We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Grand and Stylish Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avenida Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Avenida Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Grand and Stylish Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here. Excellent central location, gorgeous surroundings, superb staff and lovely breakfast. Couldn't ask for more! If returning to Lisbon we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time out to leave your feedback on your recent stay at the Avenida Palace. I am delighted to read how much you appreciated our services.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    223
    48
    8
    8
See reviews for
241
670
55
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I found this hotel browsing the internet and there was something that got my attention: the beauty of the rooms and decor, the mid-size of the hotel and the great location. The staff was superb and very helpful. The breakfast was AWESOME, something different every day and the coffee unbeatable. I stayed for a week and was the perfect place to be, walking distance to everywhere and close to public transportation when wanting to go a bit further. Highly recommendable! Patricia

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments on our location, staff and services.
I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.
Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,
Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is a treasure. I would recommend if this is your first time in Lisbon to stay here as it is so beautiful with an excellent location to the down town area. Staff were so friendly. I will be back if I ever make it to Lisbon again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time out to leave your feedback on your recent stay at the Avenida Palace.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Avenida Palace in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I am glad I've chosen this hotel for my short round the city trip.It is very comfortable and good- located. It has its own retro style, very attractive - with quaint articles of furniture and classic interiors.
The room was spacious enough and the bed was good for a deep sleep.
I really appreciated the early check-in (for which I asked in advance and which was provided), fast check-in and check-out procedures, free wi-fi as well as helpfulness of the staff.
There were some minor imperfections - like weak water head in the bathroom or Lipton tea for breakfast, that falls short to the level of the hotel. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room, but the room service is 24h, and you can always ask to bring you some hot water for tea.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments on our location and services.
It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in a future stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It was a very nice stay. The hotel location is fabulous.
Staff is excellent.
We felt we are at home.
Very clean rooms.
We will miss all the staff.
Great advise from them during our stay.
Even though the hotel is near the Rossio station, but no sound at all.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your point of view regarding the Avenida Palace and its services.

I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments on our service and satff.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have been in this hotel once, on my visit to a friend in Estoril, stopping by to see Lisbon for a couple of days.

Beautiful, romantic hotel, real portuguese style, love the atrium where you can have a drink and just sit enjoying beautiful stylish furniture...

Service was great, cleaning ladies were a bit difficult, getting angry if you are not out of the room on time for cleaning, lol, but it was a pleasant stay and great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments.
It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in a future and these time longer stay.
Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.
Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levice, Slovakia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Me and my wife have spent four days in Lisbon and also thanks to the Avenida Palace, it was a pleasant experience for us. It is the hotel which makes us go back to the days when hotels were not only a place to overnight stay. Splendor and a very helpful and friendly staff that makes clear that it is always ready to help you. The hotel is in the historic center of the city, most places you can reach walking. Although I do not have the habit of paying high prices for accommodation in this case I feel that for my money, I got a reasonable value. Surely we will return here.
Stefan

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your review is wonderful reading. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us.

Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avenida Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.