We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic despite the Hum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metropole to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Dom Pedro IV, 30 (Rossio), Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic despite the Hum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Great location, central, easy walking distance. Shower was powereful, amble hot water, bathroom was great. Cleaned reguarly. There was an occassional unpleasant smell, not horrible nasty, but just an odd smell, however I think this may have been something to do with the citys sewer system as the smell was in various parts of the city. The Front of the hotel over looked the Rossio Square and Lisbons Castle and the rear where we where was over a street. Hotel had free wifi in the lobby. Breakfast wasnt overly exciting, but fed you up until lunch.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    90
    50
    18
    12
See reviews for
32
94
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Hotel Metropole is perfectly located for sight seeing and is in the middle of all the "action". It faces Rossio Square where there is always something going on. The restaurants in the immediate area are touristy but the the hotel is just a few blocks away from the tram or the elevator to go to the more trendy Bairro Alto neighborhood. It is near trains. There are many transportation options there. It is true that the hotel furniture has seen better days but the place is clean and pleasant. They have a great breakfast and staff is very helpful. The views from the balconies are amazing. The biggest drawbacks to the place is that it is very noisy outside and there are a lot of drunks walking around there. I'd suggest staying there for most of your stay and then checking into a more modern luxurious type of hotel the night before you go home so you can get a restful night of sleep.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for the front rooms but keep in mind that they are ver noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I arrived Lisbon very late at night so I chose this hotel to ensure all taxt driver could bring me here and I wouldn't need to find it in the dark!

Turn out the location is really perfect, just 1 minute's walk to the metro station, and 5 minute's walk to Rua Augusta (the busiest street in Lisbon where you will find lots of restaurants and shops), and bus station right in front of the hotel! And there is a McDonald opposite to the hotel, which opens until 03:00am!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes, as mentioned by lots of reviewers here, the decoration of the hotel is a bit old. But the room is clean. And I especially enjoyed having breakfast in the lovely breakfast room (as shown by my pictures). You can enjoy a sip of coffee and the view of the Rossio Square, and of course, lovely sunshine! There are not many choices of food but they do provide several kinds of bread for your choice, as well as cheese & ham, and very sweet melon (super delicious)! I'm happy with the breakfast ^0^

And the check-in is the very quick. The staff knew who I was when I arrived the reception (maybe it's becuase I arrived the hotel so late, I should be the last one to check-in that day).

To conclude, this is a nice hotel with very good location!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbkeil@comcast.net
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The location of this hotel could not have been better. Right on the main square - close to restaurants and shops - also close to tours. The staff was friendly and knew Lisbon well. Buffet for breakfast was an additional benefit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We booked a king superiour room, which was not availble for us so were given a choice of double or single. We chose single, (wrong!) the room was small and since it was paid by voucher, we are now hoping for a refund. Problem was that the person behind the desk did not inform us that this was not a superior room. When we went to complain, he said all the rooms were booked. But really I can't imagine that the superiour room would be updated. The entire hotel is in serious need of refurbishing. think Hotel 6 or worse.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was hands down, the greatest location!!!! Service was so helpful!!!! Street noise got pretty loud at times, but we brought ear plugs....

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon and had high hopes, in some ways we weren't disappointed, the view and location was fantastic, the room light and airy with a comfortable bed and we received what was included in our 'romantic double room' package which was a bottle of bubbly and some chocolates. The downstairs area was also nice around the lobby with big comfy sofas and nice decor, also free internet on a computer available for use, even if it was a really old computer! Service was ok and the best part was helpful advice on tourist attractions and transport. I think overall though we felt that we had paid an awful lot of money (193 euros per night) and it missed special touches, or touches that would make you feel as a guest that the hotel was making an effort and not just banking on its location, view and good history for guaranteed income. This was compounded by the hotel dropping its room price dramatically a month before our trip date (50 euros per night cheaper and over 4 nights this would have made a big difference!) I suppose we could have cancelled and re-booked but you don't want to take risks with a honeymoon. Ok so not so good points: The decor was understandably old fashioned which was great but there was enough cheap 80-90's furniture/decoration that didn't have character and let the room down, stained curtains etc. The bathroom was ok but again, cheap products and items in there and is there really a need for glass bathroom doors? It was bubble glass but still a bit annoying! Breakfast was adequate but not a lot of choice or quality. So overall I'd say if you can get a good deal here and can haggle and know that it isn't amazing its quite a nice place to stay. We had some of the best rooms (we stayed on our first night away and last 3) 301 and 501 in particular was quieter with double glazing. Otherwise a bit of an investment from the hotel at adding a few new, nice touches to the room (curtains, lampshades, anything) would make someone paying a lot of money a bit happier!

Room Tip: 501 and 301 have excellent views. 501 was quieter and a bit nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Praca Dom Pedro IV, 30 (Rossio), Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel was opened in 1917 and its 36 rooms have air conditioning, minibar and balcony offering a unique and quiet. The customer can enjoy the stunning views of the São Jorge Castle, Alfama and Baixa Pombalina. Lisbon Metropole Hotel service • Satellite Television • Air-conditioned rooms • Room service • Laundry service • Safe • Organization of different activities • Minibar • Wake • Car Rental • Heating • Air conditioning • Bar • Concierge service • Baby sitter • Faxing • Smoking Rooms • Iron • Hairdryer • Alarm Clock • Auto Soundproofed Rooms • Telephone • Television • Direct Dial Telephone • Luggage • mirror How to reach Hotel Metropole in Lisbon Lisbon CITY CENTER Location: The hotel is in downtown Lisbon. Located 15 km from the beach and 1 km of the river Tagus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Metropole Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.