We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olissippo Lapa Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Olissippo Lapa Palace to your Saves list
Olissippo Lapa Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is an 'old world' hotel with all the good things that implies. Superb service, lovely big rooms with large bathrooms and nice balconies. A nice big outdoor pool set in beautifully kept gardens as well as an indoor pool and spa. A breakfast buffet on the terrace is a nice way to start your day, the hotel is in a nice quiet area in easy reach of all the city sights.

Room Tip: overlook the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    80
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
122
298
15
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

It's hard to describe this hotel without falling into the trap of using superlatives that through extensive overuse in modern commercials have become nigh meaningless. Nevertheless this hotel qualifies for all of them: Amazing, wonderful, awesome.

We booked this hotel for a midweek (Mon-Fri) stay in Lisbon and it turned out to be one of the best holidays ever. The hotel is magnificent, with all the amenities you could want. The staff is extremely cheerful, helpful and skilled. The location is a bit off the beaten track but still easily accessible through train (stop: Santos) and bus (727 to the Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga and then a brief walk up). Taxis in Lisbon are cheap and the taxi drivers all know how to navigate the hilly one-way system that is the Lapa district to reliably find the hotel.

Great breakfast buffet with everything you care about. The bar is a very nice place to have a drink after a long day of trekking through Lisbon. The restaurant is very good and has an awesome wine selection. Even the lift was awesome, somehow magically figuring out wherever we were so that we could take it without waiting :-)

Tips:

- The hotel can arrange a car to pick you up from the airport and bring you to the hotel. This is not worth it, the taxis outside the airport do a great job at half the price.
- When staying in Lapa Palace, do dinner in the hotel at least once, and once in restaurant Alma.
- Pillow #2 from the pillow selection menu is amazing :-)
- The mini-bar is outrageously expensive (only downside to this hotel IMHO)
- The hotel does not have an ironing board to lend but there's an express ironing service

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked the Lapa palace for a brief stay before boarding a cruise. It seemed a high priced venue for our stay and after the usual transcontinental hassle, we stumbled off our flight and into this heavenly five star property. The room was spacious with a view of the gardens. Room service was prompt and the food just what we needed. The staff was helpful and attentive. We'll definitely add this to our list of world class hotel well worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in April 2013. This hotel ranks amoung the very best we have stayed, and might well be "the" best. We had a large room in the original palace building, which was beautifully decorated. The fixtures/furniture were all of high quality and have clearly all been well looked after. The pubic rooms and entrance lobby are all stunning. We ate one night in the Lapa restaurant and that was excellent too. Food, service , wine list all excellent. The staff here are friendly and professional but are not too "all over you". They all seemed to have time to do their jobs properly without being rushed. Breakfast was good - maybe the hot menu could have been a bit more extensive. Bar was excellent with very professional barmen - the best mohito I have ever had. Other than some aircraft noise (which must affect all Lisbon hotels) this hotel is in a very quiet part of the city. We found it very easy to get taxis to and fro. We wouldn't think twice about returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent a couple of days at the palace last November. A basic room there is much superior than a basic room at any Ritz Carlton in the US. Service and food were first class. The neighborhood is safe, close to a lot of embassies including China and US. Our bedroom was large and luxurious. Their spa and indoor swimming pool were also amazing. People are nice in Portugal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Truly a 5 star hotel, with all the amenities one would expect, but made most superlative by an extraordinary staff! They are all so professional, efficient, and friendly and also extremely helpful when it comes to making suggestions for local cafes, bars and restaurants! But do check out their bar for the piano player and a very excellent bartender!!

The rooms are quite large and the marble bathrooms exceptionally stunning, but in some of the public areas there is too much "Miami pink" and gold for my taste.

We stayed two nights at the beginning of our trip to Portugal and again the night before flying out. When we returned for that last night, it seemed like the entire "palace" staff came out to greet us by name and welcome us as if we had just come back from some exotic geographic expedition! They made us feel as if we were intrepid explorers back home in the lap of luxury!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everything in the hotel was perfect -- a nice quiet location with great views, the building and the rooms, the food, the service. I've stayed at many 5-star hotels, but was nonetheless impressed by the professionalism of Lapa Hotel staff and their attention to all details.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olissippo Lapa Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.