We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olissippo Lapa Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Olissippo Lapa Palace to your Saves list
Olissippo Lapa Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Boyfriend surprised me with a trip here and it was just great! Beautiful rooms, lovely surroundings, the breakfast was very good-so nice to be able to have breakfast in the sun!

Housekeeping did a great job, twice daily visits and lovely loccitane products.

Beds were a little hard, but probably good for your back!

Balcony, river view, concierge, everything about it was just superb.

We are already booking our second trip in August!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana_Gerardo, Gerente de relações com clientes at Olissippo Lapa Palace, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Ms. Kim S,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Olissippo Lapa Palace. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,

Susana G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    80
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
123
299
15
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The rooms are well-decorated. The staff was very helpful. It is not a big hotel but it is boutique where you can find special things that may be missing in big brand hotels. The rooms are very large and there is a nice swimming pool

Room Tip: If you have budget I recommend junior suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I say almost because nothing should be without some need of improvement. In fact I can't think of anything I would change about this hotel. Great service, beautiful surroundings, comfortable and clean rooms and our river view was spectacular. We enjoyed Lisbon although only for a short stay after arriving from Porto and a river cruise on the Douro. We called ahead for the concierge to book us two dinners and each was excellent. The concierge also arranged a driver for us and the six or seven hours spent touring the city and other sites was very enjoyable.
Great gym and a wonderful bar that served light meals. The pool area is gorgeous with fish ponds and waterfallys so a perfect place for families traveling with their children.
Everyone was helpful and more than courteous.
It is not a hotel for budget minded travelers but you get what you pay for here!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view with a balcony,,,,,breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, good price, good service, but far from place of interest. We advice you to book here, because it is not problem to take taxi)))
Good place for relaxing after walking) good spa
Near hotel is nice italian restorant with good cuisine

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent hotel, all the amenities and service you desire. Special praise to the concierge who was able to help us arrange a city bike tour and made a excellent dinner recommendation and reservation. I really enjoyed the indoor pool with complimentary steam room and sauna facilities. A first class establishment all the way around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

By far too short stay at this incredible "old world" establishment was the only thing I could complain about after my day and one half stay there. From the setting - the exclusive "embassy" section of Lisbon to the spectacular rooms and amenities (a "killer" pool set in a spectacular acres worth of manicured gardens) this hotel ranks with the best in the world. We had a suite with sitting room overlooking the pool that featured a huge balcony (with glimpse of the Tejo river beyond). The room amenities are many - beautiful toiletries in the spectacular marble clad bath with jaccuzzi, separate shower and private WC and bidet room. The walk in closet riveled that found in private home. We were greeted with a complimentary bottle of Port(Porto LBV 2007 Messias) AND delicious "Pasteis de Belem" . Room furnishings were gorgeous, and fresh orchids graced the fireplace..... The room, which featured a separate powder room was IMMACULATE, and the staff from desk to restaurant were spectacular - welcoming, gracious and extremely helpful. Joana met us at check in and escorted us to our rooms after inviting us to the spectacular breakfast buffet on the 3rd floor (we were HOURS earlier than the 12:00 check in) - this is an attractive space with a lovely patio that is a great place of a leisurely breakfast or lunch.
The buffet was OUTSTANDING and the service flawless.

We tried the restaurant on the main level for lunch and it offered some of the best food we've ever encountered anywhere .... try the amazing Blue Lobster or the Red Snapper and you won't be disappointed -- frankly everything on the menu (we oggled the plates of nearby diners) looked wonderful....

All the rooms in this hotel are huge by modern standards, most feature spacious balconies overlooking river or garden. There is a very very nice spa and indoor pool as well.....

This is a wonderful get away spot for someone who appreciates old world luxury - not just facilities but the greatest luxury of all - SERVICE (and with nothing but smiles). I would revisit wonderful Lisbon just to experience the service and style of this great hotel again.

PS Concierge rocks - incredibly helpful and creative....

Room Tip: Definitely go for a river/garden view room - and the Suites are amazing. I prefer 5th and 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

By far one of the finest hotels I've ever stayed at. Service was outstanding and an extremely helpful and competent staff. Location was only minutes away from heart of city and an easy cab ride. Allowed us to see some of the city we would never have seen. Want to return to Lisbon just so I can stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a river view room which was sensational. Am sure garden rooms are outstanding as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Otel, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olissippo Lapa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.