We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avenida Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Avenida Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Step back in time in this wonderful old hotel currently celebrating its 120th birthday. The public spaces live up to its name - they are palatial.
We stayed twice (at the beginning and end of our holiday in Portugal) and the rooms (junior suites on the 6th floor, as requested) were both comfortable and had nice views - the first up Avenida da Liberdade, and the second towards Castelo de S. Jorge. The rooms were clean and offered sufficient space, and were once obviously as grand as the public spaces, with their marble-clad bathrooms, for example. Today they are a little faded and in need of some renovation and repair, the plumbing in particular.
The location is hard to beat, sitting as it does at the top of the old city centre, and we had wonderful service from the morning concierge, who took the hassle out of restaurant reservations for us and provided useful advice. And the various recitals, from Fado to classical, that the hotel put on for guests as part of their birthday celebrations were a very nice touch and much appreciated.
Breakfast was a little disappointing - a wide range of food on offer, but nothing special.
Overall, it is a comfortable and convenient place to stay, but doesn't quite meet it's 5 star clasification in my view.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.Thank you so much for your kind words about our location, décor and services.

We were pleased to know that in general, you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Nevertheless, we were concerned to read that we didn't exceed your expectations.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    224
    49
    8
    8
See reviews for
241
672
55
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked a Superior Room in this Hotel for five nights from the 29th July - 3rd August. We cannot speak highly enough of the quietness & comfort of the room.We had everything we needed.The water and fresh pineapple on arrival was most welcome and completely unexpected.Chocolate everyday and a bottle of water,simple pleasures that mean so much. The staff certainly take heed of their mission to exceed expectation.We celebrated a Birthday while in the Hotel & would like to say thank you for the unexpected generosity which certainly made that a very memorable celebration. Ideally situated to explore Lisbon on foot with easy access to train,metro & bus.We would recommend this Hotel to anybody who likes to relax on holidays,start the day with an excellent breakfast and feel pampered.A truly wonderful experience and hopefully we will return in the future.

Room Tip: We had a Superior Room on a High floor which was very quiet, it's well worth having a larger roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to contribute positively to your celebration.

The fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters, was also much appreciated.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. Your recognition is very much appreciated and a true source of motivation.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Booked this hotel for a four day break to Lisbon, chosen because of its central location.
On arrival, greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room which was well appointed on the 4th floor with a good view of the square. The room proved to be very quiet throughout which was excellent. The breakfast was particularly good with plenty of choice, served in an excellent dining room. All staff were attentive and friendly throughout. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace. We also would like to thank you for your feedback, we were delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are happy to know that we met your expectations and will share your kind remarks with our team.
As we pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times, we feel proud of your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked this place quite literally at the last moment and got a room on a Sat night for about 160 euro. I love to spoil myself when I can and this place was completely wonderful. Location is to die for and the opulence of the interior is worth (and does demand sometimes) twice the price. Staff were absolute darlings and guess what- when went to pay the bill, full from the lovely breakfast, found that the valet parking in the middle of Lisboa was complimentary. Do it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Five days stay. Rather calm hotel though conveniently located the city center. The lobby is overwhelming. The bar is english style. We loved the piano player late in the afternoon. The hotel has everything we needed close at hand with staff ready to help us when we needed. We had a room on the 5th floor with a view a beautiful square. Room and bath were spacious but not overly big and everything was clean and working fine. Breakfast was delicious and served in an old style classic room. The price is not small but we knew when we booked that we were not at a budget hotel...and it is really well worth the cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were staying in Lisbon on a special occasion and the hotel upgraded us to a junior suite which was appreciated. We received room 301 which is the only room on the third floor so it was extremely quiet with no neighbors.

The hotel was excellent for the following reasons:
Locaion was great for all of the sites we wanted to visit. Everything was within walking distance and the Rossio train station was next door for trips to Sintra. The metro station is just outside the door as well.
Breakfast had everything, hot and cold, and it seemed like it was included in most room rates because everyone was having their room number marked as they came in. No one was paying at the time.
The hotel was very clean, had "palace" like decor and still was inviting and relaxed
The staff were extremely helpful. We were in Lisbon during a rail strike (which sounds common) and we had to get a number of updates on train schedules for some of the trips we were taking.
One of the bellman was of particular help when he helped me purchase tickets through the machine in the station which was not in English.
The concierges also helped with advice and reservations.
I never used the gym but they do have a bike and 2 elliptical machines.
The lounge and sitting areas were peaceful and had the palatial ambience.

I don't have any negatives that come to mind for this hotel.


As a side note. If you are in Lisbon make the effort to go to Sintra for a day trip and see the Royal Palace, Pena Palace and Moorish Castle.

Room Tip: We had 301 and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to acknowledge that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments on our location and ambiance and for the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

With a prime location in the very centre of Lisbon, this Hotel, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, as one can see on our prize-winning website, is a symbol of our great city.

Personalized service is also very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment. We will forward your kind words to the entire team.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Avenida Palace was more than we expected. Great service and ambiance. We drove and once we arrived the hotel staff took over and handled everything from there. Our room was beautiful and immaculate and the soundproofing really worked to keep out the city noise.Public spaces are beautiful.The lounge area has an amazingly high and gorgeous glass ceiling.Breakfast room is lovely.
We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services exceed your expectations. Your kind words are a true source of motivation and I will gladly pass on your comments to the entire team.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avenida Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.