We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Lisbon?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metropole to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Dom Pedro IV, 30 (Rossio), Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Torslanda
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best location in Lisbon?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful one week trip to Lisbon where we stayed at the hotel Metropole in Rossio, a marvelous location! We had a room at fifth floor with a view "to die for", over Rossio and the castelo Sao Jorge. The hotel in itself - good & arather big room, nice and friendly service and the location makes this hotel one of the best value for money when it comes to choice of a hotel. Some ealier review (which I read before our trip) says that you can not watch CNN - but of course you can. Some says that the breakfast was not up to standard - then you must be somewhat spoiled - the breakfast is not one of the best culinary experiences we have had but certainly good enough!
Stay there and you will have a wonderful stay in Lisbon!
Ulla-Carin

Room Tip: We had room number 51 - there are 2 - 3 more rooms at that floor with the excellent view but of cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    90
    50
    18
    12
See reviews for
32
94
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Pluses
Service from hotel staff was very, very good - they couldn't have been more helpful eg booking the Clube de Fado for us, lending us a plug adaptor etc.
The location is very good, right on Rossio square and easy walking distance from the Alfama area etc.
Room rate included buffet breakfast which was excellent. Free WiFi but only in the reception area.
Minuses
The room was in need of refurbishment, being somewhat faded in decor and cracks above the bath. The bed was very creaky and it was impossible to make any movement at all without creakiness. The room over looked a side street and it was extremely noisy on our second night of two with lots of shouting and what sounded like someone continually unloading rubbish bins. Not much sleep possible !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This place badly needs renovating and they need to get rid of the musty smell. Even though the place was spotless, I have a very sensitive nose, and the smell of old lived in carpeting and furniture was a little to overbearing for me. The room we were put in was facing the square and had a beautiful a wall to wall stunning window front with balcony. If they were to even do some minimal superficial renovation to this hotel, it would be a 5 starer for me :). Location wise, you couldn't do much better, just take the metro to the Russio stop and you are there! Very easy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Location perfect. Room adequate liked the 1930's furniture just needs maintaining. Staff friendly. Corridors need redecorating. Interesting entrance front door then lift to reception or stairs to second floor. May be noiser if in room front facing but better view so depends on preference. Expensive even for location. Breakfast basic for price poor. Clean

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Great location, central, easy walking distance. Shower was powereful, amble hot water, bathroom was great. Cleaned reguarly. There was an occassional unpleasant smell, not horrible nasty, but just an odd smell, however I think this may have been something to do with the citys sewer system as the smell was in various parts of the city. The Front of the hotel over looked the Rossio Square and Lisbons Castle and the rear where we where was over a street. Hotel had free wifi in the lobby. Breakfast wasnt overly exciting, but fed you up until lunch.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Hotel Metropole is perfectly located for sight seeing and is in the middle of all the "action". It faces Rossio Square where there is always something going on. The restaurants in the immediate area are touristy but the the hotel is just a few blocks away from the tram or the elevator to go to the more trendy Bairro Alto neighborhood. It is near trains. There are many transportation options there. It is true that the hotel furniture has seen better days but the place is clean and pleasant. They have a great breakfast and staff is very helpful. The views from the balconies are amazing. The biggest drawbacks to the place is that it is very noisy outside and there are a lot of drunks walking around there. I'd suggest staying there for most of your stay and then checking into a more modern luxurious type of hotel the night before you go home so you can get a restful night of sleep.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for the front rooms but keep in mind that they are ver noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I arrived Lisbon very late at night so I chose this hotel to ensure all taxt driver could bring me here and I wouldn't need to find it in the dark!

Turn out the location is really perfect, just 1 minute's walk to the metro station, and 5 minute's walk to Rua Augusta (the busiest street in Lisbon where you will find lots of restaurants and shops), and bus station right in front of the hotel! And there is a McDonald opposite to the hotel, which opens until 03:00am!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes, as mentioned by lots of reviewers here, the decoration of the hotel is a bit old. But the room is clean. And I especially enjoyed having breakfast in the lovely breakfast room (as shown by my pictures). You can enjoy a sip of coffee and the view of the Rossio Square, and of course, lovely sunshine! There are not many choices of food but they do provide several kinds of bread for your choice, as well as cheese & ham, and very sweet melon (super delicious)! I'm happy with the breakfast ^0^

And the check-in is the very quick. The staff knew who I was when I arrived the reception (maybe it's becuase I arrived the hotel so late, I should be the last one to check-in that day).

To conclude, this is a nice hotel with very good location!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Praca Dom Pedro IV, 30 (Rossio), Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel was opened in 1917 and its 36 rooms have air conditioning, minibar and balcony offering a unique and quiet. The customer can enjoy the stunning views of the São Jorge Castle, Alfama and Baixa Pombalina. Lisbon Metropole Hotel service • Satellite Television • Air-conditioned rooms • Room service • Laundry service • Safe • Organization of different activities • Minibar • Wake • Car Rental • Heating • Air conditioning • Bar • Concierge service • Baby sitter • Faxing • Smoking Rooms • Iron • Hairdryer • Alarm Clock • Auto Soundproofed Rooms • Telephone • Television • Direct Dial Telephone • Luggage • mirror How to reach Hotel Metropole in Lisbon Lisbon CITY CENTER Location: The hotel is in downtown Lisbon. Located 15 km from the beach and 1 km of the river Tagus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Metropole Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.