hotel is a lovely oasis for a visit to Lisbon.

Room Tip: I think there is an "annex" built later to expand the hotel. Though I did not see those r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ours is yet another rave review for this wonderful hotel. We spent five nights at the Lapa Palace and found every aspect of the hotel to be sublime. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed, the staff was knowledgeable, eager to help, and truly cared about the guests. The spa is small but lovely, and the outdoor pool area is a true oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Meals and bar snacks were delicious (albeit a tad high in price, but not moreso than other five star hotels), and the wait service was first-rate. Highly recommended on every front!! Obrigada, Lapa Palace!

Room Tip: Our first floor room was private and had lush foliage and a running brook as a serene backdrop. It a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olissippo Lapa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.