We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful part of Lisbon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfama

Alfama
Lisbon, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$103*
and up
Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and...
Ranked #11 of 184 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wonderful sights delight walkers at every turn in this culturally rich and charming part of Lisbon, which through its architecture reminds visitors of its Visigothic roots, Arabic influence and fishing port heritage.
surrey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Delightful part of Lisbon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We loved this area of Lisbon and walked around it on 2 occasions. We loved all the narrow and cobbled streets. We walked up both times and found that there was so much to see ( churches, views, little shops, tiled houses etc) that we hardly noticed that we were going uphill! We had thought of going up by tram but all the trams were very crowded and so we walked.
We did get lost trying to find the castle as it is not very well sign posted and although we had a map there are so many little streets that it is difficult to tell exactly where you are!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,703
    1,070
    221
    35
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best place in Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Aflame was by far my favourite part of Lisbon it is full of character, I found some of the other areas to be a little disappointing especially Rossio square which has nothing unique and Bairro Alto which was characterless and not what I expected.

Overall I really liked Lisbon and did not feel at all unsafe despite what I read on the Trip Adviser Forum before I went.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford, kent
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Alfama wear good shoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We did a walking tour with the Chill out Josef in this area.
Please be warned that you must have good walking shoes and be ready for uphill climb. We had been advised already by friends hence we were prepared. It was a lovely day not very hot. Alfama is part of the old Lisbon and the narrow streets. You see how really portugese people live and the conversations they have across the windows. The retired men playing cards etc.
Easy to get lost in the small streets but if you have time take it slowly and enjoy. As we were short of time we took a 3 hours guided tour. Visit bakeries and small restaurants on the way.
Come back down by tram.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancerre
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It speaks for itself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wonderful area to go watch watch fado walk the streets and just be!
Don't go In high hills and be aware that there are lots of steep little streets so if you are not very good at walking take a tuk tuk!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Charming neighborhood.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is the oldest neighborhood in Lisbon. You will find very narrows streets and alleys. Wonderful food and excellent vibe. A place to enjoy strolling along and visiting the many tiny cafes and bakeries.....

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfama also viewed

 

Been to Alfama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.