We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your 5 euros and enter from the street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Justa Elevator (Elevador de Santa Justa)

Santa Justa Elevator (Elevador de Santa Justa)
Rua Aurea and Rua de Santa Justa, Lisbon, Portugal
21/361-3054
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 184 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Architectural Buildings, Trams, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This elevator is located inside a gothic tower, which provides quick and easy transport between Lisbon's Baixa and Bairro Alto districts.
North Lanarkshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Save your 5 euros and enter from the street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited the Santa Justa Elevator. We were charged 5 euros each but found that when we got to the stairs to go to the top that you can enter here from the street for free and only pay 1.5 euros each to go to the top (although I know the money from tourist helps to maintain these buildings) Glad we visited but didn't gain anything by going up in the lift. Best views are after you climb the small set of stairs for great views over the city.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    446
    274
    90
    60
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Jadida, Morocco
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
141 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Who wouldn't want to take this?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Take the tube? Good grief! No way. This is an authentic, wonderful piece of history. Think how much you'd spend on a coffee - it's more or less the same as for this lift. The view makes it utterly worth it.

What can I say? Don't let the price put you off, you're on holiday!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“eh!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We saw, we took a picture and that's that. Nothing with nothing and a rip off. It is very crowded each time we passed by. The demonstration, which was occurring almost right in front of the Santa Justa Elevator added to the ambiance! :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
701 reviews 701 reviews
245 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Very pretty. I didn't use it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Worth a look see even if you don't use it. Very nr Carmo church. More elevator. Not a funicular like some of the others in town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“a different way to have a coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

go upstairs and have a coffee seeing Lisbon all around
great place to see Lisbon and the 7 montains
try not to go in windy days

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Justa Elevator (Elevador de Santa Justa) also viewed

 

Been to Santa Justa Elevator (Elevador de Santa Justa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Justa Elevator (Elevador de Santa Justa), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.