We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ! to dream away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olissippo Lapa Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Olissippo Lapa Palace to your Saves list
Olissippo Lapa Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
testelt
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent ! to dream away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel was booked by our company for a conference with about participants. The hotel is just great, as well as the perfect service by all employees .
It is very quiet to sleep and the beds are really good; one of thebest I ever experienced . the breakfast and the lunches were absolutely great ! We have had one evening dinner in the hotel which was also outstanding.
It must be a quite expensive hotel also because it has a large and nice swimming pool which is not easy to find in Lisbon. The area were the hotel is located is residential , not too far from the city center but with steep and cobbly streets to walk. so for touristic purposes you have to take this into account.
The view from the hotel room is just great.
This hotel is to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana_Gerardo, Gerente de relações com clientes at Olissippo Lapa Palace, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mrs Christiane V.

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Lapa Palace on your recent visit to Lisbon. Your opinion is really important for us so its always a great pleasure to have such a positive comments from our guests. I truly hope to welcome you again at the lapa palace.

Warmest regards,

Susana Gerardo
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    78
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
120
286
15
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked a beautiful top floor room with terrace overlooking this hotel's swimming pool and beautiful garden and the city beyond. The room and bath were spacious and the furnishings were of high quality, the bed one of the most comfortable we've found in our travels. Sleeping here was bliss. Staff can't do enough to make you comfortable and welcome.

The only minor drawback is that it is located in a residential area [embassies, private villas] so there isn't much located nearby in terms of restaurants or shopping. The streets are steep and cobblestones so walking can be treacherous for the uninitiated. Unless you eat at the hotel, you would probably need to be driven or take a taxi to dinner, ditto for getting into Lisbon's tourist attractions. We walked to two different restaurants that were 4-5 blocks away and believe me, it was not easy and we are very fit and wore flat shoes...

That said, the hotel is a lovely oasis for a visit to Lisbon.

Room Tip: I think there is an "annex" built later to expand the hotel. Though I did not see those r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ours is yet another rave review for this wonderful hotel. We spent five nights at the Lapa Palace and found every aspect of the hotel to be sublime. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed, the staff was knowledgeable, eager to help, and truly cared about the guests. The spa is small but lovely, and the outdoor pool area is a true oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Meals and bar snacks were delicious (albeit a tad high in price, but not moreso than other five star hotels), and the wait service was first-rate. Highly recommended on every front!! Obrigada, Lapa Palace!

Room Tip: Our first floor room was private and had lush foliage and a running brook as a serene backdrop. It a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We (myself and my wife) stayed in the Lapa Palace at the start of June for 4 nights. We booked it becasue it was rated highly by others, it was relatively close to the centra of the city and it had a swimming pool (which was very dificult to find in Lisbon). It is a relatively expensive hotel for us but for the reasons raised above we decided to go ahead with it and we weren't disappointed.

From our booking, through our arrival, to our overall experience it was fantastic. Overall a lovely atmosphere, it's 5 star but up istelf like some hotels of that nature. Very nice bedrooms - just what we needed; lovely breakfast room - cold breadfast is great; hot breakfast (like a lot of Europe) not great; fantastic outdoor pool; great bar and grounds well maintained and tranquil.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel at night so can't comment on that.
The staff were excellent in all departments, first class.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have a better view; lower rooms are closer to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night, out of this world, rooms, food all to be believed not only do they have menus for food but also menus for your pillows, set in it's own grounds with spectacular views all round.
Staff falling over to meet all your needs, amazing !!

Room Tip: all rooms are of the same slandered
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a lovely restful short break here. Staff are friendly, rooms are spacious, great view of the river and pool and quiet and only a short distance by taxi from the centre of the city. Peaceful sitting by the outdoor pool. The indoor pool is fairly small but I had it virtually to myself on the one occasion I used it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for five nights - the first night we were woken by noisy upstairs neighbours and the staff moved us the next day with a minimum of fuss.
Staff were incredibly helpful overall and rooms well appointed.
Prices in the Hotel are high - 18 Euros for a cocktail and 33 Euros for a main course in the restauarant.
The biggest drawback is that the Hotel is in Lapa - an area poorly served by public transport and just too far to walk - so you are completely reliant on taxis. The fare is around 6 Euros downtown but that probably means 4 taxis a day (if you go out to eat at night) so add 25 Euros a day.
Overall ok, but not great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olissippo Lapa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.