We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Portugal Art History Class....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Ancient Art

National Museum of Ancient Art
Rua das Janelas Verdes 1249 - 017, Lisbon 1249 - 017, Portugal
(351) 21 391 28 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 234 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered to house the best collection of Portuguese and European art, this museum features works by Gonclaves, Bosch, Raphael and more.
Atlanta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Your Portugal Art History Class....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

An excellent display of the history of art and objects from Portugal and it's overseas colonies. The two Japanese room screens are some of the best I have even seen in ANY museum. Just amazing, be sure to get down on the floor and view up at them and read them from left to right. And take your time, not packed with people even on free Sunday. Gold, silver by the ton...oh my!
Buy or bring a snack and enjoy the garden and great view of the Love Boat port in front and the bridge. The staff is first rate, perfect English of course and the warmth of the Portuguese people. The mix of the old and new buildings is well done....and that is not an easy thing to do. And, can take the #25 Electro to a near by walk! Enjoy....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    78
    23
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennines
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Could visit again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Sadly we did not visit this museum until just before we left Lisbon - such a shame as it is a fabulous place with ooodles to see. I now wish that as we were staying nearby we visited each day. Cannot recommend highly enough.
Oh and there is an excellent cafe with an outside area with amazing views over the harbour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Unfortunately this museum is rarely (if ever) included into standard tourist itineraries. Yet this art collection is a real gem. Of course, it can't be compared to such grands as Louvre or Hermitage, but its European paintings section is quite fine. It contains such world-class chef-d'oeuvres as 'Salome' by Cranach and 'temptation of St. Agustine' by Bosch. Both are an absolute must-see for any art-lover.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Massive collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It has a massive collection of portuguese works. Despite the location, after you visit it, you can enjoy an amazing view from the museum's cafe or garden.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Of the interiors we have seen only the European painting department and this was a very pleasant surprise. A very good and well chosen selection of paintings beautifully presented. The rooms were almost empty, which made our visit uniquely satisfying. An added bonus is that you may take photographs freely. The single wonderful Horonimus Bosch alone is worth the admission price. The garden is very beautiful with nice views of the Tagus.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Ancient Art also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Ancient Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Ancient Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.