We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very conveniently located, old fashioned” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metropole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Dom Pedro IV, 30 (Rossio), Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal (Baixa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 218 hotels in Lisbon
Paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very conveniently located, old fashioned”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is part of a small group of heritage hotel ,normally well renovated. This one is from 1917 and indeed it has kept some of the style of the 1920s in its settings and furniture, with a cosy lobby and old fashionned furniture in the rooms.This is the main interest of this hotel , along with the fact that it is very central and very conveniently located to visit any area of Lisbon, on foot or by public transport .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    82
    41
    15
    10
See reviews for
24
84
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Old, a little worn, but filled with character. No doorman, several steps to the reception area, and last remodeling project was many years ago, but the charming lobby with large windows overlooking Rossio Plaza and the Sao Jorge Castle hovering in the distance made it a great experience. The room was comfortable with a nice balcony and a large old fashioned bathroom. This hotel has a great personality, the staff are very helpful and informative, and location is excellent with many good restaurants, a wonderful bakery and convenient transportation.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms in the front have a great view, although it can be a bit noisy. If you want to sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

For the first time in years, we followed the recommendations of our TripAdvisor buds and were led astray! But maybe it's by American standards? We arrived by Metro after dark and found the area terribly seedy, despite just having to cross the street to get to the hotel. The entrance, dark, hard to find, and no lift from street. So plan to carry luggage up a full flight of stairs to get to the reception (?) area. The main floor is more like a poor American B&B with stained mismatched couches, wobbly chairs, worn drapes, and a musty odor. I think we surprised the young man behind the desk who was neither impressed nor unimpressed that we were there. We were checked into room 31 which faced the plaza and had the small balcony. With the proper upkeep, this would be quaint! The room was unacceptable. There were stains throughout the carpet and drapes, the bedspread had a huge stain right in the middle, the bed squeaked horrifically when sat on, the TV was crooked on its stand (teetering on falling), the two chairs in the room were worn down and offered springs to sit on, and the bathroom was dirty and lacked proper toiletries. We tried the Internet (which is only available in the (?) reception area) and that took approximately 10 minutes to get a very weak signal.

We chose to abandon this room (even though we had prepaid for two nights) and booked at the Tiara Hotel, a five-star property about a mile away. When we advised the clerk, we were told that we had prepaid and therefore there would be no return of any monies. No apologies or forgiving. That's really too bad. But we will contribute the amount paid to them to apply towards some maintenance on the property!

The room at the Metropole was $97 USD per night, including breakfast, if prepaid. Our room now at the Tiara is $151 USD per night, not including breakfast. This is absolutely a five-star property - will fetch your shoes for a shoeshine and have them back to you by 6:00 am. Uh, definitely worth the extra $50/night. But again, it's standards.

I agree with the previous post that for Americans, you will think Motel 6 for the Metropole. Think Hilton for the Tiara. I will post about the Tiara in a minute, with its wine cabinet in each room. Nice!

In fairness, for frugal or student travelers, the Metropole may work. The location is fantastic by day as you are in the City Center and can reach most anything by metro or national train. If you can walk on the carpeting in the room, you're good to go! Just keep your nighttime events to a minimum as the bed is FRAGILE!

Enjoy....but we're outta here!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torslanda
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful one week trip to Lisbon where we stayed at the hotel Metropole in Rossio, a marvelous location! We had a room at fifth floor with a view "to die for", over Rossio and the castelo Sao Jorge. The hotel in itself - good & arather big room, nice and friendly service and the location makes this hotel one of the best value for money when it comes to choice of a hotel. Some ealier review (which I read before our trip) says that you can not watch CNN - but of course you can. Some says that the breakfast was not up to standard - then you must be somewhat spoiled - the breakfast is not one of the best culinary experiences we have had but certainly good enough!
Stay there and you will have a wonderful stay in Lisbon!
Ulla-Carin

Room Tip: We had room number 51 - there are 2 - 3 more rooms at that floor with the excellent view but of cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Pluses
Service from hotel staff was very, very good - they couldn't have been more helpful eg booking the Clube de Fado for us, lending us a plug adaptor etc.
The location is very good, right on Rossio square and easy walking distance from the Alfama area etc.
Room rate included buffet breakfast which was excellent. Free WiFi but only in the reception area.
Minuses
The room was in need of refurbishment, being somewhat faded in decor and cracks above the bath. The bed was very creaky and it was impossible to make any movement at all without creakiness. The room over looked a side street and it was extremely noisy on our second night of two with lots of shouting and what sounded like someone continually unloading rubbish bins. Not much sleep possible !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This place badly needs renovating and they need to get rid of the musty smell. Even though the place was spotless, I have a very sensitive nose, and the smell of old lived in carpeting and furniture was a little to overbearing for me. The room we were put in was facing the square and had a beautiful a wall to wall stunning window front with balcony. If they were to even do some minimal superficial renovation to this hotel, it would be a 5 starer for me :). Location wise, you couldn't do much better, just take the metro to the Russio stop and you are there! Very easy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Location perfect. Room adequate liked the 1930's furniture just needs maintaining. Staff friendly. Corridors need redecorating. Interesting entrance front door then lift to reception or stairs to second floor. May be noiser if in room front facing but better view so depends on preference. Expensive even for location. Breakfast basic for price poor. Clean

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Praca Dom Pedro IV, 30 (Rossio), Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon > Baixa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 218 hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel was opened in 1917 and its 36 rooms have air conditioning, minibar and balcony offering a unique and quiet. The customer can enjoy the stunning views of the São Jorge Castle, Alfama and Baixa Pombalina. Lisbon Metropole Hotel service • Satellite Television • Air-conditioned rooms • Room service • Laundry service • Safe • Organization of different activities • Minibar • Wake • Car Rental • Heating • Air conditioning • Bar • Concierge service • Baby sitter • Faxing • Smoking Rooms • Iron • Hairdryer • Alarm Clock • Auto Soundproofed Rooms • Telephone • Television • Direct Dial Telephone • Luggage • mirror How to reach Hotel Metropole in Lisbon Lisbon CITY CENTER Location: The hotel is in downtown Lisbon. Located 15 km from the beach and 1 km of the river Tagus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Metropole Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.