We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico! The ONLY place to stay in Lisbon if you value Service with Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olissippo Lapa Palace

Save Saved
You added Olissippo Lapa Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 218 hotels in Lisbon
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fantastico! The ONLY place to stay in Lisbon if you value Service with Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

By far too short stay at this incredible "old world" establishment was the only thing I could complain about after my day and one half stay there. From the setting - the exclusive "embassy" section of Lisbon to the spectacular rooms and amenities (a "killer" pool set in a spectacular acres worth of manicured gardens) this hotel ranks with the best in the world. We had a suite with sitting room overlooking the pool that featured a huge balcony (with glimpse of the Tejo river beyond). The room amenities are many - beautiful toiletries in the spectacular marble clad bath with jaccuzzi, separate shower and private WC and bidet room. The walk in closet riveled that found in private home. We were greeted with a complimentary bottle of Port(Porto LBV 2007 Messias) AND delicious "Pasteis de Belem" . Room furnishings were gorgeous, and fresh orchids graced the fireplace..... The room, which featured a separate powder room was IMMACULATE, and the staff from desk to restaurant were spectacular - welcoming, gracious and extremely helpful. Joana met us at check in and escorted us to our rooms after inviting us to the spectacular breakfast buffet on the 3rd floor (we were HOURS earlier than the 12:00 check in) - this is an attractive space with a lovely patio that is a great place of a leisurely breakfast or lunch.
The buffet was OUTSTANDING and the service flawless.

We tried the restaurant on the main level for lunch and it offered some of the best food we've ever encountered anywhere .... try the amazing Blue Lobster or the Red Snapper and you won't be disappointed -- frankly everything on the menu (we oggled the plates of nearby diners) looked wonderful....

All the rooms in this hotel are huge by modern standards, most feature spacious balconies overlooking river or garden. There is a very very nice spa and indoor pool as well.....

This is a wonderful get away spot for someone who appreciates old world luxury - not just facilities but the greatest luxury of all - SERVICE (and with nothing but smiles). I would revisit wonderful Lisbon just to experience the service and style of this great hotel again.

PS Concierge rocks - incredibly helpful and creative....

Room Tip: Definitely go for a river/garden view room - and the Suites are amazing. I prefer 5th and 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    73
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
114
259
14
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

By far one of the finest hotels I've ever stayed at. Service was outstanding and an extremely helpful and competent staff. Location was only minutes away from heart of city and an easy cab ride. Allowed us to see some of the city we would never have seen. Want to return to Lisbon just so I can stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a river view room which was sensational. Am sure garden rooms are outstanding as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is an 'old world' hotel with all the good things that implies. Superb service, lovely big rooms with large bathrooms and nice balconies. A nice big outdoor pool set in beautifully kept gardens as well as an indoor pool and spa. A breakfast buffet on the terrace is a nice way to start your day, the hotel is in a nice quiet area in easy reach of all the city sights.

Room Tip: overlook the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

It's hard to describe this hotel without falling into the trap of using superlatives that through extensive overuse in modern commercials have become nigh meaningless. Nevertheless this hotel qualifies for all of them: Amazing, wonderful, awesome.

We booked this hotel for a midweek (Mon-Fri) stay in Lisbon and it turned out to be one of the best holidays ever. The hotel is magnificent, with all the amenities you could want. The staff is extremely cheerful, helpful and skilled. The location is a bit off the beaten track but still easily accessible through train (stop: Santos) and bus (727 to the Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga and then a brief walk up). Taxis in Lisbon are cheap and the taxi drivers all know how to navigate the hilly one-way system that is the Lapa district to reliably find the hotel.

Great breakfast buffet with everything you care about. The bar is a very nice place to have a drink after a long day of trekking through Lisbon. The restaurant is very good and has an awesome wine selection. Even the lift was awesome, somehow magically figuring out wherever we were so that we could take it without waiting :-)

Tips:

- The hotel can arrange a car to pick you up from the airport and bring you to the hotel. This is not worth it, the taxis outside the airport do a great job at half the price.
- When staying in Lapa Palace, do dinner in the hotel at least once, and once in restaurant Alma.
- Pillow #2 from the pillow selection menu is amazing :-)
- The mini-bar is outrageously expensive (only downside to this hotel IMHO)
- The hotel does not have an ironing board to lend but there's an express ironing service

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked the Lapa palace for a brief stay before boarding a cruise. It seemed a high priced venue for our stay and after the usual transcontinental hassle, we stumbled off our flight and into this heavenly five star property. The room was spacious with a view of the gardens. Room service was prompt and the food just what we needed. The staff was helpful and attentive. We'll definitely add this to our list of world class hotel well worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in April 2013. This hotel ranks amoung the very best we have stayed, and might well be "the" best. We had a large room in the original palace building, which was beautifully decorated. The fixtures/furniture were all of high quality and have clearly all been well looked after. The pubic rooms and entrance lobby are all stunning. We ate one night in the Lapa restaurant and that was excellent too. Food, service , wine list all excellent. The staff here are friendly and professional but are not too "all over you". They all seemed to have time to do their jobs properly without being rushed. Breakfast was good - maybe the hot menu could have been a bit more extensive. Bar was excellent with very professional barmen - the best mohito I have ever had. Other than some aircraft noise (which must affect all Lisbon hotels) this hotel is in a very quiet part of the city. We found it very easy to get taxis to and fro. We wouldn't think twice about returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent a couple of days at the palace last November. A basic room there is much superior than a basic room at any Ritz Carlton in the US. Service and food were first class. The neighborhood is safe, close to a lot of embassies including China and US. Our bedroom was large and luxurious. Their spa and indoor swimming pool were also amazing. People are nice in Portugal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#1 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olissippo Lapa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.