We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Highlights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Ancient Art

National Museum of Ancient Art
Rua das Janelas Verdes 1249 - 017, Lisbon 1249 - 017, Portugal
(351) 21 391 28 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 452 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered to house the best collection of Portuguese and European art, this museum features works by Gonclaves, Bosch, Raphael and more.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Highlights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The main reason for visiting this museum was Bosch's piece, which is indeed the main attraction and already worth the entry fee. The museum is quite big, so take your time. The permanent collection itself is not so impressive, although the highlights are (they point them out on their flyer- that's really cool). Their focus is on sacral art and pieces from Flemish painters. For children it's really boring, as well for people who do not possess a certain knowledge about and passion for Flemish and religious paintings, and antique furniture.
We did not encounter a lot of other visitors (January), so it's quite quiet (something which I really like). For all Bosch admirers I recommend you to visit the museum, it's worth it!
Best thing would be for you to take the bus (as it stops right in front of the museum).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    133
    43
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful - a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

As we were staying outside of Lisbon in Cascais (highly recommended) we choose to visit just one attraction in the city during our holiday in Portugal last November and this was it.

We were not disappointed. What a wonderful building and an amazing collection of art. We only had an afternoon but still my mind was overwhelmed by the beauty on display in this dignified setting.

If your time is limited just visit the the famous Bosch - is both delightful and disturbing all at once. I really thought the collection of decorative art was incredible but my republican-minded partner thought of it was too ostentatious. There is something for everyone in this museum and afterwards you can get a delicious cake and some very good coffee in the little cafe downstairs

Very helpful and polite staff too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unmissable...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Paintings and sculptures of the Portuguese and European XII to XIX
centurie. A fabulous collection of the museum also includes ceramics, textiles, furniture and decorative arts, and religious art from the Middle Ages to the Baroque.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worthy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Collection sadly surpassed by Gulbenkian on our opinion. Bosch and Breughel highlights. Much of top floor (Portuguese school) however under restoration and not on view.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quic look is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Sundays before 2 pm and bank holidays are great times to see this place since it is free. You can see it in 1 hour and get a flavor for the place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Ancient Art also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to National Museum of Ancient Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Ancient Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.